We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any more authentic Curaçao than this!”
Review of Plaza Bieu

Plaza Bieu
Ranked #15 of 296 Restaurants in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Plasa Bieu is near the Old Market, just beyond the Queen Wilhelmina footbridge and down the street from the Floating Market.
Reviewed 7 February 2014

As a Curaçao native, Plaza is the first eating place I flock to when back on the island. Nowhere can you eat our "krioyo" food prepared more deliciously, or more authentically. Make sure you go to Yvonne, don't even bother trying the other sellers, and have yourself a feast:
- Piska ku funchi ku banana hasá (ask for extra sous krioyo on the side)
- Kabritu stoba ku aros moro and banana hasá
- Steak'i wea
- Tutu!!!
Omg, salivating just thinking about it.
And the atmosphere is just great: you share a big table with whoever happens to be sitting there already. Make sure you sit at one of the tables closest to the doors, as it gets HOT in there.
Only open for lunch btw, and not open on Sundays!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tashefraiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 330 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is a great place for lunch. It seems to be 50/50 locals/tourists. It's actually a number of restaurants. You can tell them apart by the table cloths and the vests that the servers wear. So when you walk in walk all the way to the end and check out all the menus then pick the place you want to eat. All the prices were very reasonable we ate at the second restaurant and had the chicken and the fish. Both were wonderful, and came with a little spicy salad (well ok lettuce) and rice and beans. The portions are huge. Super yummy. If your by the floating market, don't miss this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grumpyj56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

spent five days on a quick holiday to curacao, three of them spent in willemstad. i ate lunch here two times, it would have been three, but sadly i just missed out on lunch on the first day (closes at 330pm). in any case, this is the perfect place to try local eats and drinks. take a look through and see what specials they have for the day, i tried iguana for the first time here (does not taste like chicken, no matter what anyone says)! it's super delicious and cheap. everyone is super polite and courteous. ps...not all vendors serve beer, only one of two of them have it in this venue! looking forward to visiting (and eating) here again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank girlflyingsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at Plaza Bieu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear customer,

Even though you did not mention the name of my restaurant, I remember you told me that same thing, at my restaurant "Grasia Di Dios". The more customers write about us, the more international tourist may really when in Curacao come and eat at our restaurant, at Plasa Bieu.

We thank you for having passed a memorable day at our restaurant
We hope you tell more people about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The 'vegetarian' label here is misleading: you would think a dish called 'stewed cucumber' is vegetarian, wouldn't you? Instead, it featured mostly some uncertain meat - maybe we got the stewed goat instead? The stewed chicken was chicken, mostly dark meat chicken. Flavor was very ordinary, so overall a large disappointment for us.

Thank capeporpoise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at Plaza Bieu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear customer,

In africa and the caribbean, you would find a type of cucumber named Cucumis Sativus.
WE would like to ask you to look it up on the internet so would understand the following explanation; We at Grasia di Dios would never misinform a customer. Even though we do not know exactly where you ate, the type of cucumber you will see on internet is completely different than the regularly known cucumbers used as vegetables. The cucumbers in question are opened, the seeds taken out, including the white "meat". Then what remains after that proces, is the skin. That skin is stewed, along with, salted beef, salted beef ribs, beef, and pigtail.

That meal can never be presented as vegetarian meal with us. In our concept vegetarian means "no meat"
As to the chicken, you can obtain chicken that color, by first frying it in honey, and then stew it, or stewing it with mushroom sauce.

We hope to have been of some help to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

If you have ever watched food network and/or you consider yourself a "Foodie" don't miss this place… It's where the "magic" of home "criollo" cooking happens. We ate two times at Plaza Bieu and it was INCREDIBLE. For those that need to experice fancy seating, A/C and 4-star accommodations skip this place, but if good FOOD is your thing than head on over to Plaza Bieu.

Each day 4-5 small kitchens prepare their typical "criollo" dishes and they are magic! The quality is great and portions are plentiful. It's also a "cheap lunch" as this is where the locals eat. If you head over at lunch time you may need to make a line, but it is well worth it. We ate day one at the first "kitchen" by the entrance and the second day at "Gracias a Dios". My 4 year old LOVED the food - go in shorts and sandals and bring your appetite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank C.A.P.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at Plaza Bieu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear customer,

We thank you for honoring us in such a way. We know that there are great numbers of folks, who read comments placed on trip adviser. We at Grasia Di Dios take great care in studying peoples habits and cultures, seeking how to help families with children getting their children to eat, and to feel comfortable the way we treat their kids. It personally gives us great satisfaction to have families, and those with kids feel happy seeing their kids enjoy themselves with us.
We hope to meet many prospective friends and families, so we might endeavor to help them and their kids enjoy eating with us.

Also to singles and everybody wishing to eat with us, come and invite us to serve you with love and care

Once again thank you.

John Tweed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plaza Bieu also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Plaza Bieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing