We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable”
Review of Curacao Zoo

Curacao Zoo
Ranked #84 of 109 things to do in Willemstad
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We are currently doing renovations: May First 2017 we celebrated the 75 Anniversary of our national ZOO, during the past 6 years major changes are occurring on our grounds. For example becoming a member of the species 360 global zoological database for the exchange and improvement of animal husbandry in captivity, we are also working on our accreditation to become a member of the global zoological organization. Our goals and mission for the future are to make of our national zoo a great area with international standards, this all cannot be completed only on the government funding, that’s why they are giving every person that visits the zoo the chance to adopt an animal or even an entire project. Upon request, we can give you an hour long educational tour. We also incorporated a social part to the development, giving a helping hand in education for our youth in the hands of the juvenile detention center, people with limitations are also very important in the development of our national ZOO, please inform yourself before your arrival of the current state, and eventually contact us for a private tour, so that you can admire the essence of the beautiful work being done. tours, can be scheduled during the week from Monday true Friday from 10AM till 2PM. For more information on our development please visit our website and click on our master plan icon.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adorable”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

The zoo is a adorable.. it has many room to grow it has new animals and is improving a lot.. the tour guide is amazing and the animals are adorable. There is an amazing parking space, awesome food and an awesome environment for kids..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Roosje146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    7
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome park.”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Improving, new animals, new activities, clean, secured, great parking space, excellent staff&volunteers, relaxing environment ♡

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank RoenaMeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing ....”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

As a local, I visit the Zoo regularly. True, they have had some really rough times, since they depend a lot on help from the "outside world", especially moneywise and the finish line is not in sight as yet. However, it is amazing to watch the growth and improvement in such a relatively short time. The management is outstanding and very professional, yet kind and always willing to listen and their priority is to create a good environment for the animals and flora plus a relaxed atmosphere for the visitors. And that is a lot of very hard work: every milestone reached, is a great victory. I admire the hardworking employees, all the volunteers and the love they have for this mutual goal: a beautiful Zoo on our island Curaçao ... !!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anitashavique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

It was fun . They are taking good care of the animals . It is worth it. Awesome . It is fun for tourist to enjoy our nature take picture of the animals and make some funny friends with some of the animals and employee . So I hope to see you all soon there boys and girls

Helpful?
3 Thank Danny747747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“work in progress with alot of love!”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This Zoo was amazing it seen some rough times but the people running it and caring for it really are working hard to better the lives of their inhabits.The Zoo is fund on donations.We glad donated they really care about about there animals there.This park has alot of improvement the staff strive for its already quint I feel great about the park the animals and staff.Worth the drive off the beaten path away from the commerical parks.Support the local wild life reserve and the people reserving it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ikeybird98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Curacao Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Curacao Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing