We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Scharloo was charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Scharloo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Scharloo
Ranked #13 of 44 Willemstad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Hotel Scharloo was charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Quaint and charming, this renovated hotel is tucked away by the waterfront on a backstreet, but is close to the bridge that links to the shopping area. Small parlor with TV, fridge, sink and hotplate. Our room faced a lovely courtyard with lounging pool...steep staircase to upstairs rooms. Staff (Nelson, Nora, Everon) were friendly and helpful with directions, calling taxi and anything else you needed. Their manager, Ine, was a doll and took great pride in the property, especially sharing its colorful history.

Room Tip: Steep stairs to upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyRColoradoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    48
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
49
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

- just a short walk from the center
- very friendly and helpful staff
- nice rooms

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I stayed with my sister in Hotel Scharloo for 3 or 4 nights. When we booked the room, we happened to get the King Suite to the price of a normal room, as part of a special first-come-first-serve promotion.

The room was clean and spacious with a nice balcony overlooking the floating market. Air conditioned bed room, fan in living room. No hot water, but that's barely needed in that climate. An occasional cockroach was seen when we first entered the room and when we've forgotten food in the kitchen, but they didn't harass us at all.

Staff is superfriendly and helpful. Everything from booking activities, renting a car, calling taxis etc etc was handled without questions by one of the staff members.

The location is perfect for a more downtown focussed stay in Curaçao. It's almost smack in the middle of Punta where most of the attractions and good shopping are. It's also close to the bus station, so taking a bus to one of the beaches is no problem, and the trip to Mambo Beach takes about 15-20 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Hotel Scharloo is situated in a beautiful colonial building only minutes from the center of Willemstad. Our room was spacious and very tastefully renovated with the colonial feel still there. The airco worked fine but we prefer the fan, the beds were fine, the shower worked fine, although one should not expect a heat festival...but hey, these are the Tropics, so a lukewarm shower should be OK. The TV could show several Dutch channels besides a dozen international ones. Breakfast in the patio was a great start of the day, followed by hanging out in the lounge pool while the waitress friendly asked us if we would like more coffee...when we said that the fresh fruit from the market was a bit under taste, she actually went to the floating market opposite the hotel to find another supplier. The pineapple and melon and grapes the next morning tasted much better! Everon and Ina at the reception helped us with all our needs and questions, from hiring a car to booking a flight.

Hotel Scharloo, maybe not for the resort lovers but for those looking for a good price/quality ratio with a unique character so slose to the center of town...definitely recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldenzaal, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We had a fantastic time at Hotel Scharloo during our stay on Curacao. Fantastic location, nice pool to relax, good service, very friendly staff and nice breakfast. We had a upgrade from a standard room to a Queen Deluxe that even make our holiday better. Thanks guys for the great time at your hotel. We will come back. A lot better as the big resorts on Curacao with a lot better service! You need to experience this hotel if your going to Curacao!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richarddijksma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed here on the Saturday night of the jazz fest(Sept 3). We had no idea what to expect. We arrived late and had no problems checking in. Apparently the hotel was full that night and we were the last guests, because they knew exactly who we were when we arrived. FORGET ALL ELSE.... I LEFT MY DAVID YURMAN BRACELETS AT THE HOTEL. I NEVER CHECKED MY CELL BECAUSE OF INTERNATIONAL RATES. LONG AND SHORT OF IT, WHEN WE GOT BACK TO THE STATES, THE MGR-INA HAD CALLED MY CELL AND SAID SHE HAD THE BRACELETS. SHE SHIPPED THEM TO SOUTH CAROLINA. YES I WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN AND AGAIN. The rooms were cute and comfortable. Resort travelers beware, this is not your kind of hotel:-). Everyone else, why not, you are adventurous.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winegirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Excellent location, just a short walk over a pedestrian bridge to the centre of Willemstad (Punda) with shops and restaurants. Fascinating historical location and architecture, with Punda, Scharloo and Otrobanda (the 'other side' of a pontoon bridge) UNESCO-listed. Pleasant rooms and friendly staff who will organise a taxi (or haircut!). Free internet. Stayed 3 nights with a side trip in-between, and they looked after my suitcase while I was gone. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.5 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#23 of 33 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
#15 of 33 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
#18 of 33 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Plaza Hotel Curacao
#29 of 33 in Willemstad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scharloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scharloo

Property: Hotel Scharloo
Address: van den Brandhofstraat 12, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Scharloo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scharloo is an elegant Historic building; it has a cozy atmosphere and is beautifully located in the charming City of Willemstad. The hotel offers a stunning view over de quay with the floating market, and the multi-colored historical Dutch colonial style buildings. Hotel Scharloo is in walking distance of restaurants, terraces, shopping centre and entertainment, and the world famous floating bridge. The hotel has 20 rooms with all his comfort and luxury. All rooms have AIRCO, CABLE-TV, FREE WIFI, A safety-BOX, and a FRIDGE; Our DeLuxe rooms offer a separate dining room with fully equipped kitchen. The most rooms are located in the villa with all his historical details. In the enclosed garden you can relax in the great lounge swimming pool or on the loungers under need the black olive tree. Visitors also come to Curacao for the spectacular sandy beaches, scuba diving, sailing and other beach sports, these are all in the surrounding area of our Hotel. Also nearby is the bus stop, for fast frequent services with great value fares, or hire a car and explore the Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Scharloo Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing