We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best place in the world”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

After travelling to Curacao’s Breezes resort 5 times before, we were nervous to return to the same resort after it had changed ownership become the new Sunscape. Much to our surprise we loved it just as much, if not more! Minor improvements such as the room improvements and small restaurant changes were nice but not as important to us as the staff who continually make our trip the best it can be. This year some of the new entertainment staff such as Chuchoo, O’Bryan, Chris and Gigo were great additions to what we consider our “Curacao family”. The other staff that we have known for years such as Leo, Jon, Gaggy, Zeric, and Roshan still continue to amaze us with all of their hard work and fun that they provide during our stay. Our favourite bartenders Norma and Renee, our favourite cook Kurk, waitress Vianella, and host Alex remember us year after year and they also make it so special to return to this resort that we consider our second home. All of these people go out of their way to make everything you need possible. They all go above and beyond what they are required to do and their genuine care about the guests happiness is what makes Sunscape better from any other resort we have ever stayed at. We love the old friends we have at Suncape and love the new ones we have made. We will definitely be returning to see our friends in the future because they are the reason we continually return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful. We like the Plover since it is close to everything but then again th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toliveloveandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,917
    1,582
    761
    278
    175
See reviews for
1,365
2,036
156
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,423)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiel, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We spent two weeks in this great resort and had a very good time. The beach only a few meters from the appartment door and the hotel nearby to Willemstad and also in a very charming surrounding.
Especially the nice personal, every time friendly and attentive, so as the entertainment team as well. Particular Chuchoo, who was caring a lot and made everyone feeling special. We enjoyed our stay and would love come back at some time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This resort it is located 30 minutes away from the Int. Airport, I will to mentioning the following FYI: it is good for seniors, the food at the world café ( the main buffet) it is not bad such other people already commented before, however the taste for food are not the best. We have been so much disappointed about the customer service in general, the staff there are not friendly at all and/or with the best aptitude for guests outstanding services, except for two people there Mr. Raylan (bellboy) and Mrs. Yaneth (a waiter at the main buffet) they were so much friendly and professional to interact with guests. The beach from the resort it is beautiful with a dike built so you may able to swim without high waves, the common areas from the resort in special the hallways from the rooms are so much careless. I stay at the VIP section (More privacy and quiet) I do really like the pool and beach from that part of the resort, they have beach towels to you, the WI-FI just works at the lobby area, my room's view have been amazing. Thank you.

Room Tip: * Ask for VIP rooms * If you will stay at VIP section, the building (3 floors) there it doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TatianaMelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sunscape from April 25-30. Wish it was a few days longer - by the time we learned the ins and outs of the resort, it was already time to leave.
Check in was super efficient. We arrived in the evening with only one other person on the bus from the airport. We were actually taken out of the line and checked in at the preferred club desk. THANK YOU, KURT!!! Our bags were taken up to our room with us by Raylan. He is a doll! He gave us the layout of the resort on the walk and then showed us how everything worked in the room. Saw him several times around the resort and he always remembered our names - LOVE THAT! Our room was very large and beautiful and the view was breathtaking. THANK YOU, KURT!!! We were in the main tower and it could get loud in the evenings with the nightly entertainment by the pool. But one night there was a trumpet player and we sat on our balcony drinking wine and listening. We even danced a bit.
When we were at the resort, we hung around the preferred pool and beach. They were both very quiet and we just wanted to relax. As others have said numerous times, the snorkeling right in front of the resort is awesome! We snorkeled at 3 other beaches while we were in Curacao, and the Sunscape area had the largest diversity of sea life.
The food seems to be the weakest area of the resort. We ate at the Italian and Seafood restaurants and the food in both was very good. The buffet was fine, but never seemed to change very much. Also, there didn't seem to be enough people working back there. Things would run out and not get replaced in a timely manner or you may have to wait a bit to get someone's attention at the pasta station. I didn't have high expectations, so wasn't disappointed, but some extra help and some different entrees would make a big difference.
The bar in the lobby is the ONLY one that has premium liquor. Jonathan is a ROCK STAR - by far my favorite bartender! Never had to wait long at any of bars, though, and the bartenders seemed happy to make your drink however you liked it.
Other wonderful staff members I want to acknowledge: Nahum at Oceana. He made our beach dinner PERFECT! Cherela in the gift shop was the sweetest! She was always smiling and helpful when I went to get my husband's nightly candy. Thank you both for going above and beyond!!!
We spent a day off resort snorkeling and visiting Willemstad - rented a car at Sunscape with no issues. We also spent a half day snorkeling with the Dive Bus (separate review to come), so didn't have enough time to enjoy all the amenities this resort has to offer.
Overall, this was a wonderful resort and we would return. There was so much to do- games, movies on the beach, nightly entertainment, casino, etc. Wish we could have experienced it all. Feel free to ask me any questions!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank nixmomntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

has been a pleasure to be in curacao for business Fuei 2 nights and three days and treatment service was great, restaurants are great the food is very good, the rooms are very comfortable very good aliciaes arias like me with the speed arranging the room, thanks for everything in my vacasiones be back with family.

Room Tip: todo el hotel es muy bonito
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank julia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My friend and I stayed tree from April 27- may 4, 2014.. Our flight was an early one and upon arrival to sun scape we were told our room would be ready in an hour. Fair enough as it was only noon and check in was 3 pm. The receptionist mentioned that I had been given an upgrade. Normally I would be quite pleased but they upgraded me from an ocean view room with two beds to a garden view junior suite with one queen bed. Problem was I was travelling with a friend not my husband so the one bed was a deal breaker. Asked for my original room back. But was told it was not possible. My choice was now two beds with a garden View or they would put a cot into the junior suite. Then they offered me a room in the preferred building. It was two beds beautiful ocean view private beach and pool. Or the previous rooms offered. My friend and I chose the preferred club room. It was far away from everything which actually worked out nicely. Only thing was we had to wait another 3 hours for the room. We didn't get into our room until 4 pm. Our luggage had sadly made it to the original room so we couldn't even change into our swimsuits and enjoy some of the day.
By the time we got to our room and settled in it was time for dinner. We noticed that our bedding felt damp. Even our pillows. We called the front desk and mentioned that we needed dry linens. When we got back from dinner nothing was changed. We called again. A non English speaking person showed up with a sheet. Called again and this Time we got one pillow. Called the fourth time and this time the supervisor came and stripped the beds for us. We helped her make them as it was 1130 pm and we were dead on our feet. They were unable to replace the duvets and gave us some sketchy blankets instead. After asking several times a day to have them replaced the duvets didn't arrive back until Wednesday.
The maids were very good but service was inconsistent. The first two nights we had turn down service at night. It was nice but not consistent. They were great about changing the towels every day and the beds were made to perfection. Th poolside service was also hit and miss. The only time we had excellent poolside service was when Angela was on. The girl was an amazing asset to the resort! Always so polite and friendly. She went out of her way to make sure you had whatever you wanted. Such a sweet girl!
The food at the buffet was hit and miss. Several people I talked to complained about the buffet. They tried to have something for everyone but let me tell you the lineup for. Pasta was long every night because not many people liked what was at the buffet. They needed more people to cook things. Only one person at the omelette and pasta bar. The kids section was good and e fruit was awesome. We ate at the Italian restaurant ( only indoor restaurant) and the service and food was great. Madeline was our waitress and very attentive and efficient.
As for the excursions. We had decided to go to the island of Klein. We trustingly booked our trip a the front desk. Mistake. We ended up on a catamaran for a two hour ride from hell. The waves were going over the catamaran. We were being tossed around like rag dolls!. Six people ended up throwing up and one person passed out. We were not warned how rough the ride was. I would have never ever risked my safety if I had been warned about the ride. Once we got to the island we were told the restaurant and washrooms on the island were off limits to us. They belonged to the other excursion. As did the beach chairs. We were dumped on the beach and all of us had to share one little shelter. All of the sea sick people stayed under the shelter and tried to recover. We walked along the beach and spoke to some people that had taken the other excursion. They came to the island in a giant boat and were having a fantastic time. For less money than we paid!!!!! The name of the good excursion company is called Mermaid. If you are going to Klein please book with them! You will have a much better time than we did!!
In conclusion sunscape is definitely an average resort to stay at. You have all the amenities available to you. They just need more staff to make things run more efficiently.

Room Tip: Take building eight fr peace and quiet. Building two to be near everything. But be warned tht you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michaella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is the experience that everybody had to feel. I traveled with my girlfriend and when we arrived at the hotel we were welcomed very friendly. Our suitcases were brought to the room right away; we got a refreshing towel upon arrival the place was nice and clean at the beginning we didn’t know what to expect but the Sunscape experience was tremendous. The restaurants are good and my best choice was the Japanese and the sea food restaurant. We stay at the block 2 nice and beautiful room. The music has timing and we love the night shows, the guys of entertainment team are fantastic nice group of course few guys that they looks like that they don’t care but chuchoo train, crazy G , leo de leon ,jonny rocket, prince T are the best they were more efficient and they try to make our stay the best ever , specially chuchoo who is in charge of the entertainment group and he is around all the time. He is from entertainment but also he can help you out if anything goes wrong with your room and restaurant or something all around man, thanks chuchoo train. If you go to Sunscape and you don’t meet chuchoo you’re never been there. The food at the restaurant is good I will recommend the Japanese is very good. Anyways we are thinking to come back to curacao and for sure be back at Sunscape curacao. See you soon guys.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jader v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.4 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.2 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
4.9 mi away
Hilton Curacao
Hilton Curacao
#16 of 32 in Willemstad
1,601 reviews
2.6 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino

Property: Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino
Address: Dr. Martin Luther King Boulevard # 78, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Princess Beach Curacao Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#7 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#7 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near one of the world's most praised diving sites, Sunscape Curaçao Resort, Spa & Casino offers guests a fun-filled getaway of a lifetime with all the privileges of Unlimited-Fun(R). All guests will enjoy limitless access to six delectable restaurants, where reservations are never required and endless domestic and international beverages from seven chic bars and lounges. The Explorer's Club is where kids, ages 3 to 12, can have their own fun while under the supervision of Red Cross certified supervisors and the Core Zone Teens Club offers special activities and events for teens 13 to 17-years-old. All guests will have the fun-filled getaway of a lifetime at Sunscape Curaçao with activities, events, parties and more where wristbands are never required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Resort, Spa And Casino - Curacao
Breezes Resort, Spa & Casino - Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Breezes Curacao Hotel
Breezes Resort Curacao
Superclub Breezes Curacao
Breeze Curacao
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing