We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One week scuba diving with group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Turnhout
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One week scuba diving with group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a wonderfull time at Scuba Lodge. As a group of 28 we rented almost every appartment in Scuba Lodge. They were all very nice (especialy yellow up :-)). Everything you need is in the appartement even a washing machine!
As we were 22 divers, and our average was 3 dives a day, it was a hell of an organisation for the diving crew to get our tanks filled back again on time, but Bob and his crew handled it. Thumbs up for Bob :-)
Our group had a BBQ for the last evening which was faboulous. Special thanks to the kitchen team for this.
Overall this was a very positive experience for all our group members. Yvette you manage Scuba Lodge very well !!!

Groetjes
Kurt

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dogtyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    161
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
95
332
44
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

They had an infinity pool, and a BBQ night on Thursdays. They served good food for breakfast and dinner. My picky daughter demolished a red snapper, which was the catch of the day. What made this hotel stand out was its professional and kind staff, who made rental car reservations and helped with directions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is well over due, my wife and I and our daughter spend 9 days here at this resort last summer. The staff will bend over backwards to please you in any way they could they even made the arrangement to get us a rental vehicle for a couple of days we didn't even have to leave the premisses we asked for a car and it was parked in front of the hotel in a mater of an hour.
On Thursdays they have a buffet from their own restaurant that you can participate if you wish or go out to eat at the many local cuisine which they have many to choose from. Everything is withing walking distance you don't even need a car.
The staff is very very very friendly....did I mention very friendly?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Out of many hotels I've stayed in my life, this is definitely one of the best.

To begin with, it feels like every staff member cares, rather than simply doing his/her job.
Hotel design is modern and efficient. Faucets, doors, handles, linen, lamps, reception area, etc. - almost everything is top quality and in perfect condition, more likely to be found only in the best Vegas hotels. The rustic paint in the bathroom may appear dirty but this just part of design, it's all in fact very clean. One exception - AC in the room didn't produce cool air, but we rarely use AC anyway, and we simply mentioned that at the checkout. We enjoyed Hawaii-style sleep in natural air draft, with sound of crashing waves on the beach.

Hotel grounds are very small, but once again, well organized and maintained. Restaurant tables are arranged by the water; sitting there is very relaxing and vacation-like.

And, finally, the breakfast in a basket - both food and experience. It's a bit pricey, but comparing to standard Sheraton offering it's way better quality and worth trying at least once.
Summarizing, I would highly recommend Scuba Lodge to anyone who wants to spend time in Curaçao.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre-RT715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week in Scuba Lodge. We stayed a two bed apartment with a great balcony and beautiful view of the sea. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Great suggestions for restaurants, trips and beaches.

My husband and daughter did two dives with the Lodge. The dive masters went over and above to make sure they both had really good experiences. Very professional and knowledgeable.

I would not hesitate to recommend Scuba Lodge to anyone wishing to visit Curacao. Great accommodation, great location, professional dive center and very friendly team of people. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneNaperville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I was here for 1 week, March 28 to April 4th 2014.

The accommodations were excellent, clean room, comfortable bed, good ventilation, good wifi (free) throughout. The food was also excellent. The hotel staff in general were all very good, special mention for Kelly, Yvette, Anne and Lise-Anne. The guy who coordinates the cleaning, Jesus, was also great. The bartender at night (forgot his name) was also good.

This is a small hotel for scuba divers. There is a small artificial beach and very small pool overlooking the ocean. If your spouse does not dive, do not bring her here, pick a more commercial hotel with beach and pool. You are off the beaten track and far from the shopping district close to port. The big advantage is the scuba facility right on the premises.

The scuba instructors and divemasters (Bob the manager, Anton, Corne, Carlos and Joshua) are top-notch. They are not only very personable and will answer any stupid questions, but they are very experienced with most of them in the 1500 to 3000 dive range. That commands serious respect. They do everything from basic Open Water to Advanced courses. I did my Rescue Diver over 5 afternoons with Joshua who was great, and dove in the morning. Whatever your level of diving, from beginner to expert, you will learn something from these guys. They are thorough, detail and safety oriented but relaxed and fun, which is what diving should be. Even very advanced divers will benefit. The groups are small, never more than 5, no cattle groups.

The diving here is mainly beautiful coral with alot of small fish. Sea life is more abundant in Mexico, Cayman, Cuba and Bahamas....but still beautiful dives. All shore dives, they have no boat so there is more shlepping of equipment. Bring a full length 3mm wetsuit and hoodie, water temp is around 79 degrees.

Small criticisms: the lack of enough serving staff for dinner at night...they are stressed and cant give the usual level of service for this hotel (a little smile goes a long way). Another small problem is the lack of good fresh water dunk tanks for scuba....this is because municipal water costs 60 USD per cubic meter. Tap water is very clean and can be drank. The accounting is confused, there were mix-ups on my bill. They should have separate accounting for scuba and the rest.

All in all a great experience, I would highly recommend it to divers, it is a fresh change from the big hotel chains. If I come back to Curacao, I will definitely return here.

Marc Mullie MD
Montreal

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at Sirena Bay estate down the street from the Scuba lodge but came here twice for breakfast/brunch. They offer a picnic basket full if fruit, yogurt, pastries etc which was excellent but I think our favors part was the "toast" or a more former grilled cheese. We had one we tomato, cheese and pesto....delicious!! Loved having Scuna lodge nearby for a view of the sea and fabulous food!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
2.0 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
1.1 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 32 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Lodge & Suites

Property: Scuba Lodge & Suites
Address: Pietermaai 104, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Best Value Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scuba Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scubalodge is the premier ocean front boutique hotel in Curacao. Made of in total 5 monumental buildings, every room and apartment are different! And so is the staff! With a very relaxed and personal atmosphere guests are like staying with friends! Relax in one of the two swimming pools, in the ocean in our house riff and enjoy a cocktail at the Ocean Bar. Scubalodge has a PADI Dive School and shop and the well known breakfast basket and weekly barbecue! Laid in the "quartier Latin" of Curacao, many restaurants and bars are walking distance, as is the city centre, the cruise terminal and all musea and shopping center. Explore the real Curacao in Otrabanda, the "pontjes brug" and the fruit and local market. Or take your rental car and explore the Island and all of its 70 beaches!!! Scubalodge, welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scuba Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scuba Lodge And Suites
The Scuba Hotel Willemstad
Scuba Lodge & Suites Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing