We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,725)
Filter reviews
5,725 results
Traveller rating
2,228
1,918
967
362
250
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,228
1,918
967
362
250
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun club bluewater grill japanese restaurant entertainment team world cafe flamingo building seafood a la carte restaurants da mario fire show the blue water grill coco cafe oceana bar johnny rocket baby love candy man kids club
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 5,725 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

SunScapes Resort and Casino is an all inclusive resort in Curacao. The resort is well maintained and the grounds are beautiful. Rooms are large with balconies or patios. Bathrooms are well equipped, although we were not left hand towels or wash cloths after our first day. (We are in the habit of reusing towels so they were hung in the shower but taken anyway.) The pool area is spread out with a pool bar and lots of seating at tables or on lounge chairs. There is a pool bar that is open until 5p daily. Drinks were good and readily made. Many of the drink specials included Blue Curacao liquor. There was music and games daily at the pool area. All were family friendly and not overly loud. Restaurants at the resort offer a variety of food. The buffet was extensive with a little of everything, including hot dogs and French fries for kids. Oceana is the seafood restaurant. It is the only restaurant where we had a bad experience, waiting almost 2 hours for our food and then being given the wrong food (which we ate since it was almost 10:30p). The steakhouse had decent steaks and sandwiches. The food wasn't 5 star but good. We ate at the Japanese hibachi grill twice. It is a typical hibachi grill experience with seafood salad, Miso soup, fried rice and veggies, and meat (salmon, mahi, chicken, beef). There is also a pasta restaurant where we only had dessert. Ice cream is available close to the buffet and was a welcome treat during the daytime hours. While there, we experienced an altercation at the pool where 1 patron began yelling at another and eventually physically assaulted the man. Staff was slow to call security and the man who punched the 2nd man was later seen at one of the restaurants. This was unsettling to us that he was not thrown out of the resort and arrested. Our trip was a group trip of 30+ people whose main objective was scuba diving. Ocean Encounters is located at the resort and is a very professionally run operation. Staff was courteous and knowledgeable. Dive Masters were helpful both on the boat and in the water. There is a place for gear storage at the shop and shore diving 24/7 is available. (The reef at the resort is a great dive!) Skip the trip to Klein Curacao; the diving there is not a good as other places we were taken. The people who did the Dolphin Encounter dive loved it and some even did it a second time. Surface intervals were made interesting by giving us tours of the island or stopping at their "other shop" which had snacks, ice cream, and a larger shop than at SunScapes. (You are able to charge anything bought to your account at Ocean Encounters at SunScapes.) Overall, a great place for divers, couples, and families.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We just got back from our trip to Curacao, and stayed at Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino. The resort looks tired- Shingles missing from buildings, shower curtain and glass door combination. Needs a paint job. I realize this is all cosmetic, but when your paying this much for a stay, everything should be perfect. The staff also seems super hassled. None of them, with the exception of a couple of bellmen, seem to be happy about working there. They definitely need more staff working the breakfast shift. I had to wait a minimum of 10 minutes every morning for buffet items. They frequently ran out of plates, and it took at least 15 minutes to get a juice or water to drink, by which time I’d already finished my meal. Food was edible, but nothing spectacular. For dinner, you really need to arrive at 6:30pm when the restaurant opens for dinner. Then expect to wait an hour once you’ve been seated to actually get your food. If you miss the 6:30 window, expect to wait at least an hour to be seated, and then another hour for your food. They resort also said they had a private beach. While technically that is true, it really isn’t. Local children came every day, and took up an entire section of the swimming area, and made huge amounts of noise. I don’t necessarily have a problem with that, but don’t tout your private beach. We stayed in the Sun Club. I don’t know that it was worth the extra money - can’t decide. You do get a special check in area so you get to avoid the long line. There also are nice cabanas on the Sun Club beach, but there’s not enough of them. Get to the beach early if you want shade. Otherwise all the chairs under palapa, or the 3 cabanas are already take . By early, I mean 8:30-9am. The alcohol in the drinks seemed watered down too. It wasn’t until the last 2 days we were there that it actually felt like I was having an adult drink. Spa service was ok, nothing special. I did make some comments to the Sun Club concierge about the experience we were having, and they didn’t seem too concerned - just provided excuses. All in all, there are better places to stay for less money, and probably better service.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MiaThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly T, Guest Relations Manager at Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Mia Thai,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, We are sorry to hear about the experience. We are working on improving our facilities and our resort. We appreciate you taking your valuable time to share with us your thoughts and we are sorry that the club was making excuses for what occurred. I will share this review with the concerning departments so that they are able to take actions.

Kind Regards,

Chantilly Timber
econcierge.sucur@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

I have been here before. They have 5 restaurants each with a different theme ( Italian, Seafood, Japanese, Steaks and Buffet) . The rooms are comfortable with different designs . they have about 5 or 6 different buildings. The scuba shop is on location with
full rental equipment. Several boats leave out each day with 2 tank boat dives. Also they have unlimited shore diving.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly T, Guest Relations Manager at Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Chunck B,

Thank you for choosing Sunscape resorts spa & casino , and for your review. We are delighted to hear you had a most memorable vacation, and were highly satisfied with our dining options and friendly staff. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Chantilly Timber
econcierge.sucur@susncaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

We went to the Sunscape in Curacao from June 10 - June 16th.
The resort is great! The bartenders are the best! Shout out to Natalie, Kenneth and Norma.. gotta get my vitamin B :)
One bad thing was my wife got sick for the last few days and had to miss a trip to Klein Curacao.
THere is lots of fish to see when snorkeling the breakwater on the beach side too!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Grzybinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly T, Guest Relations Manager at Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Grzybinski,

Thank you for choosing Sunscape Curacao Resorts, Spa & Casino. We are extremely happy that you had an amazing time and that you enjoyed . Thank you for your review and we are happy that Natalie, Kenneth and Norma we so welcoming. We will be more than happy to welcome you back to your second home.

Warm Regards,

Chantilly Timber
econconcierge.sucur@susncaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Snorkel Review: We selected Curaçao for our two week snorkel vacation based on the rave reviews from fellow snorkelers and the island did not disappoint! The abundance and variety of fish and coral really was amazing! If you go to Curaçao to snorkel, do rent a car so that you will be able to experience as many of the snorkel spots as possible (we rented a car right at the resort). We snorkeled daily and drove from the north tip down to the south along the west coast and snorkeled at Director’s Bay, Tugboat, Jan Thiel Beach, Playa Daai Booi, Playa Santa Cruz and Playa Kenepachiki. There were so many other great spots to snorkel but we just didn’t have time to get to them all so we’ll have to put them on the list for our next visit.

We also took a boat trip (Mermaid Boat Trips) to the little island of Klein Curaçao. It’s an all day trip and the Mermaid has great facilities on the island. The trip includes a light breakfast, a wonderful lunch and hours to explore and snorkel or you can just relax and stroll on the beautiful sandy beach. The boat trip on the Mermaid is about two hours each way.

Regarding the beaches on Curaçao: Some of the beaches we visited were quite popular while others were more remote and intimate. Most beaches are free but some do require a small fee for entry or chair rental.

Many of the snorkel spots we visited had beautiful sandy beaches but you’ll need to be mindful if you have tender feet because as you get near the water’s edge there is usually an area of rocks or coral rubble. We found it best walk in with our water shoes on and then switch to our fins after swimming out a short distance (your feet will thank you).

We should note that there are essentially no beaches and no snorkel spots on the opposite side (windward side) of the island.

Resort Review: First I would like to say that all of the staff that we personally had contact with were kind and helpful and courteous. Sheila in particular was simply outstanding and an absolute delight!

We used an exchange for our 2-week stay at the Sunscape Curacao Resort & Casino and were required to pay the mandatory all-inclusive fee. We were initially assigned to a room with two double beds. Our room was in one of the older buildings and was in dire need of improvement, updating and renovations. We could have dealt with the inconveniences of an older room but our room had two double beds instead of one king or one queen bed. For us, the bed was the deal breaker so we requested to be moved to a room with either one king bed or one queen bed.
We were moved to another building (The Tower) on our second day and were absolutely delighted with the new room assignment. Our room in the Tower was much larger than our previous room, was quite a bit newer and was very nicely appointed. The king size bed was very comfortable, the balcony was a very nice size and easily accommodated a table, two chairs and a drying rack for all of our snorkel equipment. We were really quite happy with our accommodations for the remainder of our two week stay. On a very small note, the rooms are not equipped with a hairdryer (contrary to what was noted on the resort info. page) but if you request a hairdryer from housekeeping they will happily find one and deliver it to your room.

Our biggest criticism of the resort revolves around the restaurants and the food and is directed not to the resort staff but to the Management.

Regrettably all of the restaurants, bars and cafes are terribly understaffed. More wait staff, bartenders and cooks need to be hired. Additionally, “bussers” should be hired to exclusively clear, clean and set up tables. We observed obvious frustration for both guests and staff in the restaurants as long lines of people tolerated lengthy wait times to be seated and served. Furthermore, it would be a better experience for all parties involved if management would provide training for young or inexperienced wait staff & servers.

Sadly, the food was unremarkable, menu items were often “sold out” and some menu items were just plain awful and poorly prepared; all of which is such a shame considering how richly diverse the culinary culture is in Curaçao. The resort is within walking distance to some very nice restaurants (Mambo Beach) but it’s not likely guests will go outside of the resort to dine (we didn’t) since technically we had already pre-paid for two weeks of food and drinks at the resort and quite honestly, going out to eat at other restaurants defeats the purpose of staying at an all-inclusive resort. Considering the hefty price we paid for the mandatory all inclusive, we were expecting higher quality and better selections prepared by skilled chefs. The food was such a disappointment.

We do want to point out that the wait staff and cooks in all of the restaurants were doing their level best to keep up with the seemingly endless stream of hungry and thirsty guests but all too often it proved nearly impossible to keep up with everything and it was obvious that many guests did not have a pleasant experience, weather it was during breakfast, lunch, dinner or just a quick snack at one of the cafés.

We believe that the resort has recently changed hands or is in the process of changing hands so it is our hope that the new management has identified critical issues and has begun to take the necessary steps to resolve each of them. The Sunscape Curacao Resort & Casino certainly has the potential to be a wonderful little resort.

Room Tip: Excellent rating for our room in The Tower but Poor rating for our room in the older building.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lexi693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly T, Guest Relations Manager at Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Lexi,

Thank you for sharing you review with us and thank you for talking your time to write us a such a detailed information about your recent stay at the hotel and regarding the food.We are truly sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. We understand that there is always room for improvement and your feedback is of our utmost importance and rest assure that we are working on improving our facilities and service for the enjoyment of our guests. We are a service-orientated company and we are really sorry that you have been treated any other way. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future with an improved service that will delight you.

Warm Regards,

Chantilly Timber
econcierge.sucur@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews