We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Livingstone Jan Thiel Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avila Beach Hotel(Willemstad)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
150
181
62
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
181
62
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdutch speakingwalking distancefull kitchennice staynice poolgrocery storevillabedroomterrasislandacswimmingpoolcaribbean
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Rooms are clean and large.
Only airco in the sleeping room.
The service is pretty much ok, however, they managed to find the most unfriendly people of Curacao (not the locals) and put them behind the bar, you feel like trash if you are there.
So if you are searching for a place to stay, only sleep, this would be a good resort, otherwise stay away.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

In October we stayed for the 3rd time in Livingstone. Over the years the resort went down significantly in quality.

The appartment we stayed in (Antigua nr. 27) was in a bad shape.
Everything was dirty; under the beds, the kitchen doors, kitchenware, the bathroom.
The pillows of the patio furnture were extremely dirty with a lot of staines on it so you couldn't sit on it.
One bedroom didn't have a cupboard so nowhere to put your clothes.
The drying frame was broken and rusty. You couldn't use it for your white laundry.
Please see also an example picture of the state the kitchen linen was in... large holes in the kitchen towel.
The remote control did not function. 4 lights were broken.
There were bed lamps installed in one of the bedrooms however no electricity anywhere close, so useless.

The service of the appartment was spotty. Sometimes you don't get enough towels or they forget the refill the toiletpaper.

The pool towels are an issue already for years and still not solved. It took us 2 days to get towels (they just don't have enough to accomodate their guests). The management blames the laundry company however they use that argument now already for 4 years.
Once you have pool towels (despite the resort promise) don't expect clean ones available every day.

This resort and appartment needs a serious upgrade.

We willd definitely visit Curacao more often (this was our 8th time to Curacao).
However we will not come back to Livingstone.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

I stayed with my son in a beautiful Villa, We were a little scared because before we left we were reading a negative review concerning the security..When we arrived I asked the front desk about the security and she said:" smile you are on Video!!" Well done the property is fenced and the security is with night guard and Video cameras...Also they will have a brand new management in place what does have a 30 year experience in the hospitality management ..My Son and me loved the place a short walk to Zanzibar Beach with stunning restaurants and sun sets.. My son took a diving course and I was running early in the morning with the local long distance walking club..I even met my new girlfriend at Zanzibar beach and will Merry this coming Winter again in Curaçao..Guess were we will stay..LIVINGSTONE Apartments is a great location for young and old and is the most secure area from the island...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonyhighstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Rooms smelled of sewage. The resort was aware of problem with septic tank but they put off addressing the problem for three days and then treated it with chemicals that were almost as smelly, a vile chemical odor. We had to demand a move which they tried to push to the next day as their cleaning crew was leaving for the day. No offer to help with the move was extended so we packed a household of 4 and unpacked in the new villa. The villa we were moved to did not have air conditioning in the iving room which made it a blast furnace and unusable in the day time. Insect bug bites, while common in the tropics, were aggrevated by the fact that the doors had no screens; the choice was to melt in the heat or be bitten by bugs. We all looked like we had measles within a day. The bedroom AC could not be used to cool down the living room as it shut off when the bedroom door was opened.

We had to fix the electrical wire to get anything other than static on the TV.

While the resort is not responsible for the onsite car rental, we were given a van with low air in the tires. Even after we put more air in all the tires, it got a flat tire while dining indicating there was a leak prior to our getting the vehicle. (the resturant was 10 minutes away.) No road side service. We had to change the tire in a dark parking lot and then were told we would need to pay for the tire.

Internet access was paid for by the hour and it was slow as molasses so that it took 20 minutes to download the connection to my email.

On the plus side, the cleaning women could not have been nicer. Efficient and thorough. Pool/beach towel exchange worked well and access to both was excellent. However the attempt to charge $$ for chairs at the beach was a bit much since were were supposed to have special privilages via the resort. The on-site mini-mart provided expensive but available sodas, bread, cheese, batteries, postcards, etc. Food at the on-site cafe was good but a bit pricey for dinner; lunch was much like other resort costs.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

I. my husband, his older brother and wife shared a self-catering bungalow at the Livingstone Jan Thiel Resort in a beautifully landscaped and pristinely maintained compound on the southwest coast of the island. Focal point was a large outdoor swimming pool next to a covered bar and al fresco restaurant. There was also a small grocery store and laundromat on the property and the ocean was a two-minute walk from our door. Our tastefully furnished two-bedroom, two bathroom bungalow had a wrap around patio where we ate breakfast (the store had fresh croissants and breads) every morning. It was cleaned daily & the supply of towels for beach, pool & household was endless. On the beach itself was another bar and several restaurants serving excellent fare. (We lived on creamy iced coffees and pina coladas as well as freshly caught seafood.) There were specific activities, particularly on the weekends, at both resort and beachfront. But, since we were with extended family -- another brother proposed to his female companion at sunset at the beach on her birthday (which was the reason we had all come to Curacao) -- we created our own entertainment.
It is essential to have a car on the island. Jan Thiel is a 25-minute drive from downtown Willemstad; the nearest large supermarket (and a European bakery run by a Dutch baker) is 15 minutes away. There are buses but we rarely saw one. Willemstad is a pretty city with a historic core, a special "floating" market and a large harbor catering to Caribbean cruise ships. The rest of the island is a string of resort hotels and beautiful beaches. Make sure you bring a face mask and snorkel; the sea life is incredible! (Playa Porte Marie is recommended.) There are scuba courses and boat (catamaran and clipper) cruises. My husband, an experienced sailor, and I went out briefly in a rented Hobie Cat but the ocean was far too rough for such a small craft to sail safely. The Shete Boka National Park with its distinctive porous lava arches and caves carved out by years of being battered by the northern sea is also worth a visit (our timing was off to see the sea turtle nesting areas).
Curacao has long been connected to The Netherlands and the official language is Dutch. (There are Dutch newspapers and a daily newscast in Dutch). Papiamento, a mixture of Dutch, Portuguese, French and Spanish reflecting much of the island's history, is the other official language. A lot of locals also speak English and/ or Spanish. The currency is the Netherlands Antilles guilder (called Nafs). Both U.S. dollars and euros are welcome here; you can change money at the airport for a fair rate.
Curacao boasts sun 365 days a year and a constant temperature of 27 degrees Celsius, the ocean is a comfortable 25 degrees Celsius. The island enjoys natural "air conditioning" from sea breezes.
Ours was a wonderfully relaxed vacation. I would recommend Curacao for young families where the focus would be on beach activities and visits to nature preserves and historic forts, for couples whose children have grown or for anyone of any age who is really into outdoor sports like mountain biking, wind surfing, hiking, diving, deep sea fishing and the like. (There are also two golf courses where one may encounter a family of iguanas at a particular hole!) There are casinos, bars and discos but I think diehard party "animals" might be a bit frustrated with the laid back tropical pace.
Finally, while we were cautioned about rising crime (mostly theft), we never had any problems. People here are incredibly friendly, easy going, helpful and very cheerful.
We now have our eyes on St Maarten for our next Caribbean adventure, only because we feel we have pretty much "seen" Curacao (and life is short, yes!?!). Our overall experience of Curacao was extremely positive and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a holiday destination.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
2  Thank Pat_in_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews