We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxation heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
ky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“relaxation heaven”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Loved the Scuba Lodge and Suites. Very old building rehabbed to modern. Bedrooms have AC. Restaurant had excellent food!!!! Staff were at beck and call. Felt like I was treated like the queen. Loved our room facing infinity pool with the ocean just beyond. Will definitely stay there again! Had great divemaster--Joshua. We were highly satisfied with each dive. I have difficulty getting in and out due to a well used set of knees and back. Joshua got me in the water to dive site and back out every time. We never felt rushed and had all the help we needed with equipment. Would reccomend Scuba Lodge to all!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyFishlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    165
    30
    5
    3
See reviews for
98
343
45
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I just returned from 7 wonderful days in Curaçao. Three friends and I stayed at the Scuba Lodge and loved everyone the of it. The staff is terrific - knowledgeable , helpful and perfectly amiable. I had the best meal of the week at their Thursday barbecue. I'd work there for free for the recipe for the Peanut Sauce!!! Went scuba diving for the first time and felt safe and prepared for the dive. Thank you Bob! Thanks to all!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginnypos12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

It's hard to choose what we liked best about the Scuba Lodge. First and foremost, the staff. Tom, Josh, and the rest of the crew were amazingly hospitable and always there to help! The suites were phenomenal! They were dutch inspired, clean, large, and stocked with items to cook and do laundry. The location was perfect as well, in the heart of the city and within walking distance to a lot of sites.

The Scuba Lodge did a great job of coordinating not only my scuba certification but also organizing all of the dives and dive sites, as well as working with local divers to accommodate us.

The icing on the cake of our stay was when the Scuba hosted Thursday night BBQ. It was so great to relax and hang out with other guests and the staff as well. You can really tell that crew really enjoys what they do.

Room Tip: The suites (apartments) next door are great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acciavatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed in the Scuba Lodge for 6 nights.

First a disclaimer... If you want everything spoon fed to you then the Scuba Lodge is not for you. If that's what you're after then should go to one of the large anonymous corporate hotels where the blandness of your surroundings will ensure you have a great nights sleep.

An ice cold welcoming drink was greatly appreciated on our arrival. We booked a sea view room but we were shown to the Presidents Home (the yellow building). A mistake I assumed but no, it was a complementary upgrade. Not sure why but I didn't hang around to ask questions, I had an infinity pool to get into!!!

The accommodation was clean and comfortable. The AirCon worked very well which was just as well as it was very very hot. We didn't use the lounge or the 2nd bedroom but the modern fridge that dispensed ice cold water came in very handy. The washing machine was also well used.

The hotel has two pools, both warm and clean. The most popular pool is the previously mentioned infinity pool which over looks the sea. We spent a lot of time in the infinity pool, keeping cool while gazing at the passing boats.

The staff are warm and friendly, all young and all very good looking. Don't expect them to follow you around just incase you might want a drink. However, if you ask them for something, nothing is to much trouble.

The hotels menu is limited but everything we ordered was reasonably priced and tasted good.

I read a few comments about the area being unsafe, nothing could be farther from the truth. Yes the hotel has security but doesn't every hotel...? There was some work going on out in the street and as a result, a few of the street lights were not working but the area at no point felt unsafe. If you are worried at all then cross the road the the street that runs parallel, it's well lit and has several bars & restaurants on it. There was also some work going on at the hotel but firstly, this is the off season and when are hotels supposed to do improvement work and secondly, it wasn't obtrusive at all. It began mid morning and was finished by mid afternoon.

I can't speak for everyone but we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms I suspect are quieter than road facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyShields1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My friend and I did a partial dive certification at the Scuba Lodge. We had a great experience and I would definitely recommend! The staff here is so nice!

Our dive group was small- just 3 people- which was awesome! Our dive instructors, Tom and Bob, were knowledgeable and patient. Bob was a little more of a hard-[--] haha, but that was good :) -its important to learn proper diving.

The Scuba Lodge itself was beautiful, well maintained, and they have a gorgeous reef right there. The Lodge is in a good location- within walking distance to everything downtown (about 2 city blocks for Chicagoans).

My friend and I really liked it here! I would definitely stay, not just dive, at the Scuba Lodge on my next Curacao trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed in one of the suites. Its was fine but could have been finished to a standard more in keeping with the cost. Beds were fine, linnen clean, fridge working, there is a Senseo so you need coffee pads, TV reception is abysmal, the WiFi intermittant. The security measures indicative of what to expect from outside. In the morning we had to share with workmen using the lock-up next to the patio. Breakfast was basic - stale bread rolls, processed ham, no orange juice, butter and jam - all brought to you in a bag that didn't stand inspection. In the garden were old black bin bags that we took away to improve the view. The pool is very small, no one seemed to clean it, the sun-beds have seen better days. The staff do not attend it so if you need a drink you have to go order it in reception. The pool is next to a building site where a chap was erecting a wooden contraption. Our tans were improved by the flying sawdust, our hearing by the scream of his electric tools. Between the suites and reception is another house that is being renovated. It is in a very sorry state and nothing has been done to shield it off from guests. Throughout the day workmen are busy pouring cement when not using a variety of noisy hand tools. You will have to hop around them making your way to the bar. It is the same at the entrance to Scuba Lodge. Not only will you have to work your way around and through a gaggle of folk busy laying paths, sawing and generally busy, you will have to worm your way past a heap of decrepit vehicals in various stages of disrepair. It looks like the forecourt of a chop-shop and is in full keeping with the rest of Pietermaai and what you will see as you journey airport to hotel. Centre Willemstad leaves a reasonable impression but is over priced and over rated. There are many shops and premises either closed, shabby or derelict. Both Scuba Lodge and Willemstad have good reputations but it is a pity that's as far as it goes.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FranzD503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scheveningen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2012

When you see the front of the hotel you think, hmmmmm. Then when you enter... you are in paradise! Nice, friendly people, great laid back atmosphere, beautiful spacious appartments, great swimming pool and nice diving offers. We were with a family of four and would come straight back. Truly a great experience, we had a wonderfull time!

Room Tip: The "Green", 1st floor sea front appartment is brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familiederoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
2.0 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 32 in Willemstad
339 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
1.1 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 32 in Willemstad
526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Lodge & Suites

Property: Scuba Lodge & Suites
Address: Pietermaai 104, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scuba Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scubalodge is the premier ocean front boutique hotel in Curacao. Made of in total 5 monumental buildings, every room and apartment are different! And so is the staff! With a very relaxed and personal atmosphere guests are like staying with friends! Relax in one of the two swimming pools, in the ocean in our house riff and enjoy a cocktail at the Ocean Bar. Scubalodge has a PADI Dive School and shop and the well known breakfast basket and weekly barbecue! Laid in the "quartier Latin" of Curacao, many restaurants and bars are walking distance, as is the city centre, the cruise terminal and all musea and shopping center. Explore the real Curacao in Otrabanda, the "pontjes brug" and the fruit and local market. Or take your rental car and explore the Island and all of its 70 beaches!!! Scubalodge, welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Scuba Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scuba Hotel Willemstad
The Scuba Lodge And Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing