We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful sanctuary just a little of the beaten path” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boutique Hotel 't Klooster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful sanctuary just a little of the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Clean well maintained modern rooms surrounding a tropical courtyard with a small pool. When the front desk is "closed" the staff remain easily accessible, often hanging out in the hotel's restaurant/bar. The breakfast buffet is a bit over priced, but is convenient since there are few options for food in the area that early. They usually offer breads, hard boiled eggs, cheese, ham, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. FREE wireless internet.

It's 5 minute walking distance to Avila Beach, it looks private since it is located in a hotel, but is OPEN TO THE PUBLIC everyday but Sunday. It's also one block from the best restaurant on the island The Wine Cellar. It's also a quick walk to Pampus, a chill late-night waterfront bar. It's about a 10 minute to the Punda. Despite some other guest's warning, I never saw any "questionable" folks in the area, but a security guard watches over the front at night.

A cab from he airport cost $30US, but by day 3, we ended up renting a car from nearby Budget (also at the Avila Hotel). Parking in the area is easy.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Veg_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    85
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
12
105
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

Though this hotel is not on the beach but the personal touch by the young couple who own it makes it a hotel with human touch. Room is not big but clean and service and staff are very good. There is wireless internet available for a fee.

Location is such that a walk of 10 minutes will take you to downtown. If given a chance I would surely comeback and stay.Special thanks to Kim & Maarten whose personal touch makes this hotel worth staying.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freemansailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

Nice, clean place, almost in the middle of town. Lovely garden! Good restaurant for lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served at the small table outside the room in the garden. Rooms are not big, bathroom is a bit basic, but both are clean. Kim and Maarten are a lovely couple running the hotel. They do everything to make your stay enjoyable.
We are divers and took a divepackage with Scuba Lodge. Walking distance. Unfortunately they were fully booked, their rooms looked also very nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rocla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Nice hotel that is owned by a young couple who attempt to make your stay comfortable.

Couple of facts: Not on a beach, not in a prefect location, you will hear other guests in the courtyard and on the street. No ac in the bathroom. (For those ladies who spend time getting ready in the bathroom). Concerns of safety at night due to drugs and streetwalkers. On Sunday nights and Wednesday, the drug dealers and the ladies where not around due to a church right next door is my only guess.

Good breakfast buffet and restaurant, good bar, good security in and outside of the building. In room safe, wired and wi fi internet for a fee, frig, ac, dip pool, linens so so. Bed was ok. Parking is on the street and never a problem to find a spot at night and there is a watchman to watch over your car and the hotel. In fact two, the bank across the street has a watch man as well.

If you do not have a car and are a female, I would not walk to and from town at night. Too many chances for trouble. Take a cab. To and from the airport is rough the first time due to lack of good street signs but easy after you have driven it a couple of times.

If you are on business, this is a good location with internet to get your work done. If you’re a tourist and don’t mind not having a beach and driving to a beach or walking ten minutes in the hot sun to downtown or the harbor, this hotel is hard to beat.

Most big box hotels are smoke free. This one is smoke anywhere at any time. Noise was the only real problem. Bathroom has open covered screened window/vent that lets in all the street noise. So I closed the bathroom door at night to sleep. If you are a late sleeper, pray for school to be out and that the next room sleeps in as well.

Pool service was good and the drinks cold. If you check in late, the watch man will check you in and ask you to recheck in after the couple get in the next morning. No irons or phones in the room. Irons at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

My husband and I spent 4 nights here during an enforced extended holiday thanks to the Icelandic volcano incident. Having already been on holiday for 10 days we wanted somewhere cheap and cheerful. Hotel t' Klooster is so much more than that! It's quite central, only a 10 minute walk to Handelskade and Otra Banda. The hotel itself is centred around a charming courtyard (it was formerly a small monastery) which has the pool and an outdoor seating area where breakfast is served. We had a comfort room (great aircon) and while moderately sized, space has been used wisely. The bathroom is good with a decent shower. My only complaint would be that the bed was a bit too soft. Breakfasts are simple but good. The best thing though is the staff. Super friendly and super helpful. As we had no idea when we would be able to get a flight home they were totally relaxed about us extending and shortening our booking. On the day we were checking out they let us keep our room until 2 o'clock as well. It was a really refreshing attitude to business! If you're coming to Curacao staying here is one of the best things you could do.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

We stayed in Hotel 't Klooster for two weeks. What a great hotel! Only a 10 minute walk to the centre of town and about half an hour walk to the beach. Great restaurants around the corner. The restaurant (Augustinus) with the hotel is not the least of them. The room was well equipped and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Service was great. As mentioned on the English website, the pool is not very big, rather a plunge pool, but good enough for a refreshing dip!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robannaTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

The hotel is situated in an old monastery, unique setting. Rooms open out onto a courtyard with a dipping (small) pool, lots of chairs, plants. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. They are air conditioned but I was happy opening the windows and letting the breeze cool the room. The hotel itself is located about a 10 minute walk away from the main downtown. The only drawback to this is that walking back at night can be a bit isolated (I had no trouble any of the numerous times I walked back and forth but I am a guy). Although there is a bit of "city noise" during the day, it is much quieter than the downtown area, especially at night. I stayed in a standard room (there are some larger "deluxe" rooms)

Staff is helpful, always willing to answer questions, help out etc.

There is wireless internet, and one computer to use if needed (fees for both). There isn't a heavy duty business center. I didn't eat at the restaurant but did have a couple of drinks from the bar which were reasonably priced.

All in all, this was an excellent place to relax and see Willemstad. I would stay there again over any of the more centrally located hotels in the downtown.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DphRPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.1 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
#18 of 33 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.3 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#19 of 33 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.0 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel 't Klooster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel 't Klooster

Property: Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Address: Abraham de Veerstraat 12 | Pietermaai, Willemstad 00000, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel 't Klooster 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS and Hotels.com so you can book your Boutique Hotel 't Klooster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing