We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renewed visit after one year and again pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Bonaire
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Renewed visit after one year and again pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We choose again to stay at hotel "Het Klooster" in Curacao for our two night stay to attend the Curacao North Sea Jazz festival. Prior to our stay, the management helped us getting tickets for the festival, which were presented to us upon. We were welcomed in very warm and friendly manner and we felt immediately home again. Although we arrived early, our rooms were ready and we could check in at once. We noticed that the hotel had been freshly painted and also the towels were new and fluffy. The staff is friendly as if they know you for years. The small dip pool in the court yard is an absolute asset. Downtown Willemstad is within walking distance. We will book a room in hotel "Het Klooster" again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMBonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    92
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
13
114
37
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in March. It was a last minute trip and the hotel also arranged a rental car for me when I booked the room via email. They also arranged for me to be picked up by a cab at the airport which was nice. I was just charged the normal cabfare.

The room was very nice, and very clean. The courtyard with a small pool is a nice place to lounge about between doing touristy things, take a dip at the end of the day, etc.

A bartender in town advised me not to walk around town late at night, but I did walk back to the hotel around 11pm a few evenings and never felt unsafe ( but am also used to being in big cities etc so am a bit street-savvy).

I did not eat there, so cannot comment on the restaurant. However I definitely would not pay for the " breakfast", which looked rather pathetic ( see picture ),

The person at the desk when I arrived ( 8pm or so ) could have been a bit more welcoming, but it is not like they were rude or anything.

Again, I am glad I stayed there. It was a nicer experience than staying at a large hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristopherLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The hotel is very clean and quiet. Good to rest but not to explore the island. The location is not good enough to sightseeing and don´t have a parking lot (you need to park at the street and pray to don´t be surprised in the morning).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l0y0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I have to admit we were umming and ahhing about whether to go to Curacao as we had been to Aruba and Bonaire but Curacao wasn't necessarily floating our boat that much!! Really glad we did though as Willemstad is a nice town with a very pretty waterfront and if you hire a car some lovely secluded beaches are nearby. Hotel t'Klooster is a lovely building which has been very well restored with some pretty features like original tiling and stained glass window in the bar etc. The swimming pool is just the right size and the rooms are very pleasant - it is quite bizarre though having an inside and outside shower in such close proximity!! One thing I would recommend though is if they could put some screens on the windows so they could be opened instead of having to have the air conditioning as it made the room smell a tad strange! The hotel is about 10-15 min walk from the waterfront and I guess you could class it as a bit of an unsalubrious area but to be honest we walked back late at night a few times and we got a few shouts etc but didn't feel like we were in any danger! The restaurant in the hotel is also very nice but all menus are in dutch although the waiter translated it for us! :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LauraW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vomo Island, Fiji
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

After having our first choice hotel unable to accommodate us we had to make a last minute change and choose between two hotels....we decided on T'Klooster due its fairly decent reviews and location. We headed to Curacao with few expectations but wanted to be within walking distance from where all the action happens. T'Klooster provided our exact requirements being only a 5 minute walk from all the cafes, shops, Pontoon bridge etc. On arrival we were welcomed by the receptionist who sat us down in the garden along with a cocktail while she confirmed our reservation before showing us the room. This was small but comfortable with high ceilings which gave us a a sense of having more space. The room was equiped with a small quite air conditioning unit, tv, radio alarm and easily enough storage for two people. There was a small kitchenette with a kettle and a fridge with a useful storage unit which is useful if bringing any food back to the room. Strangely we had the choice of two showers, one indoor and one outdoor, this was convenient as it allowed us somewhere to dry our swimsuits. The hotel has a typical caribbean architecture with a nice modern touch. The garden area doubles up as a nice chill out area where you can enjoy your drinks or meals or soak up the sun beside the small pool on the loungers or the hammocks provided. Located within the hotel is the Grand Cafe Augustinus, a converted Chapel, now bar/restaurant. We had the pleasure of eating there and the food was really superb matched by the service of the staff. This is somewhere we would definately stay again due to the great treatment we recieved from all the staff we encountered. A special thanks to Robbie who literally went that extra mile for us!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 24Sabrina78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The hotel is a landmark itself. It has been converted from a kloister into a hotel and they left many details of the older era. We had a deluxe room which had still most of the original tile left. The bar used to be the chapl, I believe. The highlight is the bautiful garden with both a sitting area and a pool area. They have all kinds of plants which really gives it a tropical feel. There are mosquitos, but they provide free mosquito spray. One of the two reason I do not give this hotel five starts is the breakfast. For what they offer it is definitely overpriced. The other reason would be the location. It is a little far from the city and beaches. The staff is very very friendly and helpful. My husband and I got very sick during our trip and they called a doctor for us to come to the hotel. The chef would even cook us vegetable soup - just for us - although this was not on the menu at all! Even though we were really sick, I can tell you that this soup was delicicous! Again, I can only repeat how friendly and helpful everyone is and how relaxing the atmosphere in the garden area is. This hotel is a great alternative to the pricier ones in the city and definitely worth it to check it out!

Room Tip: Go deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danella23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trogir, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. What was really annoying that room walls are paper thin and we heard sounds all night. Towels were old and looked dirty, they should have been replaced a long time ago. First evening we had a good dinner and service by a young fellow at their restaurant, but the disappointment came in the morning with the 15 USD p.p. breakfast. They had a poor selection of food and we couldn't even have a cup of tea as the water both days was totally cold. There were eggs and pancakes to order, but the second day our order was even REFUSED by the lady serving breakfast (probably she didn't feel like working?!). For this price or a lot cheaper you can get a better breakfast anywhere downtown and this we realized on our last day.
There is a school right next to the hotel, that means on weekdays you will be woken up every morning at 7:15 am by the school bell and the screaming kids.
Additionally, there were some construction works in the hotel during our stay, we heard the noisy workers on the roof and even seen them watching into our room that was quite uncomfortable.
Overall, the location of this hotel is good (10-15 minutes walk to downtown), they have a very nice garden and patio, and we give a big plus to the ladies at the front desk who were always helpful and well-informed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Utazonagykovet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.1 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
637 reviews
2.9 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.2 mi away
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
#13 of 32 in Willemstad
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#19 of 32 in Willemstad
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel 't Klooster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel 't Klooster

Property: Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Address: Abraham de Veerstraat 12 | Pietermaai, Willemstad 00000, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel 't Klooster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel 't Klooster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing