We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was not spoiled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I was not spoiled”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The shirts of the staff say "Let me spoil you." Our accommodations were more like "Let us soil you." The duvet cover was stained. The sofa and chairs upholstery was worn and a little dingy. The bed had a night stand and lamp only on one side so no reading in bed for one of us. The place was almost deserted yet we were housed in a room down a dark corridor.

The patio was nice except that the neighbors left plates of food on their table and it was still there the next day. Also, the webbing on one of the patio chairs was falling apart.

We had a junior suite and the kitchen area was adequate for our needs: clean and functional refrigerator that wasn't too noisy to sleep near. We wore earplugs. The kitchenware was clean and adequate though the coffee cups a little small for our taste.

We were well taken care of at the pool bar the day we came in and needed lunch in a hurry. Also, the server at the bar pointed us to a nice restaurant in downtown Willemstad for dinner.

The beach, shared with the Hilton across the street, was lovely and the water delicious. Get there early if you want a chair in the shade.

Room Tip: Avoid room 42 unless you don't need two night stands and two bedside lamps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahS1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear SarahS,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are glad you liked many of the services and products provided.
We have a lovely new beach for our guests in addition to the existing one. We would have gladly upgraded you to one of our Royal One- Bedroom suites if we had know of your concerns while still with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    294
    123
    44
    26
See reviews for
63
457
70
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitewater, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

There were 5 things that made it lessor of a really good experience.
1) We waited an hour plus for their recommended transportation to the hotel from the airport
2) Bathroom lighting was to dim for putting on makeup and shaving.
3) No clocks in the suite. That includes the bedroom.
4) Shuttle to the beach if your willing to wait an hour to get picked up from the beach after you call..
5) Two nice flat screen TV's but only one worked.
All of these were pointed out to the Operations Manager during our first full day at a welcome party and he assured us that all would be taken care of immediately. If they would have taken care of the lighting (larger wattage bulbs), clock for the bedroom and real shuttle service.as we were assured by them they would it might have squeaked a higher rating. By no means a disaster and so easy to fix.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Dan D,

Thank you for your feedback and thank you for your visit.
As a hotel we are not allowed to pick up guests from the airport and therefore our guests are using normally a taxi or a pre-arranged (cheaper) service. We are sorry to hear you had to wait longer than desired however that was totally out of our control. We are sorry the TV in the living room had no signal. We had to run new cabling to fix the issue and that was done as soon as we could. We did look at your lighting in the bathroom and the fixtures carry the brightest bulbs available. We do not have many requests for clocks but will keep some at hand for future requests. We send our shuttle to the beach (a short walk from the hotel) as soon as we can. The same shuttle also services the runs to the city. We are sorry you had to wait. We will use your feedback to make sure our future guests receive the best service and product possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
245 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Just returned from a wonderful several days at this charming hotel in Curacao, about a couple of miles outside of Willemstad, the capital. Low scale with great flora and fauna throughout the property. Big rooms, all with a mini-kitchen and knock out drapes. Only complaint was the gym needed a little help - but not to be afraid, plans are under way to demo the gym and ajoining rooms to make this into a modern day spa with workout facility in 2013.
The help could not have been more into their "LET ME SPOIL YOU" attitude, not the normal Caribbean scene at other islands/properties. Great for those that like NOT to have kids around since they went to an over 18 years old policy at the beginning of this year. They have beach property within walking distance; public beach with bar/restaurant and the Hilton and Marriott are across the way. Go and chill out/enjoy. I did!

Room Tip: Around the pool area would be a quiet choice, but not a bad room to be had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJBradachNaples_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear DJBradach,

Thank you so much for your review. We are honored to "Spoil You" during your stay. That is our motto and goal each and every day. Our "Spoil Me" plan includes internet access that is: secure, reliable, fast, and free, Shuttle service to town, two private beaches with chairs and towels, news papers, Free Friday happy Hour, etc. We are developing a Spa with updated gym as we speak. We hope to be able to show you next time you will visit FLORIS, Curacao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

A good small hotel with a beautiful private beach a couple of minutes walk away ( there is also a shuttle bus to it). The staff are very friendly and helpful , The room was very large and comfortable if a bit outdated. The bed only had one side table and no clock but was very large and comfortable. The pirate bay is a fantastic place to eat with beautiful views and sunsets. The food there was great - and there is a happy hour every day! The cleaning of the room could have been better.. Breakfast could have also been better - I would have preferred to have an alternative to the fatty rolls . I would definitely return

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchies9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Dutchies9,

Thank you for your review. Much appreciated. We are glad you liked the hotel and our private beaches. Every day we make improvements on our operations including an upgraded breakfast and services. We thank you for your feedback and hope to be able to welcome you back some time in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples FL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Yes, the lobby is upscale and modern - you think that you are in South Beach, Miami. Great tropical breezes, nice seating. We were upgraded a room without asking! Nice rooms, great kitchen area, bed was wonderful. The housekeeping was not wonderful. We were there with a professional group. The showers were never cleaned, maybe the sinks were wiped down. The kitchen was always clean and tidy. If they tell you garden view, it just means first floor, plants around patio. We received an American breakfast with our room which was very nice - fresh pastries, juice (canned) and eggs w/bacon, sausage or cheese. More than enough to keep you full. I'll write about dinner under restaurants...that was another story. If you get a continental breakfast it is just a basket of pastries, juice & coffee. No changes. I asked for fresh fruit one day and was charged $4.00 for a small serving.
They run a shuttle into town (10-12 minutes) but will only do it twice a day 9 AM and 4 PM. They refused other times. They will call you a cab. $15 each way. The good will they could create by running a shuttle once an hour into town and return would live up to their shirts that say "We want to spoil you". Would I return? Not at our group rate of $179 or without renting a car - you are out in the "boonies". Were they pleasant? yes. Was the pool nice? yes. Walk to the beach was fine & safe - good snorkeling.

Room Tip: Don't know
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UniqueTraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear UniqueTraveler,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are glad you listed so many posive things. We took note of your recommendations as well. We would like to do more than two shuttle runs a day to the city but government regulations prohibit us from doing so. We thank you for staying at Floris, Curacao and hope to see you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I came across the Floris through one of the Curacao tourism sites and was attracted to its modern and simple aesthetic. The negative reviews on Trip Advisor did give me some pause and I would've considered other hotels had the travel booking site not charged upfront for the stay. This is not a luxury hotel as it is advertised (and I have stayed at a Ritz Carlton and Kempinski Hotels in other countries so I can tell the difference.)

It depends what you are looking for in a hotel. My husband and I basically spent most of our time outdoors on the beach and other island excursions so we only spent time at the hotel to sleep, shower, change and have breakfast. However, if you plan to stay more than half the time at the hotel and expect more from your stay, here are a few observations to consider:

Pluses:

The location (15-20 minutes away from Hato Airport; 10-15 mins. drive to Otrabanda and Punda, where the shopping district, restaurants, art galleries and museums are located; 30-45 mins. drive to the nicer beaches like Playas Cas Abao, Kenepa, Porto Marie and others). The hotel is located in Piscadera Bay where some of the resort hotels such as the Hilton and Marriott are located as well. A car (and a good map or GPS!) is necessary to get around the island as public transportation is not very reliable and the nicer beaches are much further out (although there is a small beach called Pirate's Bay within short walking distance from the hotel).

The hotel is located in a relatively quiet area in the island and we did not have any safety concerns while staying there.

Spacious rooms. The junior suites either have a garden view or pool view. Ample closet space. A mini-kitchen with a fridge, microwave and a stovetop. The bathroom is spacious as well - no bathtub just a shower.

Free and reliable wi-fi access. Free parking.

Nicely designed property with a lush tropical garden and lovely pool. You can hear the birds chirping in the morning.

Check in and check out were efficient. In general, the staff was friendly and we did not encounter any issues.

It doesn't have a casino.

Minuses:

Cleanliness/maintenance (or lack thereof): There was a layer of dust in the room (e.g. in the night tables, coffee table, lamp shade), and stains in the sofa and the curtains (considering this was a non-smoking room). The dustiness and stains showed even more because the room is designed in white. There was mildew in the tiles in the bathroom and they needed a good brushing. Some of the fixtures in the bathroom seemed to be falling apart like the hook that was used to hang the hair dryer, and the bathroom sink had some trouble draining. Housekeeping did come in daily to change the towels, make the beds, etc. but I do think there were some shortcuts to the process. There were a few instances were we had left a few used coffee cups and glasses in the sink and they weren't cleaned when we returned. A "luxury" hotel like this shouldn't expect its guest to do the dishes while on vacation or even have to ask for something so basic to get done!

Restaurant/Bar:

We only ate at the restaurant for breakfast. I would also agree with a previous reviewer here about the lack of quality and variety in the breakfast, as well as the slow service. A continental breakfast consisted of a sorry-looking croissant, danish and a few slices of white bread with no eggs or anything else included. The other items on the menu were also on the pricey side but mediocre. It also took a while for the staff to clear the tables so if you were coming in at a later time for breakfast it would be hard to find an available clean table.

The Floris has a lot of potential but the lack of attention to detail can be a turn off. There have been some negative reviews about this place before. My overall impression based on my experience is that it is not as bad as others have described it but it is not awesome and does not receive high marks either. Hotel management needs to learn from these reviews and take them to heart because the Floris can easily become one of those hotels that continue to decline in quality as years pass.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are those that are tucked and further away from the shared spaces such as the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karslima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Karslima,

Thank you so much for your detailed review. We are glad you liked so many things such as our free, fast and reliable internet. Eventhough we do not have a Casino inside our hotel there is one of the best casino's just across the street. The Curacao Casino. We took note of your other observations and we will work hard everyday to improve our product and services. We thank you for staying and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodside, Ny
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The staff at Floris Suite Hotel are unsurpassed in their professionalism and attentiveness while the facilities and amenities are substantial and well maintained. The location is perfect and the private Pirate Bay Beach Club access rounds out the full Caribbean experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear JosephB,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. Every day our staff makes a new beginning with making sure all our guests needs are well taken care of. We are glad you were our guest. We hope to see you back some time in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
2.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
600 reviews
5.0 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
329 reviews
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Curacao
Hilton Curacao
#16 of 32 in Willemstad
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club

Property: Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
Address: Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#7 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#7 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Floris Suite Hotel-Spa & Beach Club is for guests 18 years and older and has a refreshing blend of comfort and contemporary design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floris Hotel Willemstad
Hotel Floris Suite
Floris Suite Willemstad
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing