We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewish Heritage in the Caribbean”

Ranked #69 of 109 things to do in Willemstad
Attraction details
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Jewish Heritage in the Caribbean”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We visited the Beit Hayim Cemetery with a private tour by Gigi.
I'd never seen the type of carving that was used on the gravestones here. It was very interesting to hear the stories and explanations. The cemetery is deteriorating rapidly due to the acid from the oil refinery. The paths in the cemetery are rocky and uneven. It's difficult to move around. But that's to be expected for a 400 year old burial ground.
I would recommend a visit to see the variety and intricate carvings.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jlmadnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    4
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Special”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Very fascinating for those with a special interest in Curacao/Sephardi history. Iconic and very emotional. Probably you will be the only person there. You need a car in order to get to the cemetery, which is almost totally surrounded by the Isla (Oil refinery).

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank oyvindei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting Jewish Cemetery.”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I visited this site with my old friend Naftali,
who was very interested in the names on the stones.
The cemetery looks poorly maintained.

Helpful?
3 Thank Roel525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle Island, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A fabulous history lesson on Sephardic Jewish customs.”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This little-known treasure is slowly but surely disappearing as the fallout from the refinery next door is apparently eating away at the headstones, which are fabulous. We had a private tour (as no one else had booked when we did), and the background information and historical perspective is amazing!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicki11_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minooka, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“different”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Cemetaries on the island are not like the ones in the U.S. Could tell this was a very old cemetary with interesting details.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank NancyMinooka_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beit Hayim Cemetery also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Beit Hayim Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing