We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice personal service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poppy Hostel Curacao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Its like being at home. You can do your own thing and cook for your self or the other gasts will cook for you.Frendly bar at the other side of the street.
The location is good within walking distance of many facilities and the center of Willemstad.
Thanks Art it was short but good and personal with I really apriciated.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank piet362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014
Google Translation

Bedankt voor je verblijf Piet!
Ik hoop dat ik je de volgende keer ook bij Poppy Kamers welkom kan heten.
-Art

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

The colonial house is in a beautiful, local part of town, just a few minutes walk for old town/market. Art is the friendliest owner, knows tons about the island and you can't go wrong with any of his recommendations. Thanks for a great vacation!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froophee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thanks for the great review! I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay. "Best place to stay...." wow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A wonderful location, the house is incredibly homely and comfortable. In addition, the owner of the place is very friendly, and is happy to help with anything. He really knows the area and can point you to the best spots to relax.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thanks for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Even when i didnt use the kitchen, you can use it if you go there! It has everything you need to cook, and near by its a supermarket where they sell whatever you want! Bus to Beaches, walk to downtown, its all very close!

Room Tip: Just let know if you are going solo or with companion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leonardo Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thanks Leo! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

If you want a low budget but central place to stay in Curacao, I would recommend Poppy Kamers to stay. The house is located in a very nice area and close by downtown Willemstad. Everything you need is around the corner.
The house itself is very beautiful and authentic. It is also very clean and Art the owner is a cool dude that is social and helpful person. Also the people in the neighborhood nice and helpful.
The next time when I am traveling to Curacao I would definitely stay at Poppy's again!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LttleAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed for 10 nights at the Poppy Kamers and i would highly recommend it to everyone who is looking for a low-budget place to stay. The kitchen and especially the bathroom is clean all the time! To have an own room is a welcome change for single travellers. But no concern: you may get in contact with other travellers :)
All in all I felt very welcome and Art is really helpful!
Curacao is definitely worth a visit and I would love to stay at Poppy Kamers again!
Cheers from Munich :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks for your kind words! Im glad you enjoyed your stay.
Art

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

The house is located in a very nice place of Otrobanda in the historical centre of Willemstad. Very easy to get by cheap bus from the Hato international Airport. Only 2 $ per ride and you can get less than 1 block away. The house is really beautiful, calm and give you a chance to experience the non so touristic areas of Willemstad. However all the nice places are into walking distances, even the bus terminal to Westpunt. My overall appreciation is the best relation price/service in the island for bagpackers specially. I definitely would book again there if I decide to travel again to Curaçao. The owner Art is a very helpful and easy going person.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexanderOlivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artdeco55, Manager at Poppy Hostel Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks for your kind words! Im glad you enjoyed your stay.
Art

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
1 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#16 of 32 in Willemstad
349 reviews
1.2 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
688 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
#17 of 32 in Willemstad
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
First Curacao Hostel
First Curacao Hostel
#15 of 96 in Willemstad
80 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Natural Curacao
The Natural Curacao
#5 of 96 in Willemstad
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mustique Suites Curacao
Mustique Suites Curacao
#12 of 50 in Willemstad
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppy Hostel Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy Hostel Curacao

Address: Mgr. Niewindtstraat, 20 | Otrobanda, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Poppy Kamers Curacao)
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Willemstad
Price Range: £21 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Poppy Hostel Curacao 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hostel, built in 1904, has been renovated and restored to accommodate up to 7 guests. It boasts: high ceilings, wooden shuttered windows and doors. There are 4 single and 1 double room, a communal kitchen/dining-area and lounge, 2 large modern bathrooms and a covered porch in the back yard. The neighborhood is nearly 200 years old, with many houses on the street still classically styled. The street is on the traditional Carnival route. Poppy Hostel Curacao Hostel Prices, No Dorms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Poppy Hostel Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppy Hostel Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing