We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$197
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Scuba Lodge & Suites(Willemstad)
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$495
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$472
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avila Beach Hotel(Willemstad)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Curacao(Willemstad)
US$191
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
155
91
29
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
91
29
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking distancesplit levelglass windowsrestaurant gingertwo burner stovenice studiocoffee capsulesbars and restaurantscolonial styledipping poolsmall poolsoap and shampoosafe areasitting areaemma bridgeroom cleaninglocation is ideal
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2011

These apartments are OK but certainly not as billed on the web site. They are small and very basic. Certainly not VFM. In England you may describe them as a basic rustic charm, rural or croft. This holiday was a 60th birthday treat for my partner and I couldn't really hide my disappointment for the whole week.

On the plus side; they are well located and kept very clean and serviced every day. The welcome was friendly and the staff very helpful. What furniture there is are well made. However the apartments are sparingly furnished. No TV or radio. There is a modern kitchenette and fridge, and a small paint outside. Only a garment rail in the bedroom. No draw unit. The 'inside' gardens are pretty with a plunge pool.

The wireless Internet is intermittent, very slow and low signal between particularly between 7-9 p.m. We had to take the PC upstairs to logon. Although 25 dollars for the week.. I still resent paying for Internet connection.

The air condition and fan are situated in the bedroom upstairs (both noisy) and vital for the climate, hot and humid 365 days a year. This meant we spent most of the time there. We had to keep the fan on all night, otherwise the heat was unbearable.

There is no glass in the windows nor mosquito netting. The island is notorious for mozzies so we had to rely on creams, plug-ins, sprays and candles.

The paint is peeling off the walls, especially in the shower cubicle. The toilet had no natural or mechanical ventilation. The 'Dutch style' staircase is an absolute nightmare. Me and my partner are very able, but anyone with even minor mobility issues should not consider these apartments.

Our apartment was near the kitchen and Mundo Bizarro', so it was noisy at night and we had a few cockroaches and a rat.

There are many good quality hotels in Willemstad that offer more facilities centrally for the same price.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the restaurant!!!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietermaaiSmal, General Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Dear Keith,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. We are working very hard to ensure the best service for our guests. We regret your negative experience with the Caribbean climate.

The average size of our apartments is bigger than the standard hotel rooms, however some of our apartments are split level and thus might look smaller.

We regret you did no share your concerns during your stay, while we were able to solve some of these issues. We do have several styles and types of apartments and by knowing your concerns we could have shown you another apartment without a stairway, or not within distance from the restaurant Mundo Bizarro. By offering different styles of apartments it is our aim to meet all kind of guests expectations.

Since you have already checked out we regret we were not able to meet your expectations and cannot solve the inconvenience afterwards.

Regards,
Emiel Gerdes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed at the section of Tafelberg no 28 and 24. Charming atmosphere and clean rooms. Airco works good. Unfortunately no mosquito nets or any other repellant products offered. No privacy in apartment no 28 as shower and toilet have no door and the ceiling above the toilet is very very low, so need to be concious is you get up from the toilet. However the room is spacious and nice. Very smal swimming pool but nice for a cool down, nice wall painting and a little fountain for a peacefull moments. Location is on walking distance from downtown and close to bars and restaurants. For nice beaches and nightlife a car is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blossom28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We had a great spacious appartment, airconditioned, excellent dailly housekeeping, great location, luxurious/ trendy interior, in the area of pietermaai development very close to good bar/restaurant Mundo bizaro and jazz café Miles, new restaurant Ginger just opened.

Make sure you get a car to get to the beaches

Room Tip: Appartment behind office is good. À little bit noisy because of the workers in nearby area
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milkolisette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

At $100 per night the rooms are not expensive but there is a reason for that. Our first room was on the basement level, had no glass windows (the one shown on the website with glass windows is only available for long-term rent...) just shutters and when you opened them everybody could look into your room right from the street. With the shutters closed there was no daylight but still a lot of noise from outside (construction side nearby where they start working at 7am, neighborhood kids playing, air-condition, swimming-pool cleaning system). The terrace was tiny and uncomfortable (see picture). The room was also not big, very humid and had a strong damp smell, especially the bed. And on top of everything there were bedbugs. After complaining we were allowed to move to a new room without paying the usual cleaning charge of $25.

The new room had two levels, kitchen and living room on the ground floor without air-condition and bed room on the first floor with air-condition. There were still no glass windows so also quite dark and noisy but less humid. The terrace was bigger but had the air-condition ventilation right next to it (see picture) so you had to make a choice between a cooled apartment or a less noisy terrace. This apartment had no mosquito net around the bed, the bathroom mirror was tiny and without light and water from the shower was dripping through the ceiling from the first to the ground floor.

The management appreciated our feedback but seemed not too sorry for the inconvenience we experienced (especially the bedbugs bites which itched a lot). We expected a discount at least for the first two nights and got offered a WiFi card worth $25 (internet cost for one week).

The location is close to the city centre but a lot of houses in the neighborhood are falling apart (see picture, this is the house next door) and there are also a lot of poor people living there. My girlfriend did not feel safe walking around alone at night.

We stayed in a much nicer apartment for nearly the same price on Bonaire and will definitely pay up and go to a nicer place should we ever return to Curacao. If you like the low price, bring along some earplugs and low expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank newedge13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Just returned from Curacao and we stayed in one of the apartments of Pietermaai smal. Guess what..... we booked again for January!

We had a very mixed group ( a bachelor, a small family and us.. a fairly new married couple. All friends but all different needs!). The apartments was just what we needed. We had the luxury of a swimming pool right in front of our door, had air-conditioning, a fully kitted kitchen, private parking, cosy environment, friendly and helpful people and a lot more.
The location of Pietermaai is superb; We had a nice place to go out for dinner on walking distance ( about a 30sec walk), Mundo Bizarro and Miles, a jazz cafe, was just around the corner as well. Don't worry you do not hear any of the buzz from the cafe whilst in your apartment.

Also the apartments is on a 10 min walk from Punda ( the city centre and its beautiful harbour) and about a 15min walk from Otrabanda ( the other side of the harbour). I can actually go on and on.. but seriously if you are thinking about visiting Curacao ( which you should) than think about staying at Pietermaai smal. You won't be disappointed... we weren't!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marijke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews