We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the $”
Review of Hilton Curacao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Curacao
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
oshawa
2 reviews
“Worth the $”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The beach is wonderful, the beach restaurant is very good, the cooks are great! The Scuba shop is great, awesome diving! Room was nice, cleaning staff superb. The best meal was breakfast, very good morning staff!! Beach needs to be cleaned better (cig butts),thats just rude vacationers thou. Im a smoker and I made an ashtray everyday. You will not get messages til hours later than meet times if at all. Front is incompetent. We were there 2 weeks we were suppose to switch rooms after first week BUT go back up a sentence. Other than that good times, make sure to go into town a time or two for food. Old market in town great. Go to steak night best meal at beach!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank travisandnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    568
    309
    133
    77
See reviews for
402
680
67
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The hotel is in a good area, you can easily reach other beaches and Punda/Otrobanda. Has a good bar, very nice italian restaurant and a lovely breakfast. The private beach is a good snorkelling point, there is lots of sea life to be seen around. Nearby we had excellent dinner experiences in the Tempo Doeloe and the Sjalote. Certainly recomend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My adult daughter and I had a good stay here. Everyone was very helpful, especially Petcha in the exec lounge. The room was clean and spacious with a good sized balcony and great view. The food is hotel prices and quality. Try the 'bitterballan' at the bar. The food is an interesting mixture of dutch and carribean with some italian thrown in. The smaller beach was fun for swimming and snorkeling. The bigger beach had great waves. The pools also overlooked the beach and had nice views. I had a nice massage at the spa. Overall a nice relaxing place.

Room Tip: Executive with Ocean view has a fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kea'au
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Though it is an older hotel its been renovated and is comfortable enough. The service was good, not great, but then finding great service on Curacao is not easy. Much has been written about the beaches at the hotel, many saying the Marriott is better. Both the Marriott and the larger of the two Hilton beaches are more exposed to the wind and waves and aren't good for snorkeling. The smaller beach close to the hotel bar is protected, easy to get in, great for swimming and decent snorkeling. And, if you want to go to another beach just walk on the path and sand to the Marriott beach or swim over to the beach n the other side of the hotel(don't remember the name). There are many excellent spots to watch the sunset as well.

The dining was disappointing, average at best. There are three restaurants within walking distance, the Marriott, the Sjalotte(across the street), and the Indonesian restaurant Tempo Doloe(not sure how to spell it) a 5-10 minute walk away.

The executive lounge was okay, a bit small, nice views, nice staff, but the food was below executive lounge average.

They have several shuttles a day to Willemstad, 10 minutes away. It's also equidistant to the western sights and beaches as well as the eastern sights. All in all a good location.

They rent cars on site, Budget, but we found the service poor and instead rented from Prins. They pick ou up at the hotel, drive you 10 minutes to their rental facility and drive you back when you are done. They were very nice, honest and easy to deal with.

If I have one major complaint it's that the Hilton never answered the three emails I sent asking a couple simple questions. Why bother to list our contact info if you don't answer the emails?

This Hilton is not as nice as the Barbados Hilton so if the hotel influences your choice of islands, Barbados wins out.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

It s a pitty we were disappointed in this hotel as we go to Curaçao every year to visit family.

Arrived and had to wait about half an hour at the desk to check in.
Bar is just next to it so wasnt too bad.

When in the room, small closet for clothes (I never take a lot with me espacially for family beach vacation but this was very poor)
And small, old bathroom.
Didn't give the impression to be clean. Also no fridge or minibar.
Weird for the price l paid.
Toilet next to the sink I could actually rest my head in it.

We had a leak in the roof of the bathroom (also old needs to be renovated) and had to wait for several hours before something could be done.
The staff was nice and did what they could but you have to be patient.
The problem started over the next day. Eventually it got fixed.

Had room at the back of the building overlooking the island. It was quiet because beachside you have the restaurant and bar.

Nice little beach area.
Casino on ground floor.
Ground floor is nice overal, open reception desk.
Staff is friendly.
This place needs to set their rates straight or give a better idea to people what to expect when booking there.

Looks like an old hospital building when arriving.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Audrey18Laman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

Europe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked a couple of nights at the Hilton Curacao after staying for a week on St Maarten. This is what we think you should know about the hotel:
- Air pollution: Due to its location, the hotel gets quite some air pollution from the nearby Schottegat refinery. We first could not believe it ourselves but from the ocean view room the first thing we saw in the morning was not only the Carribean but also the cloud of polluted air coming from the refinery right over the hotel - and we could smell it on most days too! Better to look for a hotel in the Eastern part of the island
- Food and beverage: We were shocked to see that at the breakfast buffet a pigeon was eating from the scrambled eggs, while another bird was eating from the bread. The staff did not seem to care and we found that quite disgusting. The hotel needs to pay more attention to its food and beverage service. The quality of the items offered is not up to standards.
- The rooms have all been refurbished although you cannot compare the property to other Hilton hotels we have visited. The doors for example are a simple layer of wood and you can hear everything from the neighbouring rooms and the corridor.
- Unfortunately, the staff could do better in trying to be friendly and accommodating. This seems to be an issue on the whole island of Curacao - it is really hard to get a "please" or "thank you" out of anyone we met in service business there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RTWEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, Mi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Hilton Curacao has the nicest, most accommodating staff ever - they were wonderful! From the minute Alfredo and Yvonne met us with smiles at check-in, to Kareen at night, and Careese in the morning at the Executive Lounge, and Charamine at the SPA an absolute delight who gives great massages, the staff here made it difficult to go home. Oh and the breakfast staff downstairs: Adriana, Mimi, Roceline, Anoushka, Qwenton, and Nella. If I forgot anyone, I’m sorry  - they were the kindest professionals – thank you all.
We stayed for 7 nights, celebrating my 50th birthday. With birthday wishes sung in P apiamento,champagne, cheese trays, and cheesecake, (did I mention the champagne and cheesecake??) I literally felt like a queen. Their sincere desire to help us celebrate my birthday was the best thing that came of my turning 50. From the bottom of my heart, thank you Hilton Curacao staff!!!

Okay, here’s my assessment of the hotel stay:
Taxi from the airport brings you to within 30’ of the open-air lobby, where you know you are home as you're greeted by friendly, warm people. Although we checked in early, our room was ready within minutes, and off we went to our Oceanside Executive Level Room, greeted by birthday wishes, wine, and cheesecake! I highly recommend this room choice as the views from your balcony are priceless. Room was newly renovated, looked great. Housekeeping staff kept everything in the room right up to par.
Carpet in hallway on Executive Level needed cleaned, quite noticeable stains on the new carpet not far from the elevator. The Executive Lounge (E.L.) is a nice calming room, bright, airy, with a balcony for those who want the nightly ritual of celebrating the sunset with company – what fun!! E.L. staff was so nice, very helpful, and offered great tips for sites to see, new places to go we hadn’t thought about. Breakfast there was sufficient, not overly abundant but I wouldn’t complain – there was enough food for people, when there was enough food. I don’t think they were as prepared for breakfast as they should have been. Some days there weren’t enough plates out for everyone, or they were out early of one or more of the main three/four items, although to her credit, Careese had a lot going on – one person to wait on people, clear tables, do the dishes, restock food, etc. One day with less than ten people in and out that morn, they ran out of most foods 50 mins before breakfast ended; Careese said she was waiting for more food to come up…I saw people come in disappointed then leave. (Food arrived, 5 minutes before breakfast ended) So maybe they need more help in the morning? If you want over the top for breakfast, go downstairs to the morning buffet (for a fee) – I can’t think of a single thing one could want for there! Absolutely the best breakfast around. Also on site, bar food was great, drinks were even better. They put everything on your room tab, and don’t want your money at the bar, so keep track of your own spending if you don’t want to be shocked at the end of your trip!
The hotel’s beach is great for swimming& snorkeling, with more awesome sunset views. Arrive early for a prime spot under an umbrella, the sun can be brutal. (The infinity pool offers sun or shade). You’ll see plenty more coral and colorful fish as you venture off site. Hindsight, we should have packed our own snorkeling gear; Hilton’s Dive Shop was completely empty (renovating?) Caribbean Sea Sports, off the Marriott hotel next door rents a snorkel/mask/flippers for 3 days for $49 USD which includes their 6% tax and a 10% service charge. If they fit in the suitcases without additional fees to transport them, it would be a cost saver!
Rented a car from JustDriveCuracao – agreed to meet at hotel but they can’t meet at lobby – they have to park in parking lot, so know this ahead of time. They were great – see other post on this.
Casino was small but nice. You put money on casino card to play, so if you go next door to the Marriott’s casino, you use cash if I remember right, but not the same card! Marriott’s hotel and casino is within walking distance (5-10 minute walk along the beach), but at night, it’s a dark walk. I never felt unsafe, no one ever made me feel unsafe, but a well-lit walk would have been better. You can also cut through the parking lot and take back paths, but we couldn’t find a clear, comfortable path from one to the other. I suppose because they’re not sister hotels, they don’t encourage guests to visit/eat/gamble at the neighbor's. Walk along the road on the grass is also an option out front, more lighting…
I never even brought up the beautiful sights we visited throughout the island, I was speechless at the beauty of the beaches and on-shore snorkeling, loved the restaurants, and pretty much everything else I missed mentioning. Think of my review more as observations than complaints. It was a truly lovely stay, I would return again in a heartbeat to this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely choose an Oceanside room - they're priceless with the sunsets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
3.1 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
5.2 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
8.8 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Curacao

Property: Hilton Curacao
Address: John F Kennedy Blvd, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#11 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#11 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Curacao 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 23 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and built on an historic 18th century Fort, the Hilton Curacao hotel boasts two private white sand beaches, infinity and freshwater pools and a PADI Gold Palm dive center on the property, and is one of the leading Curacao hotels. Located just ten minutes from Hato International Airport and free shuttle to the center of Willemstad 10 minutes away, the Hilton Curacao is an idyllic Caribbean retreat. A Las Vegas-style casino and LivingWell Health & Beach Club are available on the property, and Guests enjoy immediate access to a range of watersports and Willemstad activities. The Hilton Curacao resort is charming, picturesque and perfectly placed for an active or relaxing visit to the Caribbean. Conferences and events for up to 400 can be easily accommodated in this Curacao hotel's range of event spaces, making it the ideal destination for corporate functions, social events or intimate destination weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Hilton Hotel Willemstad
Hilton Hotel Curacao
Hilton Willemstad
Willemstad Hilton
Hilton Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing