We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice, also for a longterm stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poppy Hostel Curacao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I had a very nice stay at the Poppy Kamers house. The house is in a good state, in a nice neighborhood and very clean. Everything is fully furnished so that I didn't miss anything.
Art is a very nice guy and it was easy to deal with him. I also could call him if I needed his help, for example if a locker of the rooms was blocked. He tried to fix it a soon as possible, which meant in the next few hours.
There is just nothing negative to say. I would definitely recommend that place, just also made my time on the island as great as it was.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiddo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thanks for your visit B! It was a pleasure having you around for the few months you were on Curacao. Hope to see you the next time you visit!
Cheers,
Art

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Besides Curacao being a very beautiful island with a diverse landscape and people it was the stay at Poppy Kramers that made it all the better. Art is a very nice helpful host, always open to any questions regarding your stay or any problems occuring and made everything run smoothly. The house itself is located in Otrabanda which in my opinion is the best if you want to truly get a glimpse of Willemstad/Curacao. It has a comfortable home-like feel to it, is close to just about everything, clean and it has absolutely everything you need for a good time!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LouisaPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thanks Louisa,

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I'd be more than happy to welcome you back again!

Art

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Poppy Kamers House is an excellent choice for budget travellers, solo or with friends. It is simple but has everything you need, and even more. Plus it is located in a very convenient area, close to supermarket, restaurants and transportation. It's part of the historical and charming part of Curaçao. Do not hesitate. I would recommend to rent a car to enjoy the rest of the island.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nabiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Thanks for your review!
We love providing budget accommodation in a charming setting. Your comments are very relevant as I recommend that guests rent a car, which they can park for free outside Poppy Hostel Curacao, to get the most out of their visit.
Welcome back any time @ poppyhostelcuracao.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I had the intention to stay only 2 weeks at Poppy's, but the admosphere is so nice and relaxed you have the possibility to prepare your own food, a nice backyard, your right in the centre of Willemstad, everything is in walking distance that i ended up to stay 7 weeks!!! The rooms are small but sufficient, and you've got all you need. There WiFi which i found very important

Art is a great and very friendly host, he will inform you about a lot of things and even show you around where to find the bus, supermarket and te best local Chinese springroll seller.

Room Tip: always ask the see the room and bathroom than you have your 1st impression.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Edoxxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thanks for our first review!
It was a pleasure hosting you at Poppy Kamers. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself and you were able to see the Carnival. I look forward to hearing from you when you next visit dushi Curacao!
Danki,
Art

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank acano_739305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank daniel-bircher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art K, Guest Relations Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeova_Andrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
1 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#18 of 32 in Willemstad
367 reviews
4.9 mi away
Curacao Airport Hotel
Curacao Airport Hotel
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
88 reviews
0.7 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#24 of 32 in Willemstad
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bayside Boutique Hotel
Bayside Boutique Hotel
#19 of 32 in Willemstad
80 reviews
1 mi away
First Curacao Hostel
First Curacao Hostel
#10 of 99 in Willemstad
88 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cecil Paradise Apartments
Cecil Paradise Apartments
#21 of 99 in Willemstad
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppy Hostel Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy Hostel Curacao

Address: Mgr. Niewindtstraat, 20 | Otrobanda, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Poppy Kamers Curacao)
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Willemstad
Price Range: £20 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Poppy Hostel Curacao 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hostel, built in 1904, has been renovated and restored to accommodate up to 7 guests. It boasts: high ceilings, wooden shuttered windows and doors. There are 4 single and 1 double room, a communal kitchen/dining-area and lounge, 2 large modern bathrooms and a covered porch in the back yard. The neighborhood is nearly 200 years old, with many houses on the street still classically styled. The street is on the traditional Carnival route. Poppy Hostel Curacao Hostel Prices, No Dorms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Poppy Hostel Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppy Hostel Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing