We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“East Side Tour”
Review of Irie Tours

Irie Tours
Ranked #10 of 110 Tours in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our personal Touch & Love for Curacao make our Tours the best!! Irie Tours is well-known for offering: Safe & High quality excursions Personalized & professional guided tours We cater small as well as large groups We have a wide variety of fun tours to offer, from east to west and everything in between. From the planning stage, to the day of your trip and beyond, our team will do everything we can to ensure you have a wonderful island vacation! We do this by making our tours fun and treating customers like family! And on top of it all, we are extremely proud and honored to have received the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 4 years in a row since 2013. The Irie Tours office is located beneath Restaurant De Gouverneur, right in front of the ferry station on the Otrobanda side of town. Our 2nd office is located in the Renaissance Hotel on the 2nd floor. this office is open every day of the week from 9:00am - 5:00 pm
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Sykesville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“East Side Tour”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

we were in Curacao for a stop on our cruise. we were a large group and Irie did a great job keeping us all together on the same bus. Sylvian was our guide and he was funny and informative. enjoyed our time at the beach (although, beware, the tour covers the cost to enter the beach, not to use any chairs. that costs extra!) and the Curacao rum factory. Sylvian had beer (Heineken) and water for us in the back

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    81
    10
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoschton, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Day with Irie”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a group of six that joined Ariel and Aiysha for the East Side tour. This tour was very informative and we got some great pictures. Ariel's love for his island was evident throughout the whole tour. The complimentary drinks were an added bonus. We felt like we were able to get a good glimpse of Curacao and hope to go back soon!

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“East Side Tour - Great Deal”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We did the East Side Tour our first day in Curacao- It was a great way to see some sights on the island that you otherwise may not be able to see. Sadira was prompt in responding to our emails and accommodating our group. Eddie our tour guide was great, and very informative. He is very knowledgable about the island. We enjoyed seeing the workers at the Blue Curacao liqueur distillery bottle the liqueur, and loved tasting the different flavors at the end. The Sea Aquarium beach is nice, with lots of different bars and you have time there to do as you please.

For 25 dollars per person, including beer, water, and soft drinks on the bus, this is a great deal. We highly recommend Irie Tours!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, GA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love Curacao and Irie Tours!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We absolutely fell in love with beautiful Curacao and, with the help of Ariel and Aisha from Irie Tours, we had a great visit! We visited off of the Carnival Breeze, where we quickly found the folks from Irie and boarded the bus to see this beautiful island. Ariel shared his knowledge of his beloved island and Aisha made sure that we didn't go thirsty. The island was full of activity the day of our visit, as The Netherlands were in the semifinals at the World Cup. As a result, Ariel adjusted the tour, so that we could spend time at a less crowded beach. I was thoroughly impressed with the customer service and highly recommend their services. I would guess that a similar tour through the cruise excursion desk would cost double, if not more, than what we paid for our day with Ariel and Aisha, and I'm confident that we got the better deal all the way around!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank linlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irie Tours C, Runner at Irie Tours, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks a lot for the great review!! We are so happy to hear that you had a great time on the tour with us!
Take care and hope to see you again on the island!

Aisha & Ariel :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best deal for a short island tour...do it!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We took the Irie East Side tour; booked on our own off the Carnival Freedom. Their e-mail communication was prompt and detailed. We had not problem finding our self-booked tour at the dock as they held up signs. The driver was so very nice (Sylvan) and provided us with drinks as we waited for the rest of the tour bus to fill.

For the price, Irie is an amazing deal. An informative tour of the east side; Sylvan would slow down or pause for photo opportunities (even if cars behind him beeped/honked!). Knew the area very well, spoke english and spanish (along with two other languages) and was SUPER friendly, I think he knew someone at every street corner and beeped and waved! He went out of his way to ensure we had an enjoyable, informative tour.

I personally did not care to much about the distillery, but it is informative and I learned some things about the making of curacao liqueur and the island history. Sylvan made it clear we would be there 15-20 minutes, one couple did not come out for 40 minutes and we all had to wait (not his fault). Even after that we left and had to stop because two MORE people were even later (their fellow travelers had told Sylvan to go on, they had met up with someone else).

The Sea Aquarium Beach was crowded, we were on the late tour. There is a bar about every 10 feet, if you want! The beach was nice with a diving platform in the middle. We did not plan on swimming and caught up on home with the free wi-fi and shady seating. We never did figure out just where the actual Sea Aquarium was, but there was enough to do in the time we had. There is a lot of construction going on. If I was going to curacao just for a beach, I would not go to this one, too crowded; unless you enjoy the bar/music. We are more of a nature loving family.

They dropped us off at the Rift Fort area with plenty of time to shop at the pier. (we found most of the items sold here on Aruba for cheaper).

A great tour, and a great value....do it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Irie Tours also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Irie Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing