We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bon Bini oké”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bon Bini Seaside Resort
Oirschot, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bon Bini oké”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed at Bon Bini during the first two weeks of November 2011. Although a little dated, the bungalows are very nice. They are very well kept clean as well as the nice tropical garden surrounding the bungalows. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Bon Bine is nicely situated in front of Mambo/Seaquarium-beach. We can recommend Bon Bini,

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans_Teddy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lacombe, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We recently returned from our first trip to Curacao. We had looked at many options for our stay, including vacation bungalows, villas, and homes. We decided to stay at Bonbini based on a recommendation from a family member who lives and works in Curacao. We had booked the bungalow for 11 nights out of a 12 night stay on the island, they were booked for the last evening but we ended up being able to stay the last night which helped us out a lot.

The booking process was very easy, they were prompt in returning email and all the information they provided was accurate. The price we ended up paying was exactly what we were quoted. We arrived at the resort on Sunday afternoon, the office was closed but the keys were left with the security guard and we had no problems getting in. We were pleasantly surprised with the size and cleanliness of the bungalow, very spartan but had everything that we needed for our stay. There were two mid-sized bedrooms, one with a king size bed (my parents stayed in this room), and another bedroom with two queen size beds for my wife and I and our two young children. Both bedrooms had televisions and bathrooms with showers. The beds were very firm which took some getting used to, if you are looking for a soft bed you will be disappointed. However we found that we had very busy days and had no trouble falling asleep, although we did wake up a little sore in the mornings.

The kitchen was well stocked, there was a coffee maker and toaster, and pots and pans, plates, etc. and cutlery. We ate around half of our meals at the bungalow and it had everything we needed. It would have been nice to have a BBQ for outdoor cooking, but overall it was fine.

The remainder of the bungalow was a sitting area with couch and loveseat, and an eating nook with four chairs. There was also a small table and chairs if you wanted to eat inside. We spent most of our time on the deck enjoying the view of the Caribbean and the great sunsets. There was two lounge chairs and four deck chairs, perfect for our situation. There is also a laundry facility at the resort, worked well for us.

With our two young kids we spent a lot of time either at the beach or at the pool. It is a small vinyl lined pool, great for the kids and the area was very clean. This is not a busy resort so there was never problems with the pool being crowded. The location of this resort is fantastic, just across the road is Mambo Beach, it is busy but nice sand, have to pay for either your lounge chairs or the palapas, but if you go early you can find something fairly easily. Entrance to the beach is included with your bungalow. Great beach for kids, there is a wave break that makes it very calm and safe for the little ones. The weekends were very busy at the beach, we stayed away as we could see by the parking lot that it would be packed. Typical public beach, they want to sell you food and drink and frown on you bringing your own, but no big deal as you could find burgers, etc. at a decent price.

There were a few minor things that were negative about the resort. They had WIFI, but it was very unreliable and I often had trouble connecting, but we were on holidays so it wasn't a big deal.... We also had no hot water for part of the stay, they said they were upgrading, but when we did mention the problem they were quick to get it going again. Also, the office is closed for part of the days and all day on Sunday, but once you know that you can plan accordingly.

Overall for us the positives far outweighed the negatives. This is a no frills resort, but it is clean, the staff are great, and the location is perfect. It is very close to the Sea Aquarium, there are some good local restaurants, and the Breezes Casino is just down the road. If you are looking for a luxurious bed and fancy surroundings, this isn't the resort for you. But if you are looking for a clean, safe place to stay with the basic amenities at a great price, I would recommend Bonbini Seaside Resort. We will certainly consider it for our next trip.

Thanks to all the staff at Bonbini for our stay, we enjoyed it a lot and have tons of great memories!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

Curacao is not the tourist mecca of the Caribbean. It catered to offshore banking and oil while other island built grand hotels.

Curacao lacks the natural sand beachs, instead it got corral, rocks, cliffs, cactus and everything thorny to prick you.

Since Curacao is better than Holland in December the Dutch are happy with it.

The Bon Bini is more of a basic cottage than a resort. For example the pool is vinyl above ground, tenants love the laundry building, and you might get a glimpse of the ocean out your windows. The appliances are old with propane gas. My hot water heater tended to need a restart. The folks in the office were nice, but they seemed to have little experience with "resort" amenities, but they aren't charging resort prices. Many are staying monthly or waiting on work visas, etc.

Plan to drive for food, but there is a grocery store nearby, and some grocery stores will send a shuttle bus to pick you up.

The free passes to Seaquarium Beach across the road are great. This beach has lots of amenities and food, and great parties Saturday night. My wife and kids spent many days are Seaquarium Beach. Topless sunbathing is allowed and usage varies.

My room did have WiFi (US$28/week) from UTS Telecom.

I stayed in other hotels in Curacao and they all suffer from hospitality. Seems happy smiling faces isn't the nature of the Dutch. I was frequently asked if interested in drugs or sex (which is legal) by locals which I wasn't interested in and they usually politely left me alone.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jaarons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

My 11 year old son and I visited Curacao and stayed at Bon Bini for 7 nights in April, 2008. While I agree with all the previous reviews; ants, needs, updating, TV hard to work, etc. These were all minor issues with the price and location of the facility. It was great to have our own place to cook, etc. We were able to do so much due to staying at Bon Bini.

I felt safe there, and once I realized the office hours, I did plan accordingly,

I would return should my travels take me back to Curacao.

  • Liked — Privacy, location, full kitchen.
  • Disliked — Bugs, no hot water, bungalow needs updating.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acurtis0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ex-Patriot
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2008

This hotel is a steal. Imagine renting your own private bungalow in West Europe for under a $1000 or 700 Euros a week. Imagine it's within a 5 minute walking distance from the best beach on the island. It's not going to happen in West Europe. On Curacao, this is a reality. The Bon Bini Seaside Resort is a nice value for anyone on any budget (except for people with only 20 euros to their name). There was a little problem with some ants in the kitchen. I didn't really care, because I just put everything they'd get inside the refrigerator. Everthing everyone else says about the hotel is true. You sould plan accordingly. The front office is closed on the weekends.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Ex-Patriot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2007

We booked this resort through their website and asked many questions before deciding on Bon Bini....unfortunately, they were not the correct questions. First, the office has very limited hours and not a guarantee they will be there. They are open until 1pm or 3pm on Sat and don't re-open until Mon and even then they are only open until 6pm with a 2 hour break in the middle of the day. You have to plan around their schedule. The first bungalow we were assigned was dirty (we were told we couldn't check in until after noon because it was being cleaned) and in need of a good paint job. The walls were disgusting! There was some sort of fruit in the slats on the wall which I'm sure didn't help with the bug problem. We went into the king bed bedroom and as soon as we turned on the lights we could see there was an ant problem. Not just a few, but a small army. We got bug spray and sprayed the room which killed many, but others were still alive. The ants were on the wall, the door jams and the floor. These were the big and black ants...there were the small brown ants in the kitchen. We later tried to get our room changed, due to the situation and were told they were full. We asked what the cancellation policy was and were told 2 weeks, but they would come and look at the room and see how bad it was. Needless to say, they were shocked at the number of dead ants on the floor and that others, after several hours, were still alive. They did manage to change our room, which was better than the first, not great, but better. The good is they have A/C, in the bedrooms only, but it does a good job of staying cool if you keep the drapes closed. We could never get the TV to work, even after following the instructions. The bathrooms leave a lot to be desired...they were moldy and need to be redone. It would be nice to get some hot water for the shower, but the shower had good water pressure. There are no hand towels or washcloths, so if you need these you need to bring them from home.

We are probably four of the easiest Americans to please. All we really require is that the room be clean. We don't need all the other amenities that other places offer. We would suggest safes in the rooms because they do offer safe deposit boxes in the main office, but with their very limited hours and security guards unable to assist with this, you have to plan accordingly, which defeats the purpose of a safe deposit box.

After talking to the office people, they understand that if they want to get more Americans, they need to improve tremendously. The good news is that a new management company just took over, the bad news is that nothing has been done for over 9 months and apparently, nothing will probably get done for several more months. At this time, we wouldn't recommend staying here. Maybe some of the other bungalows are better than others, but they all appear to need renovations.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — extremely dirty
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caribbeanfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2007

I totally agree with the previous review. The bungalows are simple, but really fine. They are cleaned every day. As the bungalows are not to close to each other and there is a lovely garden, you really have privacy. You have your own parking space in front of the bungalow.
The guards and the people at the reception are very friendly. It is also possible to do your own washing and ironing (not for free).

It is a short walk to the Mambo beach to which entrance is for free for Bon Bini guests (you do have to pay for a chair). By car Willemstad is only 5-10 minutes away.

Bon Bini is a great option! I would definately return there.

  • Liked — Tranquility and friendliness
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed November 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I&P-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.2 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.2 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Avila Beach Hotel
Avila Beach Hotel
#7 of 32 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach House Curacao
The Beach House Curacao
#7 of 91 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Bini Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Bini Seaside Resort

Property: Bon Bini Seaside Resort
Address: Bapor Kibra Z/N | P.O. Box 4100, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 91 Speciality Lodging in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bon Bini Seaside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Bon Bini Seaside Resort you will experience the ultimate tropical vacation. Relax in your cottage while you're enjoying the view of sky-blue sea or the tropical gardens. The near the Caribbean sea located Bon Bini Seaside Resort is quiet, atmospheric and accessible for everyone. The resort consists of 28 spacious cottages and each with a cozy interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Bon Bini Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon Bini Seaside Hotel Willemstad
Bon Bini Seaside Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing