We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel yourself at home in Willemstad !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
antwerp
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Feel yourself at home in Willemstad !”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Things sure change. Some 18 years ago, Pietermaai and Penstraat were adventurous. Avila Beach dominated the area as a Grand Dame, but now the neighbourhood is rocking. Once you enter Scuba Lodge, the friendly staff will kindly welcome you with some cold drinks and an update about the island. Leave your shoes in the car for the rest of your stay . Wonderfull rooms, but try to book one of the amazing suites in the yellow, green or blue caribbean houses. You 'll feel like having your own place in this sizzling neighbourhood where resto's and bars pop up. Nevertheless, you 'll like the quite atmosphere with the house reef and infinity pool. Barefoot luxury, don't expect a 5 star resort . The dive guides are fabulous and look for great spots to go shore diving. Be prepared to find sea horses and beautiful corals. We look forward to our next visit !

Room Tip: One of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanthesailorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    161
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
95
330
44
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The Hotel is very nice - no doubt. We had a wonderful big, spacious apartment with seaview. The old building was very tastefully restored with nice furniture, a great lounge area on the terrace and a phantastic kitchen. The hotel is located in the nicest and upcoming parts of the city - Pietermaai, only a few minute walk from the town center. There is no beach, but you can use a ladder directly into the sea - next to the small infinity pool. Next door is the stylish San Tropez Ocean Club - a good (but not disturbing) alternative for the night out.

What annoyed us most was, that housekeeping kept entering our apartment without prior knocking our announcing. Even more disturbing was, that they did not came through the front door, but through their separate entrance in the back of the Apartment. This happened several times throughout our stay, while we were still in bed, taking a shower, preparing meals etc. "Do not disturb"-signs would definitely help. We even found the staff walking through the apt when we came back one afternoon - although normal housekeeping time was long over.

The front desk staff was not well organized - people kept changing every day without informing each other about what was discussed with the guest the day before. After two nights, we had to move out of our apartment because there was a double booking and they gave priority to the other guest. The upgrade we received for the inconvenience was ok, but the treatment and the handling was still unprofessional.

Room Tip: The two and three bedroom apartments are wonderful, for families, friends or - if you can afford it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sansibar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scubalodge, Manager at Scuba Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear guests,

First of all we want to make our apologies for the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay at our hotel.

At the moment of your review we were already working on the 'Non Disturb' signs. We totally agree on this matter and highly value the privacy of every guest.
As for the reservations matter we're looking into your situation so this won't happen again.

Again we make our apoligies and hope you will visit us once again to see the improvements that we have made.

With warm regards,

Yvette Kuijper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We enjoyed our stay at one of the appartments.
rooms are basic but clean, there's a small but never crowdy pool.
staff is very friendly.

cons : no big "beach" and sometimes noisy traffic, but these
do not weigh up against the pro's.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemondedumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

If you like the concept, Curacao might be able to offer you the best of Boutique hotels. Scuba Lodge is a hidden gem even most locals are not aware off. The lodge is situated in one of the most beautiful spots of the historic (Unesco World Heritage list) city of Willemstad. Just step outside and you will be able to explore the old town with historic buildings, nice restaurants and shops and if you walk a little further and cross the floating bridge you will find high end shops, one of the best museums in the Caribbean, movietheaters and even a Starbucks.
Inside the Scuba Lodge you will step into a different world most hotels on the island will not be able to offer you. The three nicely renovated 19th century city mansions offer either simpel but stylish hotelrooms, or two-or three- bedroom suites. If your budget allows it, choose one of the suites. They are nicely furnished to the detail, comfortable in every sense, contain everything you need and offer private wooden balconies overlooking the open Caribbean sea. The Lodge is situated on a stretch of land close to the entrance of the islands natural harbour. While relaxing in the small infinity pool you can watch big (cruise) ships dock or watch them sail away at the end of the day.
But what puts the Scuba Lodge high up on the list of 'Best Place to Stay' on the island is the perfect mix of 'laid back', luxury, more than friendly service and nice food at a reasonable price. The staff wears beach attire (it is a dive hotel after all) but will offer high class service that will be hard to find in other hotels or restaurants on the island. They remember your name and will do anything to make you feel right at home.
My husband and I (born and raised on Curacao) live on Curacao and choose to stay at a different local hotel each year for our wedding anniversary. This year for our ten-year-anniversary we stayed at the Scuba Lodge in Pietermaai and have decided its our best experience so far. We defenitely hope to stay there again next year!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
media, pa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Husband and I were staying at Avila Hotel. Though the breakfast there was kind of crummy so we walked to Scuba Lodge for breakfast a couple of mornings for the breakfast basket. It was perfection. Sand in the toes, hot tea, listening to and watching the waves crash. Lovely service and friendly folks. If we return to Curacao we'll surely be staying at The Scuba Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evodkativ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

After our amazing holiday last December we decided to spend Xmas 2012 at Scuba Lodge again. I was very nervous as we've never returned to the same place twice even if its been fabulous so, the nearer the time got to going the more I though it wouldn't be as good as the first time. How wrong I was, it was even better than the first time! The hotel rooms have been renovated with super-large comfy beds and upgraded bathrooms with luxurious rain showers.

The fresh, exciting menu cooked by new chef Floris is spectacular and there is always a daily specials menu to choose from. We ate at many highly-rated, expensive restaurants and rate the food at Scuba Lodge much higher and better value for money. The Xmas dinner menu was amazing and the Thursday BBQ is legendary!

The staff make your holiday. They are very friendly and attentive in a relaxed atmosphere. They are dedicated to making your stay as comfortable as possible and your holiday memorable. The hotel's location is spectacular, on the beached sea front and within 10 minutes walk into town.

The diving was even better this year, now I am more confident. I went on several guided dives with several of the dive instructors at Scuba to some fabulous dive sites that were unspoilt and we were the only ones there. I saw a turtle, which was out of this world and 2 x 6ft barracudas which swam right up to us. If you are thinking of learning to dive I would strongly recommend doing it all at Scuba. The instructors are passionate about diving and it shows in how they teach you. They understand that everyone is different in their development and they teach you accordingly, you are definitely not a number and if you need special help with certain things they spend the time with you until you feel comfortable to move on. My refresher dives with Tom have been invaluable to getting me back in the water diving again.

We love this place and the people and have booked already for Xmas 2013!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SammyMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

If you are looking for fancy and upscale, the Scuba Lodge is not for you. If you like simple, affordable, aesthetically pleasing, no frills types of places, you'll love the Scuba Lodge. We stayed in a small double room on the lower level with a garden view. The property itself is a renovated group of colorful Dutch style buildings with a variety of rooms. Our room was very simple, but it was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the shower had hot water at a good pressure.

The best part of the Scuba Lodge is the porch and sandy yard that overlook the sea; perfect for a waterfront meal or drink. While we were not impressed with many of our meals on Curacao overall (most had no local flair and were very pricey), we enjoyed our meals at the Scuba Lodge. It was one of the few places on the island to get reasonably priced (for the island) casual meals with a view to boot.

The Scuba Lodge is located in the neighborhood of Pietermaai. There is a lot of renovation going on in Pietermaai, which means parts are bit scruffy and can feel isolated at night, but if you are urban tolerant you will feel fine walking around even at night. The Scuba Lodge is in immediate walking distance to a number of bars and restaurants and about a 10 minute walk from the main part of town. Upon check-in, one of the staff gave us a good overview of things to do and recommendations.

While you can walk to a lot in Willemstad from the Scuba Lodge, we were glad we rented a car to explore the rest of the island. If I did it over again, I may have chosen to divide up the trip between a stay here and a stay on the western part of the island. The western part feels a bit more island-like; you can forget that you are on an island when you are in Willemstad.

We also went diving with the Scuba Lodge, which was very convenient. They took us on a number of shore dives in their van on the eastern part of the island. The staff at the Scuba Lodge are very laid back about diving, so if you have specific sites you want to see, you will need to educate yourself about the sites as they tend to stick to the sites in the east. I believe they will take you out to the western dive sites, but you will need to arrange it in advance. We ended up diving some of the eastern sites with the Scuba Lodge and taking two day trips out to the western sites with dive operators out there for diving and snorkeling. While our diving with the Scuba Lodge was overall good, we were not happy about our refresher course. We hadn't been diving in a few years and booked a refresher course with them to get up to speed. We received a few tips before our dive but otherwise there wasn't much of a course and it was just a guided dive.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amyakabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
2.0 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
1.1 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 32 in Willemstad
508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Lodge & Suites

Property: Scuba Lodge & Suites
Address: Pietermaai 104, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Best Value Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scuba Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scubalodge is the premier ocean front boutique hotel in Curacao. Made of in total 5 monumental buildings, every room and apartment are different! And so is the staff! With a very relaxed and personal atmosphere guests are like staying with friends! Relax in one of the two swimming pools, in the ocean in our house riff and enjoy a cocktail at the Ocean Bar. Scubalodge has a PADI Dive School and shop and the well known breakfast basket and weekly barbecue! Laid in the "quartier Latin" of Curacao, many restaurants and bars are walking distance, as is the city centre, the cruise terminal and all musea and shopping center. Explore the real Curacao in Otrabanda, the "pontjes brug" and the fruit and local market. Or take your rental car and explore the Island and all of its 70 beaches!!! Scubalodge, welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scuba Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scuba Lodge And Suites
The Scuba Hotel Willemstad
Scuba Lodge & Suites Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing