We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend time with the locals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Otrobanda

Otrobanda
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.00*
and up
Willemstad City Tour
Ranked #16 of 107 things to do in Willemstad
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More residential area of Willemstad.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spend time with the locals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Take a cab to the city and then walk over the bridge to Punda. Not a lot to see or do on June Otrobanda side, but worth a trip. If you have a car, drive over the big bridge to Punda and beyond!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1NANA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    374
    198
    31
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Locals and More authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was my favorite side as it seemed more Curacao less, things I can get anywhere in the world. While the Renaissance hotel mall is on this side as is a subway and KFC, this seemed more local. There were just shops that were shops that it seemed like the locals mainly shopped at. Small eateries the same thing, there is even a small grocery store that I definitely would have gone too if I had gone into town sooner.

If you are like me and want something different than what you can get whereever you come from I suggest going to this side

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MikiB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The walk around was quite nice with the family. The surrounding were clean and quiet. Word of advise walk with some water to quench you thirst!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Meet the other side”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The entrance to the harbor divides Willemstad in two parts, Punda and Otrobanda, linked by the Queen Emma pontoon bridge. In papiamentu, the folk language, Otrobanda means "the other side". While Punda is where tourists do their eating and shopping, Otrobanda is the place where locals go. Besides that, the two opposite sides of town look very different from each other. You will notice that difference just one block away from the bridge. Take a short walk there during daytime. My visit took place in 1996.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple Hills, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We took the bus to Otrabanda almost daily - this was one of the hubs for the buses going to other parts of the island. The Renaissance hotel is located here in RIF Fort area, along with many high end shops and restaurants. Since cruise ships dock here, it is more is more Americanized, I guess to satisfy the tourists.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Otrobanda also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Otrobanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing