We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baoase Luxury Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sonesta Kura Hulanda Village & Spa(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avila Beach Hotel(Willemstad)
US$346
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Curacao(Willemstad)
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ACOYA Curacao Resort, Villas & Spa(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
US$281
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BijBlauw(Willemstad)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
504
52
22
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
52
22
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonprivate beachthe banyan treebeachfront suiteasian nightcolonial roombeach butleroutdoor showertrue paradiseman made lagoonmoment you arrivethe entire staffincluded breakfastturn down servicewelcome drinkromantic getawayday pass
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 586 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Upon arriving in Curacao and meeting our driver who brought us to the resort, I had a positive impression. Out of all the drivers waiting for guests outside the airport, he was the best dressed, and picked us up in a nice vehicle.

The resort is well hidden, and it truly is beautiful. It was our first time visiting a smaller resort, but we were pleased with the attention to detail in the accommodations, service, and food. Our room was very uniquely decorated, and followed the zen design style of the entire resort. The beach area has about 100 available beach chairs, but we never saw more than 4 other people occupying seats. We truly felt like we were exclusive guests at a very private resort.

The staff were all very kind and helpful. From assisting us with making dinner reservations and tours on other parts of the island, or looking after us at the resort, they all did a fantastic job. Our honeymoon package also included a dinner by the beach, and a massage, both of which were very good.

We would highly recommend a tour to the Westpoint area of the island to get a feel of a part of Curacao that is still generally undisturbed by other hotels or resorts.

If you are looking for good value, this is not the place to visit. Curacao is not a popular travel destination for North Americans, so getting there can be a little difficult and more costly than other Caribbean destinations. However, if you are looking for excellent service, great food, a very private and relaxed atmosphere, and a different Caribbean experience, the Baoase is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SnoopDogg58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We have had an amazig stay at the Baoase Resort. During our 8 days we enjoyed great food, high attention to detail, wonderful sunsets and a special atmosphere. No matter if you are a couple or a family, you will feel at home and special at almost every occasion.
We will come back as soon as we can, thank you Baoase team.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SebastianandFreude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

My husband and I decided on Curacao for our honeymoon after reading about the island in a travel magazine. Upon further review, we found what looked like the perfect honeymoon hotel. Wrong.
We arrived late in the evening as we travelled from San Francisco, we were married in Napa. The guest relations manager showed us to our room. The room was great, other than the leaking mini fridge, which she said she'd have someone look at in the morning. The next morning, our first day of our honeymoon, is when things started to fall apart.
1. Our hot tub would not get warm. We were told, "it's the Caribbean, it won't get very warm" and then "it takes some time". After several hours they sent someone up and they had to trip the breaker to get it going. This wouldn't have been a big deal other than the excuses and lack of effort to fix this in a timely manner.
2. Construction! Our first morning we were awoken by hammers and saws. The rooms next to us were being worked on. We let it go and ignored this for 2 days. On the third day, we could see the workers over our balcony wall, they were that close, but the last straw was when I was about to change into my swimsuit, and one of the men jumped over onto our balcony to untie a wire that was holding up a smoke stack that was under construction. I lost it and called the front desk. My husband went down to talk to them a few minutes later. They apologized, of course, and said that they should have told us if we were going to come over onto our private balcony. Really? Wow, what a novel idea! Let guests know if someone will be on their private balcony.
3. We asked for our money back and said we'd move to the Hyatt, but they promised that they would make sure the remainder of our time there would be perfect. They moved us to a villa. Well, they said they would move us. We left for the day to explore the island. Upon return, nothing was moved. They said they would move our things. We asked for the new key and spent the next hour moving everything ourselves. Again, the villa was gorgeous, but we would have been perfectly fine in our room less the construction and episode with the staff member jumping on our balcony.
4. The staff - almost every one of them at one point or another said something along the lines of...let me ask someone, this is my first week here. We found out that the owners have a program with a Dutch school. They rotate interns in hotel service programs. They do not seem to keep many of the same staff, at least not in the bar/restaurant areas. They were mostly friendly; just not what you'd expect from a hotel that considers themselves 5 star. It sounds like a nice program, but not for the majority of the staff.
5. More families than expected - The hotel should not market to honeymooners to the extent that they do. While we were there, it was way more families than couples. We were awoken one morning by very loud children on the beach, which was right below our balcony.

The property is beautiful, but when you pay rates like this, you truly expect the whole package. That is not what we experienced, at all.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank jenncole79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

My now husband and I were looking for an island that featured adventure and relaxation, after planning a larger, international wedding. Curacao fit the bill - and the Baoase could not have been more spectacular.

Tucked away on its own private cove, the Baoase is a lovely, luxurious boutique hotel. We stayed for approximately one week, and by the end of the vacation I felt as if we had been there for months - everyone was so friendly and accomodating and really made us feel at home.

The entire staff - Nienke who helped us with her team of Eefje, Femke, Gnoche coordinate our activities was amazing, the staff at the restaurant including Ecat and Matthias were the best bartenders and servers around (I only wish our neighborhood bartenders were this fun!) and even the security team at the front desk became our friends.

The place is spotless - the food is absolutely amazing - you don't need to leave the resort to have a wonderful time, but when you want to, these folks know where to go! From gourmet food, to beautiful suites with rain showers and all the accomodations, to the on the beach massage and cove, we could not have asked for more.

We will definitely be returning to the Baoase - and I highly recommend this for couples who want to get away, with a hint of advernture, lots of sun, and an amazing team of people behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smcreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

This place is definitely heaven on earth. Facilities, service, food, location, attention to details : all was just superb !
From the moment we arrived at the airport to the moment we left, we received full VIP treatment. The staff and management were amazingly welcoming and friendly.
We honeymooned in a well equipped 3 bedroom villa with private jacuzzi.
Especially the little "grotto" in the middle of the infinity pool was very romantic.
We enjoyed having breakfast and dinner at the beach side. Food was delicious and waiters and waitresses have always a smiley and friendly behaviour.
One day was extra romantic : the Baoase team arranged a professional wedding photoshoot followed by a relaxing couples massage. Cherry on top was their famous beach pic nic.
We would recommend this location for romantic getaways, lovers and honeymooners.
It's also ideal for those who want to have a quiet and super luxurious retreat.
Baoase really kept it's promise and created memories that last for a life time !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GondaJoeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews