We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

First off the service is amazing. We were greeted at the front desk by Pooja. She asked what the occasion of our visit was. We told here it was our honeymoon. We upgraded to a beach front room (for a small fee) and hung out on the beach until our room was ready. As we entered the room there were flower petals everywhere and a towel shapes into a heart on the bed. There was also a bottle if champagne. What a great way to start our honeymoon. The grounds are amazing right on the beach. The beach is beautiful. The rest of the staff was friendly and helpful. The only downside is the rooms are a bit outdated. They are very clean and nice, however they are in need of a remodel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jedempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky S, Marketing Coordinator at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Jedempsey,

Congratulations on your wedding! We are honored you chose the Curacao Marriott for your special celebration. We are very proud of our housekeeping team, which is fantastic with decorating rooms for special occasions like yours. They always love to add a little extra romance! I will make sure to mention this fantastic comment to them all!

We are proud to say that we have the best private beach among resorts on Curacao. We are pleased to know you took advantage of it.

Thank you once more!

Warm regards,

Nicky Spijkerman
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,389
    1,117
    314
    110
    68
See reviews for
693
1,428
85
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Mediocre hotel at best.

1. Rooms are Motel6 quality. Dilapidated decor, creaky beds, wobby electrical outlets. Bathroom with a single sink, old fixtures, very 1980s mid-grade motel. TV without DVD player, showing US channels with NYC local news (why?), some channels with bad reception.

2. Beach is tiny, large portion occupied by the hotel's seafood restaurant. Okay sand, very rocky in the water everywhere - bring water shoes. The worst beach I've seen in the Caribbean. Biggest problem is lack of beds and shade. There are only 15 or so umbrellas and not nearly enough beds for all the guests. People leave books and towels to "reserve" spots early in the morning, then show up in the afternoon and demand that you move because hotel staff told them it was okay to reserve beach chairs that way. One side of the beach borders a local public beach. Local teenagers constantly cross onto Marriott beach and run around the property chased by security guards. The beach is also exceptionally windy at times.

3. No free wifi in rooms unless you are a Marriott Gold member or higher. The first Marriott I've been to that does not give free wifi to all Rewards members. Obsolete and obnoxious practice, came home with dozens of mosquito bites from checking email in the common area.

4. Breakfast is expensive since instead of the inclusive option you get a dollar credit at the resort. US $14 for two eggs and toast or $22 if you want the buffet. $5 for coffee or juice. Staff are unfriendly to English-speakers but much nicer if you use Spanish or Dutch. Lunch and dinner portions at the local restaurants are expensive, not very good, and service is extremely slow. One night, we spent 60 minutes waiting for a sandwich and fries.

5. Hotel shuts off AC at night without telling you. Since it's 88 degrees and 60% humidity all the time, enjoy waking up at 4 am sweating and hot after going to bed to a nice 68 degrees.

6. It will cost you $25 to get a cab to the hotel from the airport, $35 at night.

7. Presence of a Casino at the property is a minus. Unhappy looking security guards everyone, cigarette smoke drifts out of the casino at times.

All in all, a very poor value and does not meet Marriott standards. Do not recommend.

Room Tip: Go as far away from the central area as possible -- loud booming music from restaurants at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Beardy_McBeardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louella B, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Beardy_McBeardson,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. I am deeply sorry that we clearly did not live up to your expectations during your recent vacation at our resort. I would welcome a personal conversation with you at your convenience . My email is louella.brezovar@marriott.com.
Once again my apologies for your dissapointing stay and i look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Louella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The pool and beachfront areas are beautiful, and the highlight of the property. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. Rooms were ok, nothing extra special. We really enjoyed our time and were not in our rooms all that much anyway.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louella B, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Brandy B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your TripAdvisor review. I am very glad you enjoyed our resort and that our staff accomodated your needs. We hope to be able to welcome you back in th enear future.
Sunny Regards,
Louella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Though very far from airport but still it is awesome location...near to shopping center and restaurants. From airport to hotel took around 45 mins in taxi took 30 USD.
Hotel was neat and clean. staff was good.
Breakfast was okay for me, becuase i am indian and i would prefer some indian vegetarian options as well. but overall breakfast was okay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manish s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koen H, Director of Operations at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear manish s,
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you for your feedback.
I regret hearing that the ride from the airport to the hotel took so long. Normally it takes between 15 and 20 minutes for our guests to reach to the hotel.
I appreciate your feedback about the breakfast options and it would be my pleasure to offer you some Indian Vegetarian options on a next opportunity!
We look forward hosting you again!
Regards.
Koen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmer City, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Friendly staff, beautiful location, & all inclusive. What more could you ask for. The Marriott Resorts are usually above average, but they do a great job at this island resort. You won't regret your stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tutu_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koen H, Director of Operations at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Tutu_Lou,
Thank you for your great review of our hotel.
You made the right choice by coming to Curacao and experience our hotel, and I really look forward to another opportunity to host you and your family in Paradise!
See you soon!
Regards,
Koen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Pros:
Breakfast- good choices, price and quality if you order al carte. Please know that all the food and drinks are more expensive than you want them to be, but understanding that going in will help. Have Rudsel as your waiter at Portafino- top notch we only went to him.
Great pool
great views right on the sea/beach
Service wasn't bad if you temper it knowing this is the island and European culture. This is not an Americanized area, if you need/want that you may want to rethink your trip.
The management staff was great. We had a problem they addressed it quickly and fairly.
Maid service was on top of everything the room was very clean and cleaned multiple times a day.
Free parking
Grounds are clean and beautiful
Cons:
Rooms are wore down and needs updating. Management knows this, but we heard they are looking for a new buyer/owner and this could be the reason.
Dinner choices on property were sub par because they are attempting to appeal to US tastes and haven't mastered it yet. I think they would be more successful with flavor if they stay true to their Island and Dutch heritage.
If you know what you want and understand what value you desire this is a great choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koen H, Director of Operations at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Kevin m,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor and sharing your feedback on us with the online community.
I appreciate your kind words about Rudsel and I will ensure to recognize him for a great job done!
Your feedback about our rooms and Food and Beverage is well noted and you have my commitment to focus on these areas.
If your travels take you back to this beautiful region, please feel free to call upon me for assistance @ koen.hietbrink@marriott.com
Sunny regards,
Koen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I spent a week at this hotel from the 4th-11th April. Simone at the check-in was very helpful at giving us an upgrade (at cost) to #384, a beautiful oceanfront one bedroom suite. We met a lovely waitress, Yvette at the Portofino's restaurant. She was able to recommend Grasias di Dios, an eatery in Willemstad serving local Cryollo food. We returned to Portofino's a few times for the fabulous Italian cuisine and of course to chat with our new friend Yvette. We had a great time with other employees there as well: Sidney, Kenneth, Annabella and Monique. Chef Arnold even made us a special meal, off the menu. We were very impressed! I've forgotten a few names! We made friends at the Emerald Lounge as well. Both restaurants gave us a gift and card signed by staff. We were truly treated like royalty. Our room attendant Kadian left our suite spotless each day and left us a gift of champagne and daily notes. The Curacao Marriott is a beautiful resort with the friendliest staff on the planet. You will feel welcome!

Room Tip: Choose an oceanfront room, you'll have no regrets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nkalania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koen H, Director of Operations at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear nkalania,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and Curacao for your most recent vacation. We very much appreciate your great review of our property.
I am so happy to read about all the new friends you made during your stay here, and I am proud of them for contributing to your experience.
On behalf of them, and all of us here I truly look forward to another opportunity to host you on Dushi Curacao!
Sunny regards,
Koen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
4.9 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
3.0 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
4.1 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 33 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Property: Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Address: John F Kennedy Boulevard | Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Bay Casino are located directly on a private beach in Willemstad, Curacao. Spend your days basking in the sun at our resort pool or beach, or experiencing all history and adventure Curacao has to offer through our on site Tour and Car Rental desk. Once the sunsets, you will experience amazing dining by sea at our beachfront restaurant Seabreeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort And Emerald Casino
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Hotel Willemstad
Marriott Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Hotel Emerald
Marriott Curacao
Willemstad Marriott
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing