We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay”
Review of Hotel Scharloo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Scharloo
Ranked #19 of 47 Willemstad B&B and Inns
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ideal place to stay”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Hotel Scharloo is full of character and a very nice place to stay, right in the heart of town and with in easy walking distance of everything. The room we had was clean and spacious and overlooked the pool area. Ine and the staff were friendly and very helpful and we had no complaints about anything.

It was our first time in Curacao and we enjoyed our stay. The best place to eat is The Old Market where you can eat local food at cheap prices and it's only half a mile from the hotel but it is not open in the evenings. Take the bus from the bus station (next to the old market) to the local beaches but get off at the Aquarium because you can enter the beaches for free at that end. Cabana Beach and Mambo Beach are lovely and the Aquarium right next door is worth a visit.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool area where you will have a veranda and a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank islandhiphopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    48
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
49
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sugarloaf
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Willemstad, Curacao is a great place to visit and the hotel Scharloo is located right in the heart of the town. The staff is super and I had a great room (room # 14) on the second floor. Never had to use the air conditioner and it was quiet. It is only a very short walk to the floating market (across the street, actually)to the ferry, bridge, and local bus stop. The Plasa Bieu at the end of the main street is a local eatery where there are at least eight stands of local cooks on one side of the building and on the opposite side are picnic tables (all under roof). The meals are delicious and very reasonable. Outside of this building is a vendor who makes fresh fruit drinks for a song.
Across the bridge about two blocks straight ahead is the local bus stop which I used for the airport ($1 US). Right on that strip is a bakery shop with the most delicious sugar donuts and sticky, cinnamon raisin buns in the world, again for a song. You simply will not taste anything better!!! Because I travel alone with a backpack, ordinary tourists would never experience or find this place (I'm 72 yrs. old). Walking the bridge is delightful and when it is moved to the side to let the larger ships go thru, one can take the ferry for free. When the bridge is in place the ferry does not operate. Just loved this island and I know you will also.

Room Tip: I prefer the upper rooms for air but some of them face a concrete wall so ask for one that faces an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

To start with, the hotel is very nice (old building in the centre of Willemstad) and the room was big and clean. We give them one star less for the problems we had on our arrival: we booked a transport from the airport via the hotel but the taxi wasn't there so we had to take a different cab to get to the hotel. Once there, we were "welcomed" by the night warden (it was about 8pm) that was almost as nice as Jack Torrance after a few weeks in the Overlook hotel. We entered our room and there was a terrible smell coming from the toilet but the night warden couldn't do anything so we had to sleep there basically without using the toilet.
The morning after we officially checked in and our room was changed, we've been upgraded to a bigger room that was nice and clean. Toilet was small but with everything and with a window so for the last 3 nights it was fine.
We rent a car with the assistance of the hotel manager and it was fine.
The hotel is recommendable but there should be someone in charge constantly, not only from 9am to 5pm

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The hotel was very clean and well kept. Hot Shower, nice bed. An air-conditioner that was a little too cold. haha, that never happens. I visited in the low season and everything was extremely quiet. The staff was very helpful with information and brochures. He also helped with confirming some tour arrangements i had previously arranged. This hotel is perfect to be within walking distance of Punda and even parts of Otra-Banda. Very good location for exploring the city. If you dont like the big corporate hotels, and enjoy a more historic hotel, this is the right place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agb_ctg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This small family hotel (run by a nice Dutch lady) is very conveniently located close to downtown Willemsstad, which you can easily explore on foot.

The rooms are quite ok. However you have to climb very steep stairs.
Also the rooms have no (glass) windows, only shutter. Which gives everything a very tropical look and feel. Luckily the noise of the airco blockes out all the noises.

Unfortunately there was something wrong with the warm water. And since Curacao locals are not known for their speed in fixing things, I showered in cold water for 3 days in a row.

Price and location are very good!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airportinhabitant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

If you want to stay in the center of Willemstad, here's a very good option. The hotel is located just 2 minutes walking from the floating market but it's still in quiet area. The hotel has two buildings, the main building has also sitting room with TV and PC to be used by guests. I stayed in the other building and I liked it.
Punda bus station is within 5 minutes walking. Note that there are two type of busses. Konvois look more like busses and the time table provided are for them. But Konvois are run quite infrequently. Instead Bus (which is mini-van) are run more frequently but at least I didn't find any timetables for them. I noticed that the best way was to just go to the bus station and I never had to wait for more than 5 minutes for the right Bus. The Otrobunda bus station is not that far away either, maybe 10 minutes walking.
My room was spacious and clean (although a bit basic but this didn't bother me). There's safety box which is free of charge to use. The hotel serves breakfast but you have to order it a day before and it costs 12 USD per person. Alternatively you can go to some cafe to have your breakfast or prepare yourself something. There's supermarket in about 5 minutes walking (50-100m from bus station on the De Ruyterkade road). There's small fridge in the room which can be used for your own staff. Note that tap water is drinkable in Curacao.
I stayed in Willemstad over Easter and during the holidays the town is simply dead: there's hardly even one restaurant open and almost all tourist shops are closed too. In the normal week days it's easy to find nice terrace restaurants within 5-10 minutes walking.
There's fan and air-conditioning in the room. The fan was almost silent and helped to keep the room temperature adequate during the night time.
Customers can use washing machine and this helped me a lot because I didn't have to carry so many clothes with me. The laundry dries in less than an hour in outside laundry rack.
The wlan worked superbly in all areas of the hotel.
The only negative thing that I had was the party in the next-door Villa Maria. The party started at around 9pm and lasted till 4am. The hotel staff could have warn us about this and perhaps even make sure that we have earplugs. I wonder if anyone was able to sleep because the music was played extremely loud and it felt like the party was just outside my room.

Room Tip: if you have problems in stairs, please ask for lower level rooms. The stairs are steep and narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OtS34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelScharloo, General Manager at Hotel Scharloo, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you very much for your nice words. Too bad you didn't ask our nightguard for the earplugs during the party at Villa Maria . We have them for our guests. And you are so right ; normally we know when there is a party going on and we tell our guests, but this time we didn't know about it.
So very sorry for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Our room was always clean, comfortable, and had plenty of sunlight pouring in. The staff was always available, though sometimes you would have to search the grounds for them. The 'grounds' were always very clean and well kept. Very attractive to walk around on. There is a small, jacuzzi size pool, free parking, and free computer/wifi access. We never felt unsafe at the hotel. There were gates that locked, rooms that locked from the inside (with key) and visible security cameras. Yes, the hotel seems to be in a "sketchy" area. This is because you have to go down a funny little alley to get to the hotel. Then again, you have to realize that MOST of the island has "funny little alleys" as opposed to typical, wide open 'streets.' The location was great, a few minutes walk from 'town.' and the pontoon bridge; and a few minutes drive to the best beaches! My only suggestions to the hotel would be: 1) put an alarm clock in each room (or at least a regular clock!) 2) put at least a few paper napkins in the room for messes and spills 3) put a light blanket in each room for those of us who are always colder than their significant others hehe. I think these are fairly minor requests (especially from a fairly experienced, picky traveler). The only people who should *not* stay here are those who are not willing to be open minded about staying at a 'traditional' hotel right on a main road. And if that's you, well, you probably won't like Curacao very much, as there's not much that goes on on the main roads!

Room Tip: We had a 'suite' with kichenette (the fridge came in handy!) If I came again, I would ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misha11417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.3 mi away
Sonesta Kura Hulanda Village & Spa
0.3 mi away
E M City Hotel
E M City Hotel
#31 of 32 in Willemstad
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
#15 of 32 in Willemstad
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Suites Curacao
City Suites Curacao
#8 of 47 in Willemstad
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Academy Hotel Curacao
Academy Hotel Curacao
#57 of 92 in Willemstad
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scharloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scharloo

Property: Hotel Scharloo
Address: van den Brandhofstraat 12, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Scharloo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scharloo is an elegant Historic building; it has a cozy atmosphere and is beautifully located in the charming City of Willemstad. The hotel offers a stunning view over de quay with the floating market, and the multi-colored historical Dutch colonial style buildings. Hotel Scharloo is in walking distance of restaurants, terraces, shopping centre and entertainment, and the world famous floating bridge. The hotel has 20 rooms with all his comfort and luxury. All rooms have AIRCO, CABLE-TV, FREE WIFI, A safety-BOX, and a FRIDGE; Our DeLuxe rooms offer a separate dining room with fully equipped kitchen. The most rooms are located in the villa with all his historical details. In the enclosed garden you can relax in the great lounge swimming pool or on the loungers under need the black olive tree. Visitors also come to Curacao for the spectacular sandy beaches, scuba diving, sailing and other beach sports, these are all in the surrounding area of our Hotel. Also nearby is the bus stop, for fast frequent services with great value fares, or hire a car and explore the Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Scharloo Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing