We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little place I like to call paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baoase Luxury Resort
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Baoase resort exceeded the expectations of both my husband and myself. From the time we stepped out of the airport where our hotel arranged transportation awaited to take us to paradise us to the moment we left the resort, we were taken care of 100%. The suites were breath taking, private, and extremely comfortable. The kitchen, if you can even call it a kitchen, produced some of the most delicious food we have ever had. RIck is an amazing chef, and when you go, just tell him to suprise you with a 4 course dinner. Don't get me wrong, the menu items are delicious, but Rick's creations will make your mouth water. The beach was always clean and ample chairs and cabanas are always available, a perk of a small resort. The staff was very helpful and attentive. I can not wait to go back to Curacao. This family owned resort is not to be missed...don't consider other resorts on Curacao because nothing will compare to Baoase.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raz7409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2010

The property and the rooms are both stunningly designed and perfectly appointed but sadly the same attention to detail was missing from the staff. We booked a 4-course meal, but sat unattended for an hour. ( a frustration that unfortunately distracted from an otherwise delicious meal prepared by a very obviously talented chef.) We would've overlooked that had it not been followed by other events that just seemed to point to a lack of overall coordination. We asked for breakfast to be delivered to our room. A continental breakfast of disappointingly limpid breads and cheeses (which included a melting slice of Kraft singles on an island where any supermarket sells delicious dutch cheeses) was delivered without any beverages, no juice, no coffee, water, nothing. Finally, upon check out it took three times to finally get the correct bill for our room. The first time we were handed a bunch of receipts that weren't ours. The second time ("the correct one") then included an incorrect nightly room charge. Only the third attempt at a bill, which included a manager who happened to be passing through the office, finally yielded the correct bill.

Everyone was friendly, no one was rude but the hotel would be better served by hiring people that actually seemed to care about their job. We intend to visit Curacao again but will be looking into other luxury properties. For the price that you pay for this property there were just too many annoying bloopers.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jasminak100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

While the word "oasis" may be overused in travel reviews, Baoase is surely that. This resort is a small, secluded and seductive paradise. It is the total opposite of the typical Caribbean all-inclusive: no beach volleyball, loud pool activities, obnoxious drunken tourists or the mediocre food and drinks that go along with it.

Baoase is a small and luxurious property - one where you can have your own private hut on the beach just to relax in all day. And what a beach it is! They have built a small barrier island to not only break the waves (the water can be a little rough on this part of the ocean) but create a beautiful pool-like area right on the sand. It's really cool!

We stayed in a villa that was just absolutely gorgeous and incredibly roomy. Every detail was just right. It had a fully equipped kitchen (which we did not use very much), a beautifully furnished outdoor room where we had a fabulous breakfast every morning, a private cool water Jacuzzi (which was actually MUCH better than a hot tub), fantastic bathrooms including a private outdoor shower and so much more.

Dining was interesting. They don't have a full restaurant yet; all of the dining takes place at an outdoor bar or right on the beach where they have tables set up. The menu is limited, but it seems like Rik can whip up just about anything. There is no lunch menu, but that is just fine. When you walk by and he is cooking up a big pot of curried chicken with pineapples and rice, who needs a menu? One day I asked Rik if he could make a burger and a few minutes later out came something that could have won a competition on The Food Network! One night we have a four course "mystery dinner" on the beach that was just an indescribable experience! If you trust the staff and just let them bring you whatever they whip up, you will have a great time.

The only thing we did not like about Baoase was that the small beach was pretty much closed at each end so you couldn't take long beach walks. Also (and this is not the fault of the resort at all) the Villa next to us was inhabited by a family with very loud young kids and an infant that would not stop screaming! Please - keep them home or go to the Holiday Inn next time!!! Also, some of the gadgetry was just a bit too clever for its own good, such as the difficult to operate air conditioning.

All in all, Baoase is a property of incredible beauty - you can feel the love that the owners have put into it. It is expertly maintained with a warm staff and the perfect place to relax and soak it all in. For a romantic vacation it can't be beat. It's doubtful that you will find anything this luxurious, attractive or relaxing in the entire Caribbean.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardMadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

On arrival we were immediately made to feel welcome as if we were staying with friends. The resort while small compared to some is luxuriant, quiet and private. The villas are decorated in a balinese style but are modern in every way. Full kitchen sans microwave, surround sound and free wireless internet throughout. We spent most of our time using the very private and beautifully furnished outdoor living area that was mere steps away from the salt water infinity pool. Swim any time you want. The restaurant service was excellent and they will accommodate your every need including dining on the beach. The bar was relaxing and friendly. Ronald will make anything you wish or will create a drink for you. He is also very informative on the island and what to see and do. In fact, all the staff, Sharon, Thomas, Rul, Rick, Iris and the owner's daughter Ninka were a walking concierge service. Always ready to assist with any matter but not intrusive. You can have as much privacy as you want. They are also a lot of fun. Housekeeping was superb, two times a day. Security was well done with monitoring and 24 hour guards. Conveniently located next to a dive resort and supermarket and gas station only a block away. You can not go wrong with the Baoase. Simply the best on the island of Curacao. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

My husband and I chose this resort beause of the great reviews on trip advisor...The experience was amazing. The resort is even more beautiful than the pictures on the website. The service was five star every day. From the cook to order breakfast to the mini bar that was stocked daily with our favorite beers- all included in the price, this resort was top notch. The villas share a private salt water infinite pool that leads right down to the beach. You can eat every meal right on the beach with your feet in the sand. We are from Florida so we are used to bugs but because of the breeze, we had no mosquitoes on the beach at night. The owner's daughter Neilke is the guest relations manager- she left candy on my daughters pillow at night and brought crayons and markers to the table in the evening. She even went to the store to get my husband a special vegetarian dish to have prepared on our last night. The private beach is beautiful- perfection every day. The food is better than most 5 star hotels and the drink prices are reasonable when compared with Atlantis etc...a Mojito was only 6.00. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to get away from the resorts where you are lined up like sardines on the beach....we had the beach to ourselves most days- towels and chairs were plentiful and kyak rentals were free. This was one of our best vacations ever.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carribeanl0vers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

My wife and I decided to treat ourselves for our birthdays and visit someplace we'd not yet been. After some months of research and reading hundreds of reviews, we decided on the island of Curacao. At this point I found the Baoase Luxury Resort and was intrigued by its size and all positive reviews, though there were not many compared to other hotels. I sent some e-mails with variuos questions and even called a couple of times and was always greeted warmly and with expeditious responses. The decision was made and we booked our trip for the week of Feb.20-27th.
The resort exceeded anything we expected. The location and beach are like an island on an island. The attention to detail and decor not only was evidenced in the rooms but the entire resort. At times I felt we were more in Micronesia than somewhere off the coast of Venezuela. The collection of artifacts placed all over were nothing short of museum quality pieces and almost always demanded a few moments to stand there and appreciate them. There is no doubt in our minds that a great deal of thought and love went into the choosing.
The "Retaurant" located on the beach, or "Rik's Cafe" as we liked to call it, does an exceptional job with the limitations of not having a huge kitchen. We dined on from Tapas and Toasties to Spiced Red Snapper in a beur blanc sauce that rivaled Le Cirque or Le Bernadine ( we have been to both). Rik Ebben is an extraordinary chef whose individual touch to his creations and yet his humble description of them is an experience in itself. He never feared making anything asked of him as long as he had the ingredients(or some facsimile.LOL i.e Rik's own take on Eggs Benedict- in our eyes better than the original). His brother Ronald runs a tight ship as restaurant and bar manager and was, it seems at times, everywhere at once and always in uplifting humor.
As you can probably tell, we became attached to this place and it's close knit family. Always a smile from Quincy or Sheila at the bar. Always a friendly greeting from Ester. Cassandra at the front desk was enormously helpful..from arranging car rental or snorkeling trip to massages on the beach at sunset (highly recommended).
The day we were leaving was the day after ANOTHER snowstorm back home. We were hoping all flights were cancelled and we'd be forced to endure another day or two in Paradise.
The Resort is intended to be private and serene without the large scale distractions of it's competitors. It captures that effect more than one could hope for. We've added some of our own photos.
And in the words of the great "Terminator".....We'll be back!

P.S. Make sure to say hello to all our friends living in that great town of Bushalte !

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lajo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Amazing property, absolute paradise, villas are both luxurious and intimate. My wife had a massage in the villa and said it was the best she ever had. Only minor complaints are the jacuzzis are not heated, there are no instruction manuals for some of the appliances in the villa and no I pod docks (now pretty standard in most hotels). If you are looking for total relaxation this place cant be beat.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 87LSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
0.8 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
688 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 32 in Willemstad
365 reviews
2.6 mi away
Papagayo Beach Resort
Papagayo Beach Resort
#10 of 32 in Willemstad
349 reviews
4.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baoase Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baoase Luxury Resort

Address: Winterswijkstraat 2, Willemstad 00000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: £416 - £1,110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baoase Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultra-exclusive resort promises to provide an unforgettable experience to guests seeking a peaceful retreat in comfort and style. With 23 extravagant rooms, suites and villas, the resort is the ultimate getaway for luxury seeker. In line with the love of Balinese style, something unique and highly luxurious was created. Different elements were incorporated in the design of the resort such as cool, dark woods and vases, antiques, and other elegant artefacts scattered throughout the property to set off the natural beauty of the surroundings. The resort’s philosophy of barefoot elegance brings luxury back to its essence. Unique are the water basins located at the guest room entrances. They are designed so guests can wash their feet before entering their accommodation which is also a Balinese custom. The ultra-exclusive resort promises to provide an unforgettable experience to guests seeking a peaceful retreat in comfort and style. Baoase distinguishes itself from other luxury resorts in the Caribbean by offering impeccable attention to detail, an unparalleled level of service and- a commitment to creating a unique holiday spot for the world’s most discriminating traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Baoase Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baoase Luxury Hotel Willemstad
Baoase Luxury Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing