We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exeptional great museum”

Kura Hulanda Museum
Ranked #10 of 109 things to do in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exhibits trace Curaçaoans African roots and the legacy of the slave trade in the region.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“exeptional great museum”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Kura Hulanda is a really nice museum. Worth a visit. It shows a lot of items and drawings from the slavery period on curacao. There is also a lot from Africa. Outside the museum you can sit on a great terras to enjoy a drink. People visiting curacao should really visit this museum the first day to see what has happened.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gejah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    339
    117
    18
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lochristi, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slavery museum”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

this must be visited! a reminder of how cruel our history was...
i did feel very sad when leaving the building, it gave me awareness and respect for those who have sacrificed a lot (if not everything) for the good cause

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chantal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pay once - come back seven times”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Learning of the horrific slave history on Curacao was a bit overwhelming. Thinking about the atrocities that we as humans have inflicted on each other over the years was hard but I learned a lot and really enjoyed our personal tour guide though due to her accent she was really hard to understand at times. She gave us a thorough tour though and told us we could come back throughout the day as much as we wanted to to absorb everything and didn't have to read everything at once - which we did! We had the tour with her, went for lunch and toured other parts of the city and then returned. It was definitely and educational experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“eye opening”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

this museum is all about slavery , it was painful and so educational at once, its a take on slavery throughout the world and from centuries past to the civil war era, It includes all races and religions who were enslaved every where, very accurate , first rate museum,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VaDanagirltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The slave history building is a must see”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had expect this to be the usual history of the island type of museum with antique furniture etc. It has much more information starting with the evolution of man. The history of slavery building should be seen as a reminder of the past. It is shocking to think this prejudice was alive during out lifetimes and perhaps still exists today.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kura Hulanda Museum also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Kura Hulanda Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing