We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the tourist track”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Off the tourist track”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

If you don't like the crowded feeling of big beach hotels, and if you prefer to be a bit off the known beaten tourist routes, this hotel is perfect for you.

It is located about 15 minutes by car from the centre of Willemstad, but in a road that leads to scenic beaches further up the coast. Rent a car, and drive around, it is worth it.

The Hotel's beach is a 5 minute walk away, crossing a big road. It shares the beach with the Hilton Hotel. But the side where most of the Floris guests are, are not as crowded and rowdy as the main Hilton beach. The beach is small, private and there is enough swimming and snorkeling possibilities.

We stayed for almost 3 weeks in Floris. Although we really enjoyed our stay, it would be unfair and impossible to give the Hotel 5 stars. What count in this hotel's favor, is the design and layout of the hotel, the mostly friendly staff ( a special mention has to be made about the bar staff, Roknai, Robeirto, Tanusi, Sherika ). The hotel lobby, bar and restaurant is complete open plan, decorated in white. It creates a very relaxing and pleasing atmosphere. As do the pool and garden.

The suite we had was really spacious, as was the bathroom. We could really stretch out and relax. It was relatively clean when we arrived, but it got progressively worse during the 3 weeks of our stay. A whole family if dust bunnies settled under the bed and floated around the room at night, the shower floor and door hardly ever got cleaned.

The fitness room or gym was a big disappointed. The room is nice and large in comparison to what one often get at hotels, but most of the equipment is broken. It has never been fixed or bothered with in the long time we stayed there. And it hardly ever really gets cleaned, dust in the corners, on the free weight stands, sticky floor, etc.

Don't register or pay for breakfast at the hotel, it is dreadful and overpriced, and the service is bad. Either use your kitchenette in the room to prepare your own, or go to town for something tastier than overlooked egs and dry white bread, and a few chips of fruit that should constitute a fruit salad.

On Friday evenings the hotel offers a nice relaxing cocktail happy hour to which some locals also come. It is a great opportunity to meet people from the island.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank boereklonkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Boereklonkie,

Thank you for staying three weeks! And thank you for writing your review.
We hope to see you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    294
    126
    45
    26
See reviews for
64
463
70
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just spent a week at Floris Suites, and I must say I'm disappointed. The price was fair, and it's a good deal for a 3 star property, but I don't agree with those saying this place rocks their world.

Pros: Yes, the grounds are very pretty with lush vegetation and a lovely pool area, and parking is easy and close. The room was big enough, the bed was comfortable, the kitchenette had the necessities and a big fridge, good air conditioning. The restaurant is pretty (very formal dinner settings, but guests are dressed casual). We had breakfast (pancakes and eggs, on a par with Denny's or any cheap restaurant) and one night just dessert and soup (lemon cheesecake was OK, French onion soup very good). The location to Willemstad is about a 10 minutes drive (park free at the Renaissance and walk into town) and 30 to 45 minutes to some very pretty beaches (Playa Lagun, Cas Abao, Playa Kenepa).

Cons: 1. The guys that checked in at the same time we did were given the key to a room that was occupied. They actually unlocked the door and walked in. Scared the hell out of the occupant. But when they came back and told the clerk, he didn't even apologize, just kind of said he'd help them when he was done with us. 2. No one knew the road to the beach was under construction. We tried driving there, but couldn't get through. The clerk said it was open to walk, so we tried that and it was closed, even to foot traffic. 3. Asked a uniformed security guard for directions to the room after checking in, and he told us to go ask the bartender. 4. Tried to walk to the market on the property; couldn't find it because the road is so dark (it's not in the main building). 5. Not enough light in the room, as in the bulbs are too dim and they're cheap lamps. 6. The walls of the room are completely bare white, not even one picture. 7. No drawers. None. Good closet space, maybe 6 hangars, but where do you you put things that don't hang? 8. Look at the picture of the microwave. 9. Rough around the edges. Chipped furniture in the room, ran out of hot water in the shower several times, some of the furniture in the lobby needs to be cleaned, the floor of the shower wasn't flat (it was like standing on a pitcher's mound). 10. Hubby and I are friendly, outgoing, talkative. We passed plenty of employees in the week we were there, and not ONE was the first to say hello. We smile and greet everyone, but all we got at Floris was a response, never anything I'd call actually welcoming, other than the young waitress in the restaurant who was very nice. No one was rude, but no one smiled and said good morning either.

Anyway, if I had to do it over, I'd spend a little more and stay at the Hilton or Marriott across the street, which both have on-site beaches and a better "vibe" (for lack of a better word). Floris was a good deal, but I won't go back. And we're budget travelers, as in Comfort Suites and mid-priced properties, not Four Seasons and top-of-the-line.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellydx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Kellydx,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We do apologize for the mixup at check-in. The road to the beach is finished. Sorry it was under construction during your visit. We are upgrading our rooms as I write this e-mail and we are conducting training for our staff on a regular basis. We hope you will visit us again some time in the future so that we can show our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
629 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel offered a different perspective for vacationing in Curacao. However, it is not the ideal location for those wishing to experience the Curacao culture and nightlife. The hotel was very comfortable and clean; however, the onsite restaurant was quite expensive. I enjoyed the daily Happy Hour from 6-7pm which is quite common all over Curacao. I would recommend using the Hilton's bar if you are on a budget because they have an all-day happy hour and casino. Another perk is off-site access to two beaches; however the road was under construction which lead to Pirate Bay Beach Club which made it difficult for walking. I would only recommend this hotel to those on a honeymoon and those looking to be outside the city. The shuttle runs only twice a day 9am and 4pm which makes it inconvenient for getting to the city to do shopping and eating at alternative restaurants without planning to be there a whole day. Good news is that most sightseeing tours would pick you up at your hotel making it convenient for day trips.

Room Tip: All rooms at this hotel are well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easylivingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Easylivingtravel,

Thank you so much for your review.
Almost everywhere on Curacao it would be nice to have a car as things are a little spread out from each other. Floris is in the eyse of many actually very centrally located. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back sometime in the future. The two private beaches are indeed a wonderful thing to have for our hotel guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arima, Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I took my husband to Curacao for his 40th birthday and I have no regrets. We chose this hotel and it was everything we expected it to be. The environment is quite fitting to the overall theme of the hotel and it was warm and inviting with pristine grounds and flourishing trees and plants. We got first class service, always with a smile and the pleasantry of the staff was excellent and they tended to our every need. We upgraded to a Royal Suite and the rooms were spacious, clean and fully equipped. We also received complimentary full breakfast which was great and more than sufficient, no complaints at all! Thank you Riza! We should mention that there is an oil refinery but it is a good way off and at no time did we smell any oil..... Our stay was complemented by a quiet, private but intimate setting. The best chef ever Steve and waiter Rignald made my husband's birthday one of the best by personalizing it with first class service and indeed the most memorable for him. The Sjalotte Restaurant has a variety of interesting dishes reasonably priced and you can expect quick and efficient service. You have got to try Sunday BBQ! Last but not least, we wish to make mention of Richmar who guided us through our reservation from beginning to end and his patience and professionalism are attributes we look for when seeking information. Not only did he assist us in the hotel booking but he arranged the car rental and gave us expert advice on places of attraction, beaches and activities. All we had to do was check into the hotel and it made our stay most enjoyable. Frank H, you are doing an excellent job with this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone at any time of year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drake_carmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Drakecarmel,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. It is reviews like this that motivates us to do even better. Thank you!
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S� Paulo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel is surrounded by gardens, rooms are spacious and comfortable, including a kitchenette area. Bathroom is also spacious, with excellent water pressure. My room included a large balcony, w/ table and chairs. You can hear and see a lot of songbirds in the mornings. Service is perfect and people very nice. Only negative issue was lighting throughout the hotel, including guest rooms. The room has only two lamps with very weak bulb (one in each). The elderly - who require three times more light than young people to see the same thing - will have difficulty anywhere at this hotel. Information provided by front desk (Ms. Solaika) was always exact and useful. She is extremely nice.
Also, exchange rate at the hotel is fair. Should you need to buy gas for your car, or go to the supermarket, exchange some US dollars at the hotel and it will save you some money. They also exchange local currency back if you need. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the same level as front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Ana288,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are glad you had a wonderful stay. We will certainly look at the lightbulbs and replace them with a stronger version. Thank you for the feedback. We hope to see you back at Floris in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. Based on the website and reviews we thought it would be a great place to stay, once we arrived we were a little disappointed. The website is deceiving, the rooms are dated and not very clean. They claim to have a fully equipped kitchenette which turned out to be one set of utensils a fridge and a stove (which turned out to be a hotplate). Our room faced a noisy street and the smell of oil upon arrival was a lot to handle. I asked to change rooms due to the loudness and the smell in the room. the front desk offered to change my room fro 300.00$; so we declined. It wasn't until night 4 (of 11) that noticed cockroaches coming out of the shower drain, yuck! When I notified the front desk they said they would come spray, but thankfully decided to upgrade us free of charge, to a room that was much larger and smelled less.

The service is definitely lacking, we often felt as though we were disturbing hotel staff when we needed something, a smile can go a long way. I waited numerous times at the hotel bar, they don't seem to have enough staff so the bar is often left unoccupied. The complimentary breakfast was a joke, a piece of bread, one slice of cheese and a cold cut piece of ham- many guests had the same complaint. In 12 days we only had the breakfast twice.

The pool area is nice and large; however the bushes could use some cleaning as there seemed to be plastic bottles and other garbage left around ( which remained for our entire 12 days). One of the beaches is great, beautiful sand and clear water. Curacao is beautiful and I would definitely recommend it, our trip was amazing but it was not because of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a pool view room to avoid the noise from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksmiles09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Ksmiles,

Thank you for your feedback. The bugs are a different type than you described. They are very common in a warm environment like ours and unfortunately sometimes show up. Especially after it rains after a long period of drought. We are sorry you had to find one in your room. We immediately offered you a free upgrade after notifying us. Thank you for your appreciation. Every day we make a new beginning with bringing the best service to our guests. We are sorry if we felt short in any way. The pool area is kept very clean and neat every single day more than once. Your findings on this matter is very unusual but we will certainly share your findings with our team. We hope you had a chance to enjoy our two private beaches as well as the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Thank you for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We (Dutch family, two kids) stayed here for 12 days, and it was fantastic. We had the largest apartment with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and two balconies. I am 1.91m tall and the bed was super comfortable. It was clean and cleaned every day and always very comfortable to get home. Breakfast is fine, service friendly! The beaches are walking distance and also good. In my opinion great apartment for families but they want to start in September 2013 with adults only. That is sad, and in my opinion the hotel is not catered for adults. We had a really wonderful stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan Wouter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Jan Wouter,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was nice to have you and your family.
Always welcome back. The best way to make a special arrangements is by e-mailing us at reservations@florissuitehotel.com
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
2.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
5.0 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sonesta Kura Hulanda Village & Spa
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Curacao
Hilton Curacao
#16 of 32 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club

Property: Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
Address: Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#7 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#7 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Floris Suite Hotel-Spa & Beach Club is for guests 18 years and older and has a refreshing blend of comfort and contemporary design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floris Hotel Willemstad
Hotel Floris Suite
Floris Suite Willemstad
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing