We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never lunch again”

Kokomo beach Curacao
Ranked #10 of 283 Restaurants in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Kokomo beach is located at Vaersenbaai.. A beautifull natural bay on the road to Bullenbaai. Kokomo has a surfers look with a classy touch. Kokomo opened in june 2011 and soon became famous for their big beach events. Kokomo is the ideal beach to enjoy a quiet day with the whole family, have a great lunch, try one of our delicious cocktails or just fall in love with the cristal clear water!! We have lounges to relax, read a book, or just hang out with an icecold beer!! Kokomo has no entrance-fee and we probably have the best beachchairs on the island.On sunday we have our famous happy hour with every week the best live music combined with the golden oldies of dj Jazzhole. Happy hour from 17:00-18:00. Kokomo has a 24/7 secured parking and is very child friendly. UPDATE: Kokomo is now also open for dinner from tuesday till saturday (18:00-22:00)
Julianadorp, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never lunch again”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The beach is great en the food is good but at lunch time we had to wait far to long! This happened last week and today again. I will continu visiting the restaurant for dinner, but never for lunch again. Today I actually cancelled my order and had a sandwich at home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    190
    53
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A Small,Quiet Beach with Great Snorkeling!”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Kokomo beach is a very small beach-approximately 200 yards long. There was no fee to enter,however,chaise lounge chairs are available for rent at $4.50 US. Parking is free. There was adequate shade for many of the chairs from the trees on the beach.

The beach is very clean and well maintained-the sand is white with small particles of coral mixed in with it. The water entry is a bit rocky here and there-so be careful! There is a dock with steps down to the water if you prefer to enter the water that way.

There is a small dive shop on-site with rental gear available. We assume it is open on the weekends as we were there mid-week and it was closed.

Kokomo Beach has a very large covered patio with a bar and restaurant there. Expect to purchase your drinks and lunch here as there are signs at the entrance stating that no food,drink,or coolers are allowed there.

We snorkeled the left side of the bay(as you are facing the ocean) and followed the cliffs along the shore for quite a long way. We spotted many species of fish and the current was not strong.

Kokomo has a waitress that actually goes from chair to chair on the beach and you will able to place your food/drink orders with her. Although we didn't have lunch here,we did purchase mixed drinks at $10.00US with tip and sodas were $3.00US

If you are looking for a quiet,pretty little beach that has that private feel,then this is the place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faeyreprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy the ride”
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

I could say it in one sense but every time we have been there the service and hospitality of the Kokomo crew was outstanding. So to say it in one sense I would shorten the whole Kokomo beach, restaurant en kitchen crew. Magnificent food and price quality relationship. Sunday's happy hour (17:00 till 18:00) always fun with cool live music included. Keep on rocking This joint on this level the winner takes it all...

Helpful?
1 Thank Ella en Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place for a nice afternoon”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The protected beach is beautiful. There is a restaurant with good and friendly service so you don't get hungry. The drinks are a bit pricey, so I only ordered beer. The lounge chairs are comfy and all in all it is a great place to spend a pleasant afternoon here. Lots of people from Holland. Our taxi driver told us that the locals don't come anymore because you cannot bring your own food and drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank el_jocho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forde, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Another nearly closed bay on Curacao...”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The former free bay Vaessenbaai has been developt from a free, quiet and local snack bay to a makamba run entertainment with free entrance but you can not take your own drinking/food with you. So local kids and family,s you want see here any more, even the local dancingevenings are gone. The prices has changed to tourist level.
But you get something for it, a good menu (and typical dutch snacks), sunbeds, great sittingplaces and reasenable clean (tip: leave before 1800, Praga muskitos wil eat you unprotected body, or get dressed).
The best thing of Kokomo on Vaessenbaai is the entertainment every sunday, great happenings like Woodstock and coming Doomsday party are great,(tip for foreigners: you can not reserve a ticket online, its only through Ideal a dutch payment system, so buy at the beach or some shops).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kokomo beach Curacao also viewed

Sint Willibrordus, Curacao
 

Been to Kokomo beach Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing