We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice resort, great location”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I traded into the Royal through Interval. This resort is ideally located allowing access to explore this beautiful island. Front desk staff were great, pleasant and very helpful. Always available to help with dinner reservations and directions. We only had one unpleasant encounter with the Sunday manager.
Units were large, comfortable though a bit dated. I would agree with other reviews that there was a musty smell initially.We did notice they are beginning to update some of the units. Our unit faced the Dolphin Academy and quite enjoyed watching the show each morning. The balconies were huge and very comfortable. We did not use the beach or pool area, both of which are very small. We preferred to visit some of the other great beaches on the island. Overall, I would recommend this resort.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mountlyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    139
    30
    10
    12
See reviews for
160
215
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raymond, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Royal Sea Resort is very quiet and relaxing. The pool and beach area were not crowded and had plenty of areas for either sun or shade. I appreciated that they did not allow personal music in the public areas so we could enjoy the sounds of the ocean. Our 2 bedroom second floor villa had a large wonderful terrace - perfect for eating, reading, relaxing, or visiting. The room was very clean - although the studio side had a slight musty odor. It was a nice amenity to be able to visit the aquarium and enjoy their shows. We ate at Augustos and especially enjoyed the breakfasts (a great value). It was easy to walk along the beach to eat at several other places.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAZ621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

From the moment we arrived we were impressed with this facility. The front desk staff were all lovely, courteous, and professional, providing guidance and advice when ever we needed it. The rooms were very nice, the bed and pillow, usually a huge complaint where ever I go, were the best I have ever slept on. The cleaning staff had great attention to detail, with minor, but really nice touches like lining up shoes, or nicely stacking snorkeling gear. We stayed in room 202, with the kids in the double bed room, and us in the king. Plenty of room, everything worked fine, and free entrance to the sea aquarium itself was a huge bonus. The restaurant was good, not excellent, but nothing we ordered was bad. We do wish they had more snack type foods, chips and salsa, or something beyond just Calamari as an appetizer, However, many other restaurants are only a short walk away. And so, overall, for a place to stay with family or single, perfect!

Room Tip: The upper rooms and ones facing the ocean I would think are nicer, we had the second floor, and that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bgorsira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The resort, smaller than many, is attached to the Sea Aquarium, so you get free passes (good for your entire stay) to enter the Sea Aquarium (many hands-on offerings, and sea lion and dolphin shows). We stayed in a junior suite, which lacked a kitchen (just microwave, coffee brewer, and tiny fridge--along with a few dishes and silverware), had a moldy smell, and offered bedding that smelled quite bad. However, when we took the free shuttle to the supermarket, we returned with Febreeze and doused the offending items thoroughly. Later, the pillows and sheets were swapped out and the air-conditioning turned up--smells reduced greatly. Despite these things, the place turned out to be comfortable and inviting. From our terrace, we could watch the dolphins perform next door. Next time, we will go for the one-bedroom--with kitchen.
The resort's restaurant (Augusto's) serves tasty meals, snacks, and desserts (i recommend the cheese ravioli and cheesecake). Coffee is served freshly ground and brewed. Just past the restaurant is a small beach with plenty of lounge chairs and palms nearby. Located on a small inlet adjacent to the Sea Aquarium, the water is clear and resort snorkeling masks are free. We found it to be absolutely relaxing.
We also liked the free shuttle to and from Willemsted.
The office staff usually was helpful and some were quite personable. Before arrival, I emailed the desk asking them to arrange a taxi to meet us at the airport upon arrival--it did! There were minor snafus that were easily corrected. I must add, since it is a timeshare, we were invited for an update. However, the pressure to buy was less here than anyway else we have been and they kept their word and only used 35 minutes of our time.
All in all, it is not a five-star, but it certainly gave us the r and r we had sought.

Room Tip: Go for the one-bedroom and the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lame14020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at The Royal Sea Aquarium.

The place is fantastic. Beautiful view, great customer service, great room; but the room was dirty when we arrived, in addition the room smelled bad. Like mold ....
It is sad that The administration has not done something to fix this problem.
I really hope the clean and take care of the dirt and bad odor.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Henry,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience . Your comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations. The problem that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our housekeeping department and we are taking action in order to prevent any situation like this in the near future. Even though we are in a transition of upscaling the resort renovating every room, there is no excuse for all what you went through. We are sorry for the
inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused.

In the other hand we are very pleased you found the resort, the view, the room and the service to be such great things about The Royal Sea Aquarium. We would like to encourage you to give us another chance to serve you.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krimpen aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It is a wonderfull place next to the Dolphins and very quiet , you can stay Pool/sea site or only sea site
The house cleany was very good , oke the house is datet but they start a renovation next year
The personal are very nice and helpful
there is also a beach and you can take a little walk to Hemmingway for a nice breakfast,lunch or dinner if you walk 4 minutes furder then you can go to Mambo beach with a nice shoppingmall

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cornelia29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Cornelia,

Thank yo very much for taking the time to express your thoughts with us and the community. We feel very happy that you had a wonderful time at the Royal Sea Aquarium.

As you mentioned correctly, the units will be renovated the next year and it is an exciting ¨journey¨ that we are looking forward to. Over the next months we will be preparing to all our guests some pictures about the new units so we are inviting you to be in tune.

Again, thank you for all your kind comments.

Regards from the sunny Curaçao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Spent 2 weeks here in Nov 2013 at this marvelous location adjacent to the Sea Aquarium, offering a private beach and wonderful views of the sea from our bedroom window. The only downside was the onsite restaurant Augusto's (see separate TA review). Not to worry, there are at least 3 very good healthy eating establishments to be found within a short walking distance on turning left through the marina opposite the resort. If dining or partying late, beware the exit gate from the marina shuts at 11pm.

Across the bridge there is also a dive center where you can learn to dive or simply snorkel. For the more adventurous daily diving or fishing trips are available at the quayside. The Caribbean waters here are simply so full of colourful fish that many can be found in the bay on the resort. Just borrow a mask and flippers from reception or you can purchase in the shop at the dive center.

A must to visit is the Sea Aquarium, which has a vast selection of resident fish and mammals. If you have never feed a Sting Ray or swam with Dolphins this is your chance. Another feature of the Sea Aquarium is the Dolphin healing program for the handicapped. It was a very humbling experience for us to witness the painstaking love and care invested by parents to further their child’s physical rehabilitation and mental improvement.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Servicised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
2.3 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.3 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
351 reviews
3.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
3.2 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort

Property: The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort
Address: Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort is the perfect spot for a relaxing getaway or for a family vacation. The friendly staff will make you feel right at home and take care of your every need. Whether you decide to relax on the beach or by the pool, join in the fun activity program, try your hand at water sports, visit the world-famous Sea Aquarium right next door to the resort or explore the island, you are sure to enjoy yourselves.The resort has 30 fully furnished Caribbean Ocean View Two Bedroom Master Suites (sleeping six) which can be divided into 30 Ocean View One Bedroom Suites (sleeping four) and 30 Ocean View Junior Suites (sleeping two). We will do everything we can to help you and your family get the most out of your stay on Curacao and we hope that you find the resort information and sightseeing ideas featured here useful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sea Aquarium Hotel
Royal Sea Aquarium Curaçao
Sea Aquarium Resort Curacao
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing