We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon at it's best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Honeymoon at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

All the luxuries of America but the remoteness of Curacao. Beautiful peaceful beach with a great bar/hut on the beach so you don't have to walk far! I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a beachfront view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froglegs1783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear froglegs1783~

Thank you for staying with us during your honeymoon. Nice to hear you had a great time at our beach bar.

Hope to see you soon, enjoying our beautiful sunsets from our private white sandy beach.

Thank you

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,389
    1,117
    314
    110
    68
See reviews for
693
1,428
85
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We enjoyed our stay during Jan 22-28, services were great! Greeting, smiling and prompt. While checked in, staff was not sure about our breakfast package and after contacted Expedia the next day, she not only left a message but also a letter in our room to confirm our free breakfast that is highly appreciated.

The best snorkeling we ever had, better then St.John and Virgin Gorda, right in front of our room #191. Every morning after snorkel, we soak into the whirlpool right near by, like in paradise. #191 away from the main pool crowd, sea is calmer this side, though some local people swim here, it is OK with us.

Our luggage delayed, and our GPS and mosquito tent were stolen when we received. We tried to call baggage claim but can not get through within 24hours. American Airlines denied our claim. Credit card company also denied compensation, said that we purchased our air ticket through Expedia.com and it is more than 60days since our purchase.

It is fairly easy driving a car on the island, does not really need a GPS or full car insurance, unless you don't drive too often (daily). Follow the direction print out from hotel counter will be just fine.

Don't buy mosquito killer from USA, it is prohibited item on the airplane. We ask house keeping spray the room for us every night, except one night she did not do a good job. There is one super market on the way to Sea Aquarium and one on the way to The West point. Thay sell mosquito killer, even though written in Dutch, just look at the graphic on the bottle.

However you can pack a mosquito repellent in your checked luggage or just buy one locally.

Room Tip: Beach front #101 near the main pool and diving store, more people gathering. #191 on the left side l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigmouthlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Hotel location is excellent, very convenience to Punda and Otrabanda.
I don't give a 5 stars because mattress has bed bugs, and look out for the price on the menu and flyer, they don't match. They need to update or coordinate with the front desk receptionist about the price of meals on the flyer they hand out each week...they always charge you more than the price on the flyer !
Ither than that I think the island is pretty.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dquach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear dquach~

First of all I would like to thank you for giving us the feedback that our location is excellent and I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

On another note I would like to clarify that certainly we DO NOT have bedbugs in the hotel, As you may imagine we are part of the top leading hotel company in the world and we as a 100% Marriott managed hotel operate under very strict quality assurance controls that are not just limited to our beds but to all we do. In our case we have an in house maintenance department plus a professional pest control company hired that comes to inspect our facilities several times per week.

While I respect your honest feedback I wanted to clarify this comment since this could be misleading other customers.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to have the opportunity to have you with us one more time.

Best regards
Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just wanted to add that we have been to this property now three times. We are a married couple with two kids entering their teen years. All of the family just loves Curacao and we would never consider staying anywhere other than this property.

Don't expect the four seasons and just enjoy the comfortable surroundings.

Beautiful resort location, great beach, great pool, and the opportunity to vacation with folks from all over the world (Curacao is great for this). If you want to snorkle then this is the best place. You can swim out just to the reef and past it and there are amazing sites through Curacao's crystal clear water.

The restaurants are pricey, but they go out of their way to try to provide a classy experience.

If you want to snack cheaply there is a supermarket just up the road.

DO NOT go to breakfast down the road at Denny's. It's nasty.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris.r.copeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Chris~

Thank you for your loyalty to our property and brand, I am happty to hear that you enjoyed one more time our great diving and natural reef which is located right in our beach.
Hope to see you and your family soon.
Best regards,

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
733 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,281 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed here for 7 fun nights. It's a very enjoyable island.

Curacao is nothing like Aruba...even though they are the ABC Islands. The locals on Curacao are friendly and helpful.and seemed they were glad we choose their island to vacation on. The entire island felt very Dutch...and there was alot of folks visiting that were NOT from the USA. We really enjoyed that.

Resort is a short 15 minute ride from the airport. Parking is free on site. We were greeted very nicely and welcomed w/wet hand towels to freshen up with and a tasty, refreshing punch drink.
Lobby is open air. Small business office to the side with buy a card internet. A couple shops on site and a smallish casino. Alot of the slot machines were broken for days, well, actually the entire 7 days we were there. We still enjoyed it. A couple restuarants, with one being at the pool. The food we had was all good. The pool is VERY nice with alot of pretty foliage around it. We never had a problem getting a seat. They had a daily drink special...which was nice, so you could try different concoctions. All YUMMY :) It was relaxing by the pool. The beach was small and rocky and was not a beach you could really take a walk on. I believe most of Curacao's beaches are like that...as opposed to Aruba's long stretches. There is a dive shop and it gives lessons, etc.

The room we had was on the main floor. It was clean, but not very stylish. Basic but good. A/C worked fine, as did the tv, lights, toilet, water pressure, etc. Sliding glass doors that went onto grass with a view of the ocean. My husband is a platinum member of Marriott Reward 's program. They had a split of wine and a small cheese/fruit tray in our room on arrival. Nice touch. Thank you Marriott. Room was cleaned every day. We would have preferred to not be on the first floor(just for security reasons), but it worked out just fine. There are large iguana's at the Marriott, so we could not leave our sliding door open...we thought they might come in. Room was quiet...as most of the entire resort is. Staff were cordial. You can walk to the Hilton next door and there is a great restaurant at the resort across the street. Great little bar...very sylish. It's an easy 15 minute drive into town. I would highly recommend that for sure. Many shops, bars, restaurants...all with more of an European feel, than Caribbean feel. We really enjoyed it. There are quite a few sights to see on the island as well.

All in all, we liked this resort VERY much. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HawaiiKaiGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the marriot! The staff was fantastic and did everything possible to make our stay memorable. Just some some of the corporate nickle and dime stuff was not pleasant. Like 14.95 per day for Internet, another 15.00 day service charges, not enough shuttles to downtown, not enough when you book as advised first thing in the morning. The rooms were tired but not uncomfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colorgrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

First of all, reading some of the reviews I wonder if we've been to the same place? Honestly, we didn't have enough hours in a day to explore everything this great hotel and the beautiful island has to offer, let alone to be crawling around the room looking if theres's a yellow spot under the sink? Really, do people actually do that during their holiday?? Maybe we were just too busy enjoying ourselves to notice anything wrong but none of us could fault the place at all. We've stayed for 2 weeks during Xmas (2 adults, a teenager and a 9 year old) - and had the most fantastic time! Not least because of the hard work of the extremely polite, friendly, welcoming and professional staff. It's thanks to them all we've enjoy ourselves the way we did. On arrival very late at night we have been upgraded to the beachfront room (thanks Sheggy and Kurt!) and from then on any questions we ever had during our stay (and our youngest always has a lot of those too!) were promptly answered, sorted, dealt with - and resolved - by Gesmeline, and from what I saw she was like a mom to the hotel guests! We felt to have been truly well looked after and cared for. Thank you! If anyone's thinking of going there - just go and check it out for yourselves, we were very very pleasantly surprised after reading some the reviews on here. The beach was not busy at all a week before Xmas, much busier during the 24th-27th, but never so much as not to find a chair. Snorkelling is great, fish - and a lot of it - all the different colours, shapes and sizes - within 1st step into the water, lots of corrals on the reef, very beautiful. Have aquashoes on though. Dive shop - dive courses, trips, boat charter etc and equipment hire, very friendly instructors. Our son did the diving course there and is over the moon! Beach bar - try local cocktail called Sunchi (kiss) -yum!Portofino - themed buffets, for any tastes, c. $35 per head. Sea breezes swim up bar - cocktails for c.$10 and they're worth it, emerald lounge - yummy food and impeccable service. Definitely visit the sea aquarium. We bought swimming with dolphins for the kids and they loved it! We hired a car and went around the island a few times: to the Cristoffel Park - very nice and picturesque scenery, impressive north coast, Jaanchies local cuisine restaurant in Westpun, very tasty goat stew, barracuda, iguana. Mr.Jaanchi himself is such a character! And a big meal for 4 with drinks and dessert was well under
$100! Hato Caves is defo a place
to visit; Pirate's Bay beachfront restaurant 5 min drive from the hotel - very good food and relaxing atmosphere, we also went to Hilton one evening but weren't too impressed tbh, comparing to Marriott. Williamstad is worth a visit or two, stay until the lights
are on - very beautiful! We also read about the Cas Abou beach and went there one day but preferred the Marriott beach after all - Cas Abou was a bit too crowded. Visited flamingo sanctuary a few times - absolutely stunning! And so are the sunsets by the pool, what a scene to end the day with and to go get ready for dinner in yet another place of which there are aplenty! It honestly felt like visiting good friends who love taking care of you and with whom all your worries and stress just go away. We just cannot
wait to go back again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank I M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear IM~

Thank you for your great comments and nice to hear that you and your family had a great vacation experience. I will pass your great feedback to 3 of our great associates that wake up everyday with a very serious mission: Make people like you feel that they are having the vacation of their lives!!

Come back soon, all the best

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
4.9 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
3.0 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
4.1 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 33 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Property: Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Address: John F Kennedy Boulevard | Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Bay Casino are located directly on a private beach in Willemstad, Curacao. Spend your days basking in the sun at our resort pool or beach, or experiencing all history and adventure Curacao has to offer through our on site Tour and Car Rental desk. Once the sunsets, you will experience amazing dining by sea at our beachfront restaurant Seabreeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort And Emerald Casino
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Hotel Willemstad
Marriott Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Hotel Emerald
Marriott Curacao
Willemstad Marriott
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing