We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Worth a Visit”

Kura Hulanda Museum
Ranked #11 of 109 things to do in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exhibits trace Curaçaoans African roots and the legacy of the slave trade in the region.
Lake Forest, California
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth a Visit”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The locals refer to this museum as the "slavery museum". It really opens your eyes and makes you think. It can be quite disturbing, especially when you see the shackles and realize that a person had to endure such inhumane treatment. Between the shackles and going down into a replica of a ship, where the slaves were held, gave me the chills. This museum is very detailed and gives information about slavery, not just in Curacao, but around the world. I feel that everyone who visits Curacao should take the time to visit this museum. There are also a lot of replicas from Africa and much more to see.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank IslandLovinTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    346
    121
    21
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“exeptional great museum”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Kura Hulanda is a really nice museum. Worth a visit. It shows a lot of items and drawings from the slavery period on curacao. There is also a lot from Africa. Outside the museum you can sit on a great terras to enjoy a drink. People visiting curacao should really visit this museum the first day to see what has happened.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gejah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochristi, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slavery museum”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

this must be visited! a reminder of how cruel our history was...
i did feel very sad when leaving the building, it gave me awareness and respect for those who have sacrificed a lot (if not everything) for the good cause

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chantal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pay once - come back seven times”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Learning of the horrific slave history on Curacao was a bit overwhelming. Thinking about the atrocities that we as humans have inflicted on each other over the years was hard but I learned a lot and really enjoyed our personal tour guide though due to her accent she was really hard to understand at times. She gave us a thorough tour though and told us we could come back throughout the day as much as we wanted to to absorb everything and didn't have to read everything at once - which we did! We had the tour with her, went for lunch and toured other parts of the city and then returned. It was definitely and educational experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“eye opening”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

this museum is all about slavery , it was painful and so educational at once, its a take on slavery throughout the world and from centuries past to the civil war era, It includes all races and religions who were enslaved every where, very accurate , first rate museum,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VaDanagirltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kura Hulanda Museum also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Kura Hulanda Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing