We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Buy Budget!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poppy Hostel Curacao
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Buy Budget!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A nice Colonial house in the Otrabanda area. First word that comes to mind is: Relaxed! And that should be the most important thing on any vacation.. Rent a car, visit a different beach every day, and party when beack in Willemstad. We loved it very much!
Art, the owner, is a laid back guy that is a excellent help if you need him. Only point of critisisme -according to my friend- is that the (very friendly) help can do a better job at cleaning.. I cared less.
All and all, it's the perfect, low-budget place to stay to discover Curaçao!

Room Tip: Buy a Polar @ the Netto bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BartOlinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thanks for your stay and your review! I will have a talk with the cleaning staff to address your traveling companion's issue. My goal is to provide a clean and comfortable stay to all our guests. We are a hostel and since many of the rooms are shared with potentially 5 other guests we rely on guests to consider their fellow occupants when using the common areas. Thanks for your kind words.
Cheers,
Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    44
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
23
75
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maracaibo, Venezuela
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

It was a pleasant stay, Art is very attentive to the guests, the rooms and bathrooms are spacious... is located in a good spot where we made friends with the neighbors and food along the corner ..
We recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nolainys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Muchas gracias! It was a pleasure having you and your mum visit us at Poppy Kamers Curacao!
Masha Danki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A nice house in the middle of beautiful Otrobanda. But everything is in walking distance and even the bus stop to the airport is 2 min walking distance. The house is nice with small rooms with bed, table and cupboard. The kitchen area is nice and a good place to hang aroung and there is also the oppertunity to sit outside. Art the owner is a very nice guy and helps you if you have any question or problems.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SteffiLina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thanks for your review and for visiting the first and only hostel on Curacao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

If you're on a budget and you want to stay in the city amongst the locals, then this is the place for you. Very convenient to ATM, grocery store, gas station, etc. Most places are within walking distance. Nice alternative to the typical high rise hotels & resorts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orsa, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This guesthouse is situated in the Otrobanda area, which means you´re amongst the locals. Only that is a great plus in my book. Still it´s not far walking distance to the crowded tourist spots. Probably the best choice for budget travellers in Curacao. The owner, Art, is a very nice fellow and he´s very helpful. Yeah, and he´s quite wicked too (in a positive way, that is :-) I really enjoyed the stay at Poppy Kamers (as the first swede, I might mention), and if I´ll ever go back to Curacao there would be no hesitation of where to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Knogen73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This is a beautiful renewed colonial house with all facilities provided as kitchen, living and backdoor space. It is a basic place, but beach is within walking distance, as the town centre. there's a gas station and atm and supermarket just around the corner. the owner, Art, is a cool guy which will be there for you if you need it. We had a good time in a very relaxing island. don't look any further.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnarKhaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Plata, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Poppy Kamers is the best place to stay in Curazao if you are travelling in a low budget. A cosy, spacious and comfortable house with five bedrooms, a big kitchen and nice living room (TV and DVD). A nice beach, the city centre, bus stops, ATM and supermarket are at walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thanks for your review! We are now called Poppy Hostel Curacao but we are still the best place for the growing number of backpacking visitors coming to Curacao. Your review has really helped me reach them. Welcome back any time but be sure to check with me personally first. I have a special arrangement for loyal repeat guests.
Mucho Gusto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.4 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
174 reviews
1.2 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
630 reviews
1.8 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Natural Curacao
The Natural Curacao
#6 of 92 in Willemstad
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
1.0 mi away
The Ritz Village Hostel
The Ritz Village Hostel
#14 of 92 in Willemstad
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppy Hostel Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy Hostel Curacao

Property: Poppy Hostel Curacao
Address: Mgr. Niewindtstraat, 20 | Otrobanda, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Poppy Kamers Curacao)
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Poppy Hostel Curacao 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hostel, built in 1904, has been renovated and restored to accommodate up to 7 guests. It boasts: high ceilings, wooden shuttered windows and doors. There are 4 single and 1 double room, a communal kitchen/dining-area and lounge, 2 large modern bathrooms and a covered porch in the back yard. The neighborhood is nearly 200 years old, with many houses on the street still classically styled. The street is on the traditional Carnival route. Poppy Hostel Curacao Hostel Prices, No Dorms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Poppy Hostel Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppy Hostel Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing