We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Adults Only Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Trendy Adults Only Hideaway”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

It's a nice adults-only hideaway that features clean rooms, comfortable beds, modern design and a friendly staff. I looked up what people had to say about the place prior to my visit and wondered why everyone seemed so diligent in pointing out that it was LGBTQ-friendly but now that I've experienced it I can say that this is actually important to note because one of the major minds behind the hotel's marketing (I forgot his name but I met him) is a pioneer in the LGBTQ movement on the island. He is one of the masterminds behind Curacao's South Caribbean Pride parade, which is unique for the Caribbean in general. There's an LGBTQ flag waving outside (along with an American flag and Curocaoan flag) and some staff that appear to be transgender. I think that's wonderful but not everyone does so it's worth pointing out. Other than that, Floris is for everyone. It was lovely not having screaming children running around as their parents sat by helplessly. The hotel's pool area is nice but I'm a beach person so I had to use neighboring beaches, which wasn't a bummer. It's literally a 5 minute (if that long) walk away from Pirate's Bay, which is a bar located on a small beach and there are other hotels like the Marriott and the Hilton that will allow Floris guests to use their beaches. If 5 minutes is too long of a walk for you then Floris does provide free shuttle service. That same service will take you into Willemstad too (and pick you up at a certain time as they run in shifts). I only had breakfast at the restaurant premises and it was cool, nothing mind blowing, so I can't really speak about the food there but trust me, this is a nice well-run place to stay so I imagine that the food beyond breakfast was good. I enjoyed my time at Floris and would definitely return.

Room Tip: The pool front views are better but the place is surrounded by lush trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Starr R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Starr R,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    298
    127
    46
    26
See reviews for
64
471
72
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed at Floris Hotel a couple times because the rooms are clean and modern. The staff is so well trained to provide great customer sevice and the restaurant Sjalotte has served some delicious food. I would recommend anyone to stay at the Floris Suites Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebonee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

After a hectic season I decided to get away for a week vacation to a beautiful island of Curacao to visit FLORIS hotel, I have stay there several times.
But somehow this was different, from the time I check –in I received RED carpet treatment (Bellman/Front attendant), Zoleaka was fluent in ENGLISH and Spanish language.
I received glass of champagne with a cherry to celebrate my arrival, all these was serviced with a beautiful smile, this what I called exceptional services
I was happy to stay their newly renovated rooms overlooking the pool.
On several occasions I had a dinner/breakfast at the restaurant downstairs the food is delicious.
If you’re ever in CURACAO please treat yourself to a lobster dinner it’s the best I eaten.

Room Tip: stay in the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Germain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very nice upscale hotel. The grounds are beautiful and the pool is inviting. The service was incredible. The staff was friendly. A special thanks to Alex, Nick, and Jarrett. They took time to make us feel at home. Very nice and attentive staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jedempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A very pretty little property that is very welcoming upon arrival, if a little off putting by the volume of the music playing in the lobby. The entire hotel is lush with greenery, the grounds keepers are to be commended on the wonderful job they do. Our room was spacious, well appointed, and clean. The air conditioning left something to be desired but it helped one acclimatize to the tropical temperatures. A quick, convenient jaunt to two beaches either by cart or on foot. The restaurant was a bit overrated but what I had was fine. Staff were always courteous and helpful. Not sure if being gay friendly quite qualifies as being a boutique but it was without children which was pleasant enough in itself. Would recommend and return to in the future.

Room Tip: Figure out which way the winds blow and get a room that allows for the trade winds to flow through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aroyalpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

As soon as I walked into the lobby, I was amazed. Said to myself, "this can't be real". It kept getting better. Reception, check-in, room, grounds, pool, restaurant, service, etc. The staff can not do enough to spoil you. They take nothing for granted. They are genuine and warm folks. This is an adult only resort and you will never hear the screaming of uncontrolled children. Ambiance is wonderful. Thank you for your excellent service - Alex(front desk), Alex - lobby bar, Jarett, Jurandy Regina. Thank you to the staff at the - "SJALOTTE RESTAURANT" located on property - Steve our chef, service was extraordinary by Isitha. It did not effect our trip, however, I would recommend they do a bit more detailing with minor housekeeping issues.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Good news: child free, gay friendly, every room feels very separate from each other.
Bad news: right next to a busy road which garden blocks from view but not hearing. Gray water smell can overwhelm. Access to beaches which can be walked to or given a ride to but lower level rooms miss the ocean breeze. Nothing to keep children amused so childfree is a good decision. Motto is, "let me spoil you" but concierge left much to be desired. I knew more from reading the guide book and arranged better tours on my own. Rental car is through Thrifty which required waiting 40 minutes for someone to come from town who then drove us back into town to complete paperwork. There are two car rental places across the road. The restaurant was poor to fair at best. Walk up the hill to Temple Doeloe for much better food or eat at Pirates Cove. Beach food is brought down from the hotel kitchen via golf cart. The fries were lukewarm and the hamburger begs the question of exactly what meat had been ground into that patty. Guarantee it was not beef.
The video of last years Gay Pride Festival, which was based at the hotel, played continuously in the lobby during our stay. No problem other than the volume made it very difficult to hear people speak much less be understood given the distinct accent of our local hosts. The free drinks on Friday night should have been a pleasant opportunity to meet fellow travelers except the music volume made civilized conversation impossible.
This is a beautifully designed hotel in a lousy location which the landscaping goes a long way toward disguising. If having a childfree vacation is important then this is a nice option but it may be worth the money to stay across the road at the Marriott or Hilton for an actual beach front location. The entire island of Curacao is gay friendly so nothing special in that regard.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Trippymarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Trippymarge,

Thank you for your feedback. It is always good to know all the different opinions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
2.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
621 reviews
5.0 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao
Blue Bay Curacao
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Curacao
Hilton Curacao
#16 of 32 in Willemstad
1,544 reviews
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club

Property: Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
Address: Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#7 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#7 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Floris Suite Hotel-Spa & Beach Club is for guests 18 years and older and has a refreshing blend of comfort and contemporary design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floris Hotel Willemstad
Hotel Floris Suite
Floris Suite Willemstad
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing