We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service for the only all-inclusive on the island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very poor service for the only all-inclusive on the island”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I could write a book on this one but I will give you a few of examples of their very poor service.
First, after we had checked in we were give an info package that included a map of the resort. We needed this right away as we were given a general direction for our room and left to find it ourselves and also told our luggage we be delivered in about 1 hour, since we were the only ones checking in at that time it caught us off guard and didn't say anything.
Second, have you ever entered a restaurant and after giving your room number been told to go and find a clean table somewhere and sit there? We certainly haven't. Oh and try and get a glass of water or a cup of tea or coffee, you almost have to tackle the waitress on the way past as they seem to be more interested in cleaning tables than serving their customers.
Reservations are not accepted at the restaurants so be there at least 45 minutes before they open (generally 6:30pm) or you may not get a seat until the 8:00pm service. ones you are seated you will find out very quickly why it takes at least an hour and a half to get your meal, disorganized chaos.
Positives, they are in an ownership transition and part of the hotel has been upgraded the rest is dated but clean, eventually they will get the rest of the hotel upgraded to what would be considered acceptable standards.
The beach butlers in the Preferred Club were very attentive and their language skills were excellent, something I cannot say for the rest of the staff.
Entertainment staff were great and the nightly shows very good, I cannot comment on the daily activities around the pool area during the day as we were in the Preferred Club section at the other end of the resort.
The resort is very close to Willemstad, a $2US per person, bus ride takes you right into the centre of town and there are 2 bus stops right outside the hotel.
Spa is good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zilerog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,889
    1,555
    746
    270
    169
See reviews for
1,330
2,009
155
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,406)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smithville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stay here mar 30 to April 6, really decent food in all restaurant's, buffet was great,no lobster but so what. Great burgs and dogs at the beach.
Room cleaning had inconsistent schedules. Liquor we all think was weak.
But the snorkling was real good.
The staff was fantastic.
And the area around the hotel was great fun. This is a great
place for all very safe public transit car rentals, or walk to the party beach next door for happy hours.
This place is just the right size.
They do entertain but it could be better, and more chairs.
Beach bq was the best with festive dancers.
Coffer bar use real cups please. Reservations would be nice if the resort is full.
Downtown is a must to see.
All in all a very nice place at a desent price. Lots of room choices.
The pool could be better,the pool bar is not staffed much but they don't want to have drunks all over so this is not that type of place, mixed ages and international guessed by nice place.


Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Larry512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My recent family vacation was amazing, Sunscape curacao was the perfect place. The food, the service, the rooms, everything was great.
The Word café, excellent.. The sugar reeff. My sons loved the beach, the pools... The staff definitely excellent, they covert our vacation as unforgettable vacations, they treated was like kings, I would definitely stay at sunscape again next time and invite friends too.
Thanks folks.

Room Tip: Word Café excellent food. Beverages at Sugar reef, excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Franci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This resort was absolutely perfect! I am a bit late in writing this review, we visited in August of 2012. While the room was a bit dated, it was spotless and we were able to walk right out onto the beach. Competition was tough for a beach hut so we did have to arise early each morning to secure a spot. We did not put stuff and leave though, we found that it was quite peaceful in the very early morning on the beach and even took a nap a few times. There was a storm in Miami when we were there and our flight home was cancelled. We had to stay another 2 nights and the staff did all that they could to accomodate us - even keeping us in our perfect room. We had a rental car and the location was perfect for driving into town as well as heading the other way to explore the island. The pool area was spectacular and the views from the lobby just breathtaking. We sat by the pool each night facing the ocean and just reviewed our days photos and were always sad to leave our special night spot. I have been to alot of islands and this hotel help make my experience in Curacao one of my all time favorites!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janfel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I had previously stayed at this resort when it was Breezes and loved it. It is even better as a Sunscape. There were not major changes just enhancements. Loved having a mini fridge in the room and it was kept stocked with water and pop every day - no extra charge. The room was cleaned daily and always had fresh towels. The grounds of the resort were kept immaculate. Most days I ate at the World Café (buffet restaurant) and did enjoy the Japanese restaurant one night. I love the addition of the coffee bar - very good coffee and desserts. The entire staff at this resort work hard - all you have to do is stop and watch how much they do. The only change I would suggest is getting better WiFi / Internet services. It is available at a cost of $40 per week but only in the lobby area which can be very busy and noisy. I would have no hesitation to stay at Sunscape again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Diver_Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I loved the hotel its really nice, I am going back soon! I hope so, Lol... Special thanks to the people in the World Cafe Rest, awesome service and food! So beautiful! Thank you guys. Going back next year or maybe in a few months!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Youngmoney569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great. The staff was amazing they treated us so well the whole time we stayed. The food was very good. I loved the da mario restaurant. And the beach... it was just perfect for me to relax and enjoy my vacation on the island. I would definitely stay at sunscape again the next time. And curacao in general was very nice, really enjoyed my vacation.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank samantha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
0.2 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
1.8 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
2.6 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
3.9 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino

Property: Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino
Address: Dr. Martin Luther King Boulevard # 78, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Princess Beach Curacao Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near one of the world's most praised diving sites, Sunscape Curaçao Resort, Spa & Casino offers guests a fun-filled getaway of a lifetime with all the privileges of Unlimited-Fun(R). All guests will enjoy limitless access to six delectable restaurants, where reservations are never required and endless domestic and international beverages from seven chic bars and lounges. The Explorer's Club is where kids, ages 3 to 12, can have their own fun while under the supervision of Red Cross certified supervisors and the Core Zone Teens Club offers special activities and events for teens 13 to 17-years-old. All guests will have the fun-filled getaway of a lifetime at Sunscape Curaçao with activities, events, parties and more where wristbands are never required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Resort, Spa & Casino - Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Breezes Resort, Spa And Casino - Curacao
Breezes Curacao Hotel
Breezes Resort Curacao
Superclub Breezes Curacao
Breeze Curacao
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing