We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local flavor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf and Turf

Surf and Turf
Ranked #215 of 269 Restaurants in Willemstad
Price range: US$11 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: NEW Surf and Turf serves fresh krioyo and fish dishes for a reasonable price. We have an unique beach terrace where you can sit and watch the sun go down, while enjoying your meal. NEW Surf and Turf has had a complete makeover and new management since september 9, 2015. We restyled the restaurant, but kept the original laid back atmosphere intact Our new management is the same that exploited the Waterfront Terrace at Boca Sint Michiel, a.k.a.Boca Sami (Baby, Hans and Perry), they took their menu to NEW Surf & Turf.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Local flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Fresh fish, by the sea, friendly people. The lion fish was outstanding an we were introduced to Funchi.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tjauction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    13
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Try the Lionfish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Accommodated our large group who just walked down the beach and showed up. Very reasonably priced, good food and service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheMachead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forde, Norway
Level Contributor
225 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“todays Breakfast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

4 man working there, the woman din,t show up,
they could not make food or drinks, coffee was not available.
Tea was not possible too, but after instructions they bouled hot water.
After a tought awa lemonci was possible, hamburger without bread too...
On the reclamebords stands " Breakfast"
A lot of flies , not uncommon but the special is that none of this two restauranst (incl Seaside terrace) care about cleaning things around and on the beach, by the beach where overfilled carbitscontainer, rotting fish you can smell all the way , and extrements from poss. humans for several days. One of the last free beaches , but nobody cares !
I hope you enjoy your lunch and dinner special in the dark !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Corelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We even didn't order”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

As well as the waiter was very friendly and the location is nice (directly at the beach) we didnt feel comfortable about this place from the first moment on, which started with the invasive way, the restaurant's owner forced us, promptly after having left the car, to visit his establishment.

After we had a look in the very old and dirty menu, we decided to leave this place. Unless we havn't ate or drink anything at "Surf and Turf" and therefore definitly not being able to rate this restaurant properly, we would like to give its owners some very basic advices on this way, as they were very friendly, to avoid such situations in the future.

- Don't pick up your guests at the parking area. If they want to join you, they will come by there own.
- Bring a clean and updated menu with food AND drinks.
- Provide some kind of table decoration, like candles, table clothing, napkins etc.
- Switch off the TV.
- Switch on some lovely carribean music.
- Prepare the nice tables at the beach for your guests.
- Illuminate the tables at the beach.

Not required to say, that you MUST provide good and fresh food as well as a clean location.

We wish the restaurant's owner all the best and will come back on our next trip to Curaçao.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank endorphine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanaken, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice local place with a problem.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

It's a nice local place on the beach, the people are very friendly.
The food is not very good but also not bad. The prices are cheap.
You can sit very nice on the beach, we were there in night.
But the beach (and under the tables) it was full of rats.....
They have to solve that problem!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank missestera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Surf and Turf also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Surf and Turf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing