We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$197
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Scuba Lodge & Suites(Willemstad)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Curacao(Willemstad)
Book now, pay at stay
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$460
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
155
91
29
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
91
29
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking distancesplit levelglass windowsrestaurant gingertwo burner stovenice studiocoffee capsulesbars and restaurantscolonial styledipping poolsmall poolsoap and shampoosafe areasitting areaemma bridgeroom cleaninglocation is ideal
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

i stayed there 3 nights last week and really enjoyed it. specially the fact that it is located in a residential area, walking distance from down town Willemstad and some really nice restaurants closeby (ginger, mundo bizarro etc.). More than enough parking space.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonders-Aruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilfred H, General Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your honest and very positive review ! We are glad you enjoyed our Apartments so much and especially like the fact that you enjoyed the surroundings so too. We hope to see you again soon in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay. There was noise from the building area next door, which was a bit annoying at times.

Our apartment was spacious and well equipped. We cooked at 'home' almost several times, which was a good option. The pool is small but enjoyable, and great for cooling down every now and then.

We were able to park at the street near Mundo Bizarro, which was close to our apartment.

We enjoyed our stay very much, and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diek v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilfred H, General Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Hello Diek,

Thank you for your review, and great to hear you enjoyed your stay!
We sincerely apologize for the noise during the day, coming from the construction works sometimes. A lot of the District's monuments are completely renovated so expect your possible future-stay to be even better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We booked this place because it seems quaint, affordable and not far from the main part of town. We also planned to cook rather than eat out most meals. We were very disappointed. When we arrived, the front desk clerk was very friendly but when she showed us our room, she said she could provide a mosquito net if needed. If she thought we'd need one, why did she have to ask? Who wants to be bitten? And from where would she hang it? She also pointed out the ocean view. True, except you had to look through the construction fencing and rubble to see it. Of the 8 slatted windows, 3 of them did not close properly. We rigged a kitchen knife to one to keep it shut against the majority of bugs. There was no microwave or oven, only 2 burners, therefore, limited cooking. There was no hot water in the sink in the kitchenette area or in the bathroom sink. When I asked how other guests washed the dishes, it was suggested that they must've heated water on the burners. Let's hope so. Dishes washed in cold water cannot be as clean as those washed in hot water.
The space in the bathroom was extremely limited, approximately 18 inches between the shower stall and sink. I knocked my arm every time I entered that area. And, because this was an attic style room, the ceiling was slanted such that I had to bend my head to climb into bed. Same problems with the toilet area in the bathroom.
The area in which this place is situated is "up and coming". Meaning that it could be a bit unsafe for single women at night if you walked in the wrong direction and, because there is no parking provided, you have to hope for the best when looking to park and hope that it is not too far to walk.
There ARE positives. Many of the rooms have lovely albeit tiny terrace areas. Not our room. The staff did try to help and offered us another room. At least this one had glass over the windows; again, no terrace area. We were also given a welcome drink which was nice. However, the reception is not manned at all times although there is a contact number for emergencies assuming you have phone service.
The building is charming but, for the price, it needs some changes to accommodate guests requiring an area to cook, hot water and room to move.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wegobeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed in apartment number 8 on 'Tafelsteeg'. I'd like to state the obvious before I begin with the review.

* You are in the Caribbean, it will be hot, even at night.
* AC will make noise, there isn't anyway around that except ear plugs.
* There are mosquitoes, you will be bit.
* If you want to stay in a hotel, with room service, hermetically sealed windows and no atmosphere then stay somewhere else.
* These are apartments, NOT hotels.
* Our room had no TV or radio, but then what are you doing watching TV when there is night life and beaches?

The apartments are converted houses. They are quite small (but larger than any hotel room your'll get). The windows don't have glass, they have slates, these allow the light in, but more importantly allow air (and a breeze) in.

The apartment was well appointed, they had a fridge, 2 ring stove, coffee machine, kettle and safe for valuables. The apartment had a couple of cosy chairs and small coffee table where we could play cards. There was also a small dining table with 2 chairs where you could eat, but we just lounged around instead.

The bathroom was good. there was no ventilation in the bathroom so we just had the door open after we showered etc. we didn't find this a problem.
The bedroom area was nice a 'rustic' with comfortable beds, side tables, clothes rack (which we needed for our wedding clothes) and cupboards for 'stuff'.
The rooms were cleaned and the used towels were replaced every day.
The staff were always helpful and friendly, they helped book excursions for us and sorted out our car hire. They have a private car park area where you can park the car (although it does get full, but parking on the road wasn't a problem).
There are security staff the patrol from around 7pm until 6am every day.

The down side, was that there is a lot of building work going on at the moment in the area, this isn't anything that the apartment manager can do anything about, and unless your going to spend the entire day in the apartment shouldn't be a problem.

We had only 2 issues:
1) the fire alarm went off (because the battery died). It wasn't replaced during the time we were there, but I got the feeling that was a problem with the maintenance crew more than the apartment manager as he was very surprised that it wasn't fixed when we reminded him.
2) the back door lock was stiff. This only meant that my wife couldn't open or close the back door. This looked like a problem with the lock bolt being installed incorrectly, again the manager said that it would be looked into when we left. I could see that they would have to take the door off and redo the whole lock to fix this, so I can understand why they didn't want to do this while we were staying there.

All in all, about what I expected. Check the website for the type of apartment you will get as there are lots of different types. If in doubt, phone and ask, the management team are very helpful. If we were to go back to Curacao we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Check the website for the type of apartment you will get as there are lots of different types. If in doubt, phone and ask, the management team are very helpful. They speak English, Dutch and Spanish (plus the local dialect).
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeniusCodeMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilfred99, Guest Relations Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for your honest and to-the-point review! We're very glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and correctly pointed out that indeed Pietermaai Apartments has a different feel/functionality than a hotel. We try to create such an atmosphere that guests can't find anywhere else on the island, in combination with the characteristics of the Pietermaai District we try to truly give them something unique.

Thanks again for your response !

The Pietermaai Apartments management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our apartment was very spacious, well appointed and quite comfortable. We had a basic kitchen with a mini fridge, two burner stove, all cookware needed, plates, utensils, glasses, etc., and a small coffee pot. There was also an ample wall safe. The bed was good size (queen or king), there was an accommodating dinner table with chairs and a sectional couch and all with room to spare.
The bathroom was modern with large stone pedestal sink, walk in (doorless) shower, glass bathroom door.....
Outside was a lovely public area with a three sectioned dipping pool. There are apparently several different apartments. The management team that were there while we stayed were very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Can only say we enjoyed our room near the office
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewartlane60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilfred H, General Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your review !

We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us, the facilities and our management team!
Of course we hope to welcome you again if you visit Curacao in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews