We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Visited for diner. Fine dining for a matching price. Perhaps not cheap, but certainly good. Menu is a bit limited, but the wines are excellent.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lukas_Vermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

A nice secluded hotel with spacious rooms in a beautiful garden, a bit outside the mainstream tourist environment (one hour walk from centre of Willemstad). Good food and a very helpful staff, especially the reception.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rein G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Floris Suites is a wonderful hotel and we were treated very well. Our accomodations were very nice. The staff is very professional and courteous. They care about their hotel and the guests. The grounds are lovely and the kitchen amenities such as a stove, microwave, full refrigerator, place settings, were indeed a pleasant surprise. In our two night stay we experienced professionalism and warmth from the front desk to the bar to the dining room. It is a quiet venue away from the hustle and bustle of town life and the casinos. If that is what you like you will be very pleased at Floris Suites. The flat screen HD TVs and free wi-fi alone will bring us back to this property. If you go - be sure and say hello to Shariluska -- she very nice with smile.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is a beautiful luxury hotel just a quick drive from Willwemstad. The rooms are beautiful, technology up to date, and there is a WONDERFUL restaurant on sight (to bad however, that some guests can't figure out that you do not go to a formal restaurant in ragged shorts and t-shirts). Plusses: The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. They are just awesome. The pool is quite nice. The decor is nice as well, though at times a bit sterile. On the downside, the private beach is so-so, with snorkeling, but not good snorkeling. That is a shame, in that Curacao is a diving/snorkeling paradise. Also, the feel is a bit...homogenized. No, you don't, thankfully, have the casino crowd there, but really, when you stay on the campus, you might as well be in the united states. There is nothing to remind you that you are overseas, and there is a beautiful island culture to explore. Kitchen facilities in the room were adequate, but sparse on utensils, silverware. This was our second time to the island. Last time we stayed in the more low key back Westpunt area. When we go back again, that is probably where we will stay, as we tend to be very self sufficient tourists, who rent a car, make our own meals, and love to explore. Still, none of that is the fault of Floris. Just a matter of different tastes. This is a great place if, for you, vacation is all about being pampered.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tedster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Tedster1

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad you found the property nice and the staff very accomodating. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Floris Suites is a great hotel for those travelers that like to have great amenities without the casino crowd and even an ability to make a few of your own meals. it is located within a few minutes drive of Willemstad on a fairly quiet bay. For those travelers who are looking for a little more immersion into the local culture, who are self sufficient and not into the tourist areas, and want to make many of their own meals, the hotel might not be what they're looking for.

This was our second trip to Curacao and second time to rent a car on the island. Our first trip we stayed in the Westpunt area which is definitely more low key, away from the casino crowds and tourists and more to the liking of those wanting to dive and snorkel.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and after a few requests for pans and knives and other basic kitchen essentials we were able to make a few of our meals. The grounds are lovely and filled with lizards, birds and beautiful vegetation. Sjallots the hotel's main restaurant makes wonderful meals and there are plenty of places to grab drinks while lounging at the pool or in the lobby.

While they have WiFi on sight or room didn't get good reception so we spent a bit of time in the lobby catching on on things back home.

They are not located on the beach but they say they have a private beach just a short walk away with restaurant on sight. It is a small beach and it is open to the public who pay a fee to use it and eat at the restaurant, so it was very crowded on the weekend. In my opinion you will want a car to explore some of Curacao's many other beaches and snorkeling spots.

So overall I would recommend the hotel to those looking for a good vacation near the tourist hotspots and Willemstad. For those wanting to get away from those areas look at Westpunt. I would also highly recommend renting a car with GPS. It seems there is always road construction on the island and the GPS came in very handy for rerouting and especially for getting over to the sights east of Willemstad.

Room Tip: I would assume the closer you are to the lobby the better your chances of WiFi in your room. Those r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Glenda R.

Thank you so much for your detailed review. Thank you for staying at Floris Suite.
We have upgraded our WIFI throughout the property and reach is very good now and above all it remains free.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I was with my wife for 5 days in this hotel. The hotel could have 5/5 but details makes them to have 3/5 in the rating.

At arrival I notified that the refrigerator had bad smell and it wasn't cooling, they told be that it will be checked. Next day in the morning I requested again to check the refrigerator because I had food inside and there was bad smell and not cooling. After come to the beach in the afternoon, nobody checked it and then I complaint again to front desk. Next morning the milk in the refrigerator was damaged, I complaint again and asked to change the room and requested milk to have breakfast. They did it, I received another room with microwave damaged (you can see it in the picture).

Another day, they took the table from the balcony to an event in the ballroom, so I couldn't have breakfast with my wife.

I mean that if a guest has a complaint after two days requesting check the refrigerator, at least they could offer us a breakfast in the restaurant because my food was damaged because of their negligence.

The pool was ok and the room is big and confortable, air conditioning was working ok, is a good choice in Willemstad. The beach is not good, is better if you rent a car because next the hotel there are not too much choices to have dinner. I didn't use the hotel restaurant so I cannot offer a review of the restaurant.

Is good to remark that there are not 100% blackout courtains, because of the room design, only one side has blackout, the other side has only clear courtains and

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joansh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Joansh,


Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us. We are glad you mostly enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback on improvements that can be made.
We hope to be able to welcome you back some time in the future when we will certainly pay attention to everything in great detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I love this hotel. The staff are great, the reservation department flawless and the grounds and setting, magical. The pool is very pretty and serene.The apothocaries in the room are luxurious. I love the soap! Some of the rooms need a little updating. Also for the first time I woke to the smell of the oil refinery in my room. This is not a Floris issue but an occurence on island, depending on the wind direction. The property is 15 minutes from the airport so my go to spot for overnights which are often.

I love eating at the top level bar. Their wine is divine and their menu (the pasta) is to die for. Watched NCAA listening to the peeper frogs.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caribchakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Caribchakita,

Thank you for your repeat visits to Floris in Curacao.
We are glad you return to us time after time. It is very much appreciated.
We will continue to work hard to make improvements and to keep up the good service to our guests.
We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
2.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
688 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
4.9 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 32 in Willemstad
365 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Curacao
Hilton Curacao
#15 of 32 in Willemstad
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club

Address: Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#7 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: £87 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Floris Suite Hotel-Spa & Beach Club is for guests 18 years and older and has a refreshing blend of comfort and contemporary design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floris Hotel Willemstad
Hotel Floris Suite
Floris Suite Willemstad
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing