We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Curaçao, go Scuba Lodge & Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Netherland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go Curaçao, go Scuba Lodge & Suites”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A warm welcome to the Scuba Lodge by Tom and the team of young, friendly and well motivated staff. A nice authentic Governors house was our home for a week. Design kitchen with great equipement, three huge bedrooms with bathroom en suite. A porch with shadow cover, lounge set and dining area. Every morning a fantastic breakfast served on the seaside. Top place to stay on walking distance to the towncenter.

Room Tip: Green downstairs is a 4 room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchyNetherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    168
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
103
352
46
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in September. Our room was on 1st floor and very nice - unfortunately we had to wait over 2 hours for it to be ready after we arrived ( which was mid-afternoon). We dived with the hotel & the diving was great and we were taken some sites they do not usually visit - however some mornings it was a lttle bit disorganised.

The staff are very friendly and relaxed and it is a great atmosphere

We ate in the hotel a few times and the BBQ evening was great.

Its only a short walk to the center of Willemstad - i would say 10 to 15 minutes but there are bars and restaurants closer

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I've been visiting Scuba lodge a couple of times now, went for a dinner once and I'm now doing my open water padi course at the Scuba lodge. Great dinner, great diving and a beautiful place to hang out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the Scuba Lodge & Suites. My room was a duplex of about 800 sq. ft. with a kitchen that was nicer than my own! It is very laid-back with a scuba, snorkeling crowd. The location is perfect with coral reefs right off of the hotel. Even though I am from the USA and most of the staff and guests at the hotel were Dutch, I felt very much at home there and basked in the warmth of the friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wowvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potsdam, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed in the Scuba Lodge for 3 nights in September 2013.

Location
The lodge is quite central, maybe 5-10min walking distance to the center and main sights. It is directly on the shore but unfortunately doesn't have a (sand) beach but only some stairs which are usually occupied by renitent crabs. It's certainly approbiate for divers but a bit inconvenient for swimmers (who can use the nice infinty pool).

Service
The staff in the lodge is very nice and helpful. We were friendly welcomed by a drink on the house and got a whole lot of information about things to do in the city/island. During all our stay the bar tenders were fast and accurate.

Rooms
We were lucky to get the deluxe suite, which meant that we had a beautiful view on the ocean. The room was quiete even though ist was over the bar. Linen and towels were clean and if desired changed daily.The room was maybe a little small for longer stays but still ok.

Food
Maaaaaaaaaagnificent! Every morning we enjoyed a rich breakfast (egg, fruits, fresh orange juice, selection of bread, tea/coffee etc.) with the feed in the sand and the eyes on the sea. However, it may be a bit expensive when it is not included. The BBQ on thursday was delightful and more than enough!

In summary we can recommend the Scuba Lodge for short term stays or if you plan to be active around the the island most of the time anyway. We can not comment on the diving possibilities.

Room Tip: Room 15 has ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kakaisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Scuba Lodge for 5 nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff were helpful and friendly. We stayed in a 3 bedroom suite. The rooms were comfortable and each one had its own AC and bathroom. The kitchen was well equipped with enough counter space. The deck facing the ocean had 2 fans and space to accommodate a number of guests. Snorkeling and diving were possible from behind the hotel. The hotel is in walking distance of a market and restaurants. The drawbacks would be no beach, at times difficult parking, and for a 1.5 year old the lack of a good lower guard rail made constant supervision needed on the deck. I would stay at this lodge again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ping P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

You don't have to be a diver to stay here. The hotel is portraying itself as a boutique hotel built on a private beach. Maybe it will turn into a boutique but at present it is not yet there. The rooms (superior room) are also extraordinary small. There is no beach either, but cliffs. However you can enjoy a great pool, nice sunbeds, snorkling next to the reef or a lovely view - and/or drink - from the porch area. You'll soon feel relaxed in this nice atmosphere. Good wifi connection (free) all over the property. Friendly staff and good kitchen (only had lunches and an overpriced/overrated breakfast basket for USD16/person). We enjoyed this cosy place and it has a great location with only minutes to walk to first class restaurants (Ginger and Kome for instance) and it's close to the city center. Like everywhere on Curaçao you'll find European prices also here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank great_squasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
2.0 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
350 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
1.1 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 32 in Willemstad
536 reviews
5.7 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Lodge & Suites

Property: Scuba Lodge & Suites
Address: Pietermaai 104, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scuba Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scubalodge is the premier ocean front boutique hotel in Curacao. Made of in total 5 monumental buildings, every room and apartment are different! And so is the staff! With a very relaxed and personal atmosphere guests are like staying with friends! Relax in one of the two swimming pools, in the ocean in our house riff and enjoy a cocktail at the Ocean Bar. Scubalodge has a PADI Dive School and shop and the well known breakfast basket and weekly barbecue! Laid in the "quartier Latin" of Curacao, many restaurants and bars are walking distance, as is the city centre, the cruise terminal and all musea and shopping center. Explore the real Curacao in Otrabanda, the "pontjes brug" and the fruit and local market. Or take your rental car and explore the Island and all of its 70 beaches!!! Scubalodge, welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Scuba Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scuba Lodge And Suites
The Scuba Hotel Willemstad
Scuba Lodge & Suites Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing