We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baoase Luxury Resort
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I booked a weekend at Baoase for me and my fiance (we live on curacao). We heart a lot of good things about Baoase from friends and relatives. We couldn't had a greater weekend, everything was perfect. We really liked all the small details, like: small presents after you return to your room, music, towels presentation, beachchairs etc. Service was great, everyone knows who you are. I would recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: We had suite 2: Ocean view, a lot of privacy, Jacuzzi on the patio and 2 beach chairs. We had 4-5 ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wouterjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baoase_Luxury_Resort, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear wouterjr,

Greetings from Baoase Luxury Resort!

Thank you for visiting Baoase Luxury Resort and for taking your time to share your wonderful experiences on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you liked your weekend stay at our resort. The small details is our way to make each and every guest feel special and this way contribute to make your stay even more pleasant.

Much thanks for recommending Baoase and we hope to welcoming you again at our resort. As you live in Curaçao, feel free to visit our resort anytime for a dinner or maybe just to enjoy a drink at the bar.

Kind regards from the entire Team,

Oliver Zahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed with my wife for 2 nights, and I can say it was nice. The food was above average. The hotel and beach are kept up well and are beautiful. However, be prepared that the grounds are really tiny and staying the whole time at the complex can make a person feel fairly claustrophobic. You need to plan things to do outside for sure.

The reason for the reviews and positivity is hands down because of the service. The staff is almost all white imports from the Netherlands. I thought this was odd as the island is 90% black, but they did a super fantastic job.

If one is prepared for the ultra high price of this hotel and everything else on the island than I would highly recommend Baoase.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bugeater222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baoase_Luxury_Resort, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Bugeater222,

Greetings from Baoase Luxury Resort!

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at Baoase Luxury Resort. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our Resort and loved the food of Baoase Culinary Beach Restaurant.
Our hotel is indeed a small hideaway resort, however we therefore also provide many exciting activities, excursions and trips around the island. For a detailed planning our front office always stays at your disposal.

It was our pleasure having you at our Resort and we look forward to have you and your wife experience Baoase in the future again.

Kind regards from the entire Team,

Oliver Zahn
General Manager
Baoase Luxury Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Baoase is indeed a gem. All over the world there are plenty of Luxury Resorts not the least in the Carribean. However, the Baoase plays in a different league and it differentiates itself patently from others. It is all about the individual guest and its particular preferences.
The property and its design is pretty unique. This is all due to a Senior Hotelier who realized his dream of personal space, individual comfort and luxury. You can meet the owner at sunset in the Bar and he is happy to share with you how he managed to balance the act between his idealistic ideas of what a hotel, as a home away from home, should be with what is realistically possible. – The result : Carribean Ambiance jazzed up by a touch of Asia , which sometimes surprises but is always fun – together it is powerfully peaceful and lets you immediately feel at ease and at home.
Baoase’s Management has been put in the capable hands of young members of the owner’s family, which have been trained in the leading Swiss Hotel Business School in Lausanne and thereafter collected work experience in luxury hotels around the world, before they took over Baoase.
The Property and its Management offer its guests a rare combination of a family owned hotel with all its charms and yet is in no way short of any luxury amenities
I have been very happy indeed at Baoase. The quality of the food has been outstanding, the service ever present without being over-the-top.
During my stay I have been residing in Suite No. 1, with its private garden and jacuzzi, which I will ask for again upon my next visit.
There is room for improvement in the Reservation-/Booking-and Payment Procedure – it takes to much time amd to many mails to complete a booking.
An Island Round-Trip is definitively worthwhile: Quite a number of the Colonial Houses remain neglected – most are under renovation and get a fresh lick of said well known colourful paint.
I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baoase_Luxury_Resort, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Sven H,

Greetings from Baoase Luxury Resort!

Thank you very much for your detailed review and very nice words.

We always aim in providing our guests the ultimate in personalized attention and service to make memories that will last a lifetime. The provided compliments are highly appreciated and we will continuously make sure to consistently provide our guests with the best service.

We are delighted to hear your positive comment about the unique dining experience Baoase Culinary Beach Restaurant offers. We also highly appreciate your helpful advice about our booking procedure and we will certainly make all the necessary to improve this process.

Thank you for recommending our west side tour, which our Guest Relations team always helps you planning all kind of excursions and trips around the island of Curaçao.

We sincerely hope to soon welcome you back at Baoase Luxury Resort!

Kind regards from the entire Team,

Oliver Zahn
General Manager
Baoase Luxury Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It is paradise on earth. We really enjoyed the privacy, the stunning beach lagoon with crystal blue water and of course the friendly and helpful service. The beach was never crowded and it was pure relaxation The very clean rooms and suites are designed in an elegant Asian style with many details and extras. The location is perfect, it is outside of the city but Willemstad with its many restaurants, shops and market is just a few minutes away by car. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele_R_ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baoase_Luxury_Resort, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Michele_R_ZH,

Greetings from Baoase Luxury Resort!

We highly appreciate your fantastic review about your stay at our resort.
It is great to hear that we contributed to a wonderful and unforgettable stay. The landscaping of our private beach is especially created to give you the ultimate “zen experience”. Baoase Luxury Resort is known for its comfort and elegance in a relaxed setting. If you want to relax and enjoy tranquility yet be minutes away of Willemstad, Baoase has indeed the perfect location.

It will be our pleasure to welcoming you back again in paradise.

Kind regards from the entire Team,

Oliver Zahn
General Manager
Baoase Luxury Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The service is exceptionally good; friendly, helpful and attentive. Room was beautiful with a lovely jacuzzi and the hotel grounds are beautifully and sympathetically landscaped. We had a fabulous time and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samandkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baoase_Luxury_Resort, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Samandkris,

Greetings from Baoase Luxury Resort!

Reading you had a fabulous time at Baoase Luxury Resort means a lot to us. Thank you for taking your time for sharing this.
You experienced our resort exactly like we want our guests to experience it. We are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere including your room with the Jacuzzi.

We would be more than happy to welcome you again at our resort.

Kind regards from the entire Team,

Oliver Zahn
General Manager
Baoase Luxury Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I went to the Baoase for our honeymoon. I never review places, but in this case I feel a need to inform my fellow travelers...so here is what we experienced on our honeymoon in Curacao at the Baoase:

- the resort is very pretty, but it is also VERY small. You can sit down at the restaurant or on the man made beach and see the entire premise of the resort. If you like to adventure or walk around you will be very bored...
- if you don't get a rental car expect to pay a RIDICULOUS amount of money for a "taxi" which is really someone from the resort in the resort car driving you where you want to go. We have a bad experience with this as we were shocked to find out we were charged $30 dollars for someone from the resort to drive us 5 minutes down the road. (Literally 5 minutes)
* We booked a dolphin tour through the hotel, and were not told we had to pay at the dolphin place (which we also werent told we had to find our own way there, it was not walkable nor did they offer any type of shuttle or ride there) After having to take their "taxi" at $30 to the dolphin place we then realized we had to pay at the location -- we had booked everything through the hotel and everything else during the trip was charged to the room, so knowing we were going to be in the water we didnt bring our wallets/purse. We then had to call the resort and they charged us another $30 for someone from the resort to drive the 5 minutes down the road to pay... When you are paying thousands of dollars to stay at a luxury resort, I would not expect to be nickel and dimed like this ( this is really about the principal and the way guests are treated and not the extra $60). When we brought it up to management that they charged us $60 in "taxi" trips that totalled probably 15 minutes in the car, they said they would NOT take any charges off.

Additional negatives:
- there is nothing around the resort to walk to or adventure out to. The area around the resort is really run down and you do not go walking around at night.
- get a rental car - if you have a rental car you can drive to some of the other beaches, resorts or the main towns nearby, you can snorkel, go out to some local restaurants, etc.
- the general pool is really not a pool for lounging around. You go in or out, and its in a shaded area.
- Curacao is a desert island, so if you are expecting tropical and lush, you shall be quite unhappy.
- DOGS barking. For two nights we couldnt sleep due to the areas local dogs barking all night long. Even with all our windows shut and ear plugs in we had a hard time sleeping.
- the hot water in the shower lasted about 15 minutes MAX
- the mini bar fridge only opened after scraping across the wood shelf it was located inside of.
- dinner service very slow - we had a 3 hour dinner one night (not by choice), and decided to eat in our room after that so we could eat and then go enjoy the rest of our evening
- took four days for the resort cleaners to clean one of my husbands shirts

Positives:
- the food was delicious at the resort as well as the drinks (but all are very expensive)
- the beach butlers, especially Thom, were great.
- the breakfast staff was always very quick and friendly
- the beach chairs/cabanas are very nice and the cusions are perfect for relaxing!

Overall we wouldn't go back and don't think it was up to the 5 star standard. Additonally when you are paying such a high premium for a "luxury resort" you dont expect to be nickel and dimed. The area around the resort is also one of the biggest concerns/let downs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Lexa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baoase_Luxury_Resort, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Lexa S,

Greetings from Baoase Luxury Resort!

Thank you for your review and sharing your experiences. In complete honesty, we are surprised about your somewhat negative review. This because we were not informed from your side about any of those points (except the taxi ride), in order to either react or respond immediately. I have therefore listed my answers and explanations on your comments below:

1. Baoase Luxury Resort is a hideaway resort that promises pure relaxation and tranquility.
If you were looking for adventures, we would have been happy to arrange our private tour
guide for you.
2. The taxi ride we have offered you was executed with our luxurious limousine and only
varies little in price from a standard taxi of the island. When we booked the reservation at
the Dolphin Academy for you, we have sent you a confirmation. This confirmation clearly
states that the amount of $178 has to be directly paid at the Dolphin Academy and the
amount of $ 20,- is being charged on your room account. When we received the phone call
from Dolphin Academy that you did not pay at the entrance, we were informed to pay within
15 minutes without your dolphin encounter is being canceled. Claire, our Front Office
Manager, specifically told the agent to let you do the encounter at 11:00 and that she will
personally come and do the payment for you. For this prepayment we have added 9 % tax,
which we will have to pay to the local government of Curacao. This is the reason that the
amount of $ 16.02 was added on top of the $ 178,-. The amount that has been charged on
your room account was $ 200,- (including the extra ride to the Dolphin academy). For the
service and loyalty we stand for we did not charge you the full amount of $ 30,-, which you
mentioned in your review.
3. The technical issues in your room, were communicated and fixed directly by our
maintenance department. From the hotel perspective, we would have appreciated this
information to an earlier point in order to be able to react during your stay.
4. The speed of our restaurant service fully corresponds with our restaurants concept, where a
visit becomes a culinary experience, surrounded in a romantic and peaceful environment.
Guests that prefer a quick bite, we advise either to order room service or to inform our
restaurant staff to dine in more speed.

I hope that the above mentioned explanations are clear and that you accept my detailed answer and reaction.

Should you have any further questions or require more detailed information, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime again.

Please be informed that we are continuously focusing on improving our hotel procedures and to bringing our standards on another much higher level.
We appreciate your remarks for improvement and were honored to welcome you as our guests.

We hope we can welcome you in the near future again.

Kind regards and a big thank you from the entire Baoase team!

Oliver Zahn
General Manager
Baoase Luxury Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If you are not a scuba diver/snorkeler, find another island. Baoase is the only jewel on this island. The resort is spectacular, but the island is run down, food average and casinos a joke. For a honeymoon with your spouse, nothing beats this resort!!!

Room Tip: any room is awesome!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2enj0ylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baoase_Luxury_Resort, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear 2enj0ylife,

Greetings from Baoase Luxury Resort!

Thank you for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor.
We are glad you are recommending fellow travelers a Honeymoon at Baoase Luxury Resort.

We want to thank you for having stayed with us at the Resort and we hope to see you as a guest in the near future again.

Kind regards from the entire Team,

Oliver Zahn
General Manager
Baoase Luxury Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
0.8 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
688 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 32 in Willemstad
365 reviews
2.6 mi away
Papagayo Beach Resort
Papagayo Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in Willemstad
349 reviews
4.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baoase Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baoase Luxury Resort

Address: Winterswijkstraat 2, Willemstad 00000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: £416 - £1,107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baoase Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultra-exclusive resort promises to provide an unforgettable experience to guests seeking a peaceful retreat in comfort and style. With 23 extravagant rooms, suites and villas, the resort is the ultimate getaway for luxury seeker. In line with the love of Balinese style, something unique and highly luxurious was created. Different elements were incorporated in the design of the resort such as cool, dark woods and vases, antiques, and other elegant artefacts scattered throughout the property to set off the natural beauty of the surroundings. The resort’s philosophy of barefoot elegance brings luxury back to its essence. Unique are the water basins located at the guest room entrances. They are designed so guests can wash their feet before entering their accommodation which is also a Balinese custom. The ultra-exclusive resort promises to provide an unforgettable experience to guests seeking a peaceful retreat in comfort and style. Baoase distinguishes itself from other luxury resorts in the Caribbean by offering impeccable attention to detail, an unparalleled level of service and- a commitment to creating a unique holiday spot for the world’s most discriminating traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Baoase Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baoase Luxury Hotel Willemstad
Baoase Luxury Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing