We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cultural and scenic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Punda

Punda
Ranked #6 of 107 things to do in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to most of the shops and tourist activities in Willemstad.
Oranjestad, Aruba
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“cultural and scenic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We walked almost one hour and half part of punda!
I love the buildings, the bridges and the small business.
Everything is very cultural and the Willemstad is recognized for UNESCO!. Great work!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    983
    951
    309
    48
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A visual treat...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The cobble stone streets and coloured buildings gave me a feeling that I'm somewhere in Europe..
The locals are friendly and helpful.. And the best part is all people speak English..
It was refreshing to have a couple of drinks in one of the waterfront restaurants watching the swinging bridge..Tried some restaurants in the alleys also.. All were good and the prices were reasonable..

Actually there isn't much to do in Punda..But walking around the streets was a visual treat.. It's shops & shops everywhere as the usual tourist ports..Some gift shops and the floating market was good.. But shopping wasn't as good as expected..

Helpful?
1 Thank shimonfigarado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Don't miss it, but keep your expectations in check.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The round market is a bit pathetic. The old market next door with the food stalls is decent (we ate there). The floating market is nice but not overwhelming. The best part for me was sitting having a drink overlooking the ferry and the bridges. A beautiful sight. My family liked the shopping streets.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ATL_JCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth a look around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

If you are in Curacao, you might as well stop and see the town. There isn't much to do or see so you can cover it in an afternoon, but it is quaint, easy to walk around, safe (but I wouldn't wonder down a deserted street alone at night), and picturesque with its colorful buildings.

Our favorite thing in Punda was the fruit market where Venezuelan vendors bring in fresh produce daily. We got the most delicious watermelon and pineapples that we enjoyed later at the beach. We also enjoyed having drinks at one of the waterfront restaurants and watching the bridge swing open for the passing boats.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MallieX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
1,421 reviews
599 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 873 helpful votes
“Lots to see and do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were in port as a cruise visit. We walked from the mega pier and crossed over to the Punda section using the swinging bridge.

It is filled with bright pastel colored buildings. We passed Fort Amsterdam, shops, bars, and restaurants.

The floating market offered a variety of products.

Take the time to explore the many side streets.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ct-cruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Punda also viewed

 

Been to Punda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing