We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a bad experience”
Review of Tempo Doeloe - CLOSED

Tempo Doeloe
Price range: US$5 - US$37
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: It's located in the Netherlands Antilles, on the island of Curacao (just to the right of Aruba). Please add this country !
Curacao
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Still a bad experience”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The food they serve is not really Indonesian. The meat dishes all have the same taste as the Dutch influence on the recipes is to big. For Indonesian food there are better places on the Island.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DeGheyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    62
    32
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“just not good”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I hate leaving bad reviews but for this one i have to. Before is start i can only comment on the take out since we did not sit down for dinner.

However we did experience the staff, athmosphere and food. And all were no good i'm afraid.The staff had no clue about the menu, the athmosphere was just not there and the food was horrible. Very greasy and did not taste authentic at all. I even got a nasty stumach bug situation afterwards. So safe to say i won't be coming back here. Oh and also the food is very expensive compared to the quantity u r getting. 6 teeny tiny sate's for 35 guilders is ridiculous!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marijke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very nice place to eat owned by friendly owners. Food was good quality and diversity. Portions were generous. We had a table outside on the patio with a view of Piscadera Bay...WoW. A band was playing music the night we were there...it made the experience more special.

A special thank you to the owner who offered pick-up and drop-off service to our little group (from Hilton hotel). This gesture was well appreciated.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4isabelleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

By far the best meal we had on the island for the 5 days we were there. I also over heard others at our hotel stating the same. Perfect South East Asian food and flavor, large portions and a wonderful view at sunset. If you are staying at the Hilton or Marriott resort, do yourself a favor and have at least one meal there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would return just for the amazing food and service”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

By far the best food and service we had on Curacao, very friendly owners ( even shared a recipe or two). Must go to the Thai night featured on Saturday, the chef is brilliant and very sweet.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aroyalpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tempo Doeloe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing