We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific staff & beautiful grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Orefield, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific staff & beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We just returned from Curacao & this resort. we were there for one week. Some negative reviews were written about the staff here, but I truly don't understand why. These people were probably the most friendly I've ever encountered at a resort and I'Ve stayed at a lot of resorts. Sometimes tourists are impatient or don't treat the staff very well and then expect the best from them. It doesn't work that way. People are people & should treat others the way in which they would like to be treated themselves. We all know before we go that things are a little slower paced in the Carribean. Relax, go with the flow. That's why you're there.
The grounds at Sunscape are lovely & very well kept. It is also very handicap accessible, which was important to us. Plus, there are certainly enough swimming pools & beach bars throughout to keep anyone happy.
I do have 2 areas of concern. First, a moderate concern with the beaches. There are pebbles on the beach & on the way into the water, which can be a bit hard on the feet. Once you get past that, the bottom is sandy. If you look hard enough, at the end of one of the beaches we did find a narrow sandy pathway to get in.
My second area of concern is more than moderate. This is an all-inclusive resort & I do feel there are enough restaurants to satisfy most taste buds, however, for the most part the food was not hot. This was especially true at the buffet, where you must go for breakfast. They also serve lunch & dinner there. If you had your eggs made to order, they would be hot, but the other items (sausage, bacon, hash browns, etc) were not. This is a shame because the food was a pretty good quality, but I know I can't eat cold bacon or sausage. This was also true of most of the restaurants on the grounds. Usually there were always 1 or 2 entree items on your plate that were not hot & had to be returned. We faired well at the Italian restaurant & items were as they should be. (Ate there twice) The seafood restaurant was not consistent (ate there twice). The ribs were decent at the steak place, but the steak left a little to be desired that night. We were not able to get into the Japanese restaurant.
Needless to say and unfortunately, we were eager to get home to a hot meal! Other than that, we had an enjoyable stay, but the food definitely needs improving. This is the same comment I heard from others as well. I did not comment on the bars - the drinks were wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paluvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,806
    1,474
    698
    245
    155
See reviews for
1,268
1,892
146
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,340)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Lovely resort, fantastic people and beautiful grounds everywhere you look. We left Baltimore at 6am and arrived at the resort at 4pm and were greeted with a cool drink and "Welcome Home". Rehnan Gaari, manager of entertainment told us we had been upgraded to the preferred club and during our stay was an invaluable contact. He truly took care of us. We were celebrating our 46th anniversary and were surprised that it was mentioned in one of the daily highlights papers that everyone gets..
Our room was in the building farthest away from the lobby,#8 Flamingo building, so it was quiet and very restful. We had a wonderful view of the ocean and beach.Farthest away means about 500 steps to the lobby including the stairs...so this is an intimate resort, not a mega monster like some on other islands.
The room was clean and spacious and our maid service was very good. My one suggestion for the room is that towel bars be installed. We mentioned that before we left.
The hotel has several trips you can take to other parts of the island,the days vary,also they have lots of different kinds of recreation scheduled, so make sure you check the events paper everyday.
We took advantage of escorted snorkling outside the stone barrier that forms the beach lagoons...thanks to Benjamin. Richi took us on a great Hobie Cat sail and Sandra always made sure we were signed up for whatever watersport we could fit into our schedule even going outside of the regular schedule to get our activity in. Snorkling in the crystal clear lagoons is spectacular and because there is a stone barrier to the ocean, the water is calm and there is a huge variety of fish. Take a bagel from the breakfast buffet and hundreds will come to eat right from your hand.
Now for the 5 restaurants. The World Cafe has a buffet menu 3 meals a day, and although breakfast could use a little innovation,the food was filling and the mid day and evening meals were a bit more interesting. I know the executive chef Sarafin Garcia is working dilligently on getting a much more inventive menu for not only the buffet but all the restaurants under his watch. While we were there, he opened a sushi bar and even gave a class on how to make the perfect sushi roll. Oceana is an excellent seafood restaurant on the sand with no roof, very romantic and the Blue Water Grill is a good steakhouse, open to the ocean and the evening breeze. DaMario is the only restaurant with an enclosed air conditioned dining room, elegant Italian meals. The Japanese Himitsu has teppanyaki tables and is the only restaurant that requires reservations. We never had to wait to be seated for any dinner.The wait staff in all the restaurants were pleasant and eager to please. Venethy, the restaurants manager seemed to be everywhere and always asked us about our meals and our stay in general.
We are not big drinkers, so we just tried the drink of the day and Norma at the Oceana bar made FBIs for us. The house wine at dinner was very good.
We both got a massage in the spa..Juana & Joana did great jobs. The coffee bar Coco Cafe will make you any type of coffee drink, even those you make up on the spot!
By the way, a small tip goes a long way and we always left a little something. The staff works very hard and a good job deserves some sort of appreciation.
I can honestly say that although we thought we might have made a mistake booking this resort (the summer reviews being so negative)we were surprised at the quality of the whole stay.We could see improvements being made all the time and I have no doubt this will be a first rate resort in the very near future.
Kurt, John, Sasha, Vanette,you all contributed to a wonderful week and a great anniversary that we will never forget. Thank you all, but especially to Rehnan who greeted us with "Welcome Home" and saw us off with "Come back home soon".

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BillandBobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at the Sunscape Curacao for 3 nights, it is the only all inclusive resort on the island so I was worried that it might not be up to par however I was very pleased with this resort. There are many choices for dinner, we ate in the a la cartes, the food was great.....the beach is a bit rocky but the water is amazing.....great for snorkeling! We stayed in the preferred club section which provided butler services on the beach, beach beds and comfortable lounge chairs and it was nice to have the wifi included however it is not available in the rooms only in the lobby and preferred club lounge. Lovely resort!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
7 Thank Sav121265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Bldg 8000 is the best. Norma at the Oceania Bar is the best! Will go back for sure. We played all of the games and my daughter Becca won them all! I'm sure everyone there remembers Becca! We were there for 6 nights and only let once to go into town. Oh, and "V" at the concierge was great.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellyklangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I got away for a week and met my sister and her husband there. (They live in Holland and he is Dutch). They had visited several times previously...this was our first time. All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They made our stay so relaxing and romantic!!!! We loved it and can't wait to go back...also, the resort was always being cleaned and the special dinners at night caused my husband to dress up a little. He didn't care for that so much, but I love dressing for dinner, so as they say "when momma's happy, we're all happy!" My sister and her husband love it there, as well!!!

Room Tip: We had a downstairs' room where our patio butted up against some beautiful pools, the beach, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lyndaluv4753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We recently returned from a 6 night stay at the Sunscape Curacao. As other reviews have mentioned the resort is now under new management (same folks as Dreams and Secrets resorts) and BIG improvements have been made. This was a family trip ( 8 and 7 year old girls) were along with us and the below is an honest breakdown based on everyone's feedback

Highlights - Location of the resort & smaller resort "feel" ( we did not feel like a number and several members of the staff called us by name after a day or so) Snorkeling is great and dive trips occur daily...

Kids Club - This was a HUGE unexpected plus to our trip - I knew there was a kids club available but my girl absolutely LOVED the staff and well planned activities. From pool parties to a trip to the local sea aquarium to movies on the beach - the days were well planned and supervised my girls had a blast.

Beach at the preferred club area - We had opted to upgrade to the preferred club area and the beach made this upgrade worth it... Room was fine (what I would call a normal US hotel room, note exactly a Jr. Suite..) with a nice ocean view and furnished balcony. What you are really paying for is the upgraded beach area - padded beach chairs, Cabana's and a little more attentive wait staff taking your drink orders.

Bar service was very good - ESPECIALLY if you TIp.... I had no trouble getting Crown Royal, dark rum or Segrams 7... Which were not watered down (Note - I noticed during our stay that most folks did not tip - Obviously this is not required but it was appreciated by the staff.)

Food quality - Average - nothing really bad/ nothing really outstanding - Better reviews from others... (I did have a nice Ribeye and piece of red snapper but overall improvement in this area is needed)

Other Notes - We did the Dolphin Experience $80 US per person - It was a good time and included admission to the park. We also did the Dune Buggy Adventure (right across the street from the resort) - This was a lot of fun and well worth the money...

Casino - Vegas it is not... But the most expensive slot in the place is $1...



Overall we had a great time - You can tell the management is working hard to bring this up to a World Class resort as painting and other improvements continue to take place.

Room Tip: In my option it was worth it to opt for the preferred club to get access to the "special"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awendel K, Assistant to the General Manager at Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Sean,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad you found us above average and recommendation worthy.
We can share that our resort continues improving and we are doing our very best to provide a nice property and excellent service to our clients as our guests' satisfaction is our main priority.

Thank you for choosing us.

Yours sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I had a wonderful week at the Sunscape beach resort, from the moment I got there all the stress was out of my system. Did not have anything to worry about.
The staff was really friendly, surroundings were picture perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
7 Thank IngridTober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
0.2 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
1.8 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
2.6 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
3.9 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino

Property: Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino
Address: Dr. Martin Luther King Boulevard # 78, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Princess Beach Curacao Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near one of the world's most praised diving sites, Sunscape Curaçao Resort, Spa & Casino offers guests a fun-filled getaway of a lifetime with all the privileges of Unlimited-Fun(R). All guests will enjoy limitless access to six delectable restaurants, where reservations are never required and endless domestic and international beverages from seven chic bars and lounges. The Explorer's Club is where kids, ages 3 to 12, can have their own fun while under the supervision of Red Cross certified supervisors and the Core Zone Teens Club offers special activities and events for teens 13 to 17-years-old. All guests will have the fun-filled getaway of a lifetime at Sunscape Curaçao with activities, events, parties and more where wristbands are never required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Resort, Spa & Casino - Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Breezes Resort, Spa And Casino - Curacao
Breezes Curacao Hotel
Breezes Resort Curacao
Superclub Breezes Curacao
Breeze Curacao
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing