We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had an amazing time wit d dolphins” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Had an amazing time wit d dolphins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

It was truly an experience to b able to swim wit d dolphins and pet d sea lions. I had a great time. The staff was really friendly and d fishes at d aquarium were beautiful. I got to see flamingos, sharks, stingray.. i can't explain d experience it's one u have to witness for urself

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz-Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    132
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
151
206
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkville, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We traded our Cancun timeshare to come to Curacao and were not disappointed. The resort is small (30) units, but is big on service, views, atmosphere, and quality. Our unit was beyond excellent. The staff were the friendliest I have seen and went out of their way to help us, from taxis to reservations to service. It is located next to the sea aquarium and we got free passes to enter as many times as we wanted. There were free shuttles into town and to the grocery store daily. Couldn't have picked a better place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prob2460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elburn, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We chose to rent our villa in the Royal Cancun this year and spent our week at this lovely resort in Curacao. If you are looking for a small, but spectacular Caribbean resort on an island with amazing restaurants and beautiful views, not to mention colorful snorkeling, this is the place for you. The entire staff at the Royal Sea Aquarium Resort is friendly and accommodating, from front desk to the staff at Augusto's, the restaurant, to the people they use for taxi service. Our villa was private, had a spectacular view of the ocean, and a beautiful veranda. We also had a brick grill/fireplace off the patio. The beds were comfy and the bathrooms had a shower and tub. There are shuttles into Willemstad every day and also to the grocery store. The proximity of the sea aquarium is an added bonus. We will definitely return to Curacao and stay here again.

Room Tip: The E building is on the side closest to the ocean. Our unit, 113, was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GYac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at the Royal Sea Aquarium Resort through a time share trade-in and had a wonderful one-week stay. We've spent time on other Caribbean islands but this was our first time in Curacao. It is the largest and most developed island we've ever traveled to and had a nice downtown area that was great for shopping, eating, and site-seeing.

Our room was on the first floor (Building B) overlooking the Sea Aquarium and we woke to see the sea lions and dolphins frolicking right outside our room every day. It was by far the most unique place we have ever stayed! Free week-long passes to the aquarium was a great perk. The room itself was appointed nicely (though not to the standard of Marriott's time shares) and daily cleaning service was a nice feature. The beach and pool were almost deserted - it was never an issue to get a cabana or a spot in the shade and we felt like we had the place to ourselves. Very peaceful and relaxing. There is no pool bar or restaurant but you can get a drink or lunch at Augusto's (on the beach) at any time during the day. We had a couple of nice lunches at Augusto's and, for dinner one night, we had Augusto prepare an off-the-menu family style dinner for the 4 of us. We had a nice seafood pasta, grilled fish, and beef in a peppercorn sauce with roasted potatoes and bok choy. Delicious! The resort's proximity to Mambo Beach and the new shops and restaurants over there was also very nice. With just a quick 5 minute walk we could be at a beach bar during the day or at one of the restaurants for dinner at night. Very convenient location. We took a few excursions: a sunset sail, a snorkeling half-day cruise. We also hired a cab driver for 4 hours to drive us to some of the more off-the-beaten-path beaches on the west side of the island which was a nice way to spend a day even without a car. Overall we had a wonderful trip and, if given the opportunity, I highly recommend a stay at the Royal Sea Aquarium Resort in Curacao.

One recommendation - take your own shampoo, conditioner...and soap! They only provide a liquid soap dispenser in the shower - bars of soap are not provided.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jabby24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We traded into this resort through II. Our unit, a 1br with full kitchen, doesn't have the best available view, but still had a great view of the main pool and the Caribbean beyond.

The living area furniture wasn't particularly new, but was comfortable and showed little wear. The bedroom was great. Both rooms had nice verandas ( the one from the living room had to be 20 feet wide). The kitchen was fully equipped.

The resort offers daily shuttle service to a grocery store and most days to downtown. We rented a car from Just Drive Curracao and highly recommend them. We also recommend driving to the west end for great snorkelling.

Most of the guests at the resort were owners who have been visiting on the same week for years. A large contingent welcomed us into their group and gave us good advice on the area and things to do. We also met another first time visiting couple who we quickly bonded with and we spent a considerable amount of the week together. The resort activities staff had daily games and a couple of simple happy hours by the pool. You also get unlimited access to the Sea Acquarium next door.

We mainly ate dinner offsite, but found the resort's restaurant decent (not really exceptional). The best meal we had was at The Wine Cellar.

This was a great week and We look forward to returning to The Aroyal Sea Acquarium.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BungalowBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We traded one of our Marriott condo weeks through Interval for a week at this resort. My husband and I have traveled all over the world for the past 20 years, fyi, and I used to be a travel agent.

Room-Our 1 bedroom unit was on the second floor with a huge balcony overlooking the Sea Aquarium and the ocean. We could see the dolphin show every day and had some lovely sunrises, too. Our unit was lovely, featuring a decent king bed, 2 large flat screen TVs, a full kitchen with modern appliances, very large living areas, and quiet. We could leave our sliding balcony doors open and only saw 2 mosquitoes the whole week. (note--on a layover on the way home we talked with a couple who had stayed at the Marriott hotel and they told us the mosquitoes there were terrible, so we felt lucky) No bugs or flies. However. I am sure it depends on the time of year and the weather (it was very breezy/windy every day for us) so bring bug spray. 2-3 tiny geckos came in, but we easily dispatched them. Housekeeping came almost every day (not Sunday) and changed out our towels, made our bed, cleaned the bathroom, neatened things up and much more. We did leave tips every day for them, but they were worth it. Air conditioning, which we did not need on some days, worked great, and there were ceiling fans as well. Honestly, I can't complain about anything regarding our unit.

Property--The pool area had plenty of lounges, shade if you wanted it, a large Jacuzzi (was hot sometimes, just warm other times) and the ocean was just over a wall. Nice pool, with a kiddie pool and another shallow pool, too. The beach area had lounges, although some were "hogged" by groups or families that covered them with possessions and then left for long periods of time so that sometimes you couldn't find an "open" one. Boo on them! This is NOT your private resort, people! 2 beach towels are given out, and you can exchange them at reception anytime, 24/7. I recommend you bring towel clips to keep them from flying off your lounges in the sometimes strong breezes. The beach area is small, and the sand is not very natural, with lots of little sharp rocks and coral, so bring water shoes or sandals or at least slip on slides. If you want to bring drinks down to the pool or beach the condo did not have any plastic drinkware, only glass, so bring along a couple of plastic drink containers. We did not, and had to resort to the tiny plastic cups from the bathroom that blew away easily. We could have bought some, but kept forgetting!

I used the laundry one day and everything worked fine. Nice attitudes from guests, sharing laundry soap, telling me when the dryer was available when they were done, etc. It costs about $3 per machine load.

Activities--The resort provided some nice complimentary perks such as a beach hot dog lunch, a rum punch party with music, game time, and more, if you wanted to participate. The complex is small, so you can get to know other guests if you want to. Across the "canal" is a big place called the Lion's Dive and Beach resort which had live music most nights that was so close that if you sat on "our" beach you could enjoy the various bands. We ate at the resort's restaurant (Augusto's) one night. It was just average.

Eating--We bought groceries and ate in a lot. Lots of choices in stores, so ask guests what they like and you will get a lot of different responses as to what is the "best". We liked to eat dinner out at the "Arches" in Punda, a short drive (we rented a car) and right on the ocean, with waves so close you could get a little wet, haha! Several restaurant choices there, with free parking. I looked over the railing by our table one night a watched a moray eel and some big crabs---fun!

Scuba diving--My husband and I like to scuba dive, so we booked some dives with the nearby Ocean Encounters dive shop. You can walk to it. They had nice boats and staff, but diving with them was not that great for me. Too many people on the dives, not much underwater critters to see in the area, lots of strong currents and big waves, so it was hard to get back on the bouncing boat. I am sure every month is different, so just sharing my experience. But I think the diving on the west end of the island is MUCH better. We went there a few years ago.

I can highly recommend the Curacao Royal Sea Aquarium as a place to relax, enjoy the warm Caribbean breezes, the competent staff, the location (if you aren't diving) and the amazing views from all the rooms, at least from what I could observe. The studios are small, with small balconies and minimal kitchens, so remember that this review is for a one bedroom unit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sonshine-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online reputation Manager at The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments and tips with the community. We feel very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay at the resort. I saw that you had a lot of activities during your vacation and your tips are very useful, specially the one about the towel clips, right now they are getting trendy so you can find creative and funny designs.

We were very pleased to serve you and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards from sunny Curacao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

This is 30 years old a run Down luxury resort that has not been maintained for several years.
We arrived at the hotel and the staff could not find our reservation. They gave us a room without a toilet dor. We tried 2 times to get help to run the aircon - but nobody came. The sliding dors to the terrasse could not slide. Cockroaches in the kitchen sink . The oven could not be operated normally. The kitchen hub hat 4 heating zones. Only 1 was working ,and the handle was broken .The satelite signal was poor so it was not possible to get a clear Picture on tv.
This is not worth 200 USD a night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TinkaDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Your remarks about the accommodations and service you got at The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort, is important for us. We desire that every guest who visits us should have a good experience in Curacao, so what you reported happens to be a matter of concern for us. First, please accept our apology. We are reviewing our process in order to avoid this embarrassing situation in the future. In regards to our accommodations we already took action renovation each one of our villas so we hope that you could give another chance to serve you.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments.

Kind regards from the Caribbean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.4 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
3.1 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
1.2 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 33 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort

Property: The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort
Address: Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort is the perfect spot for a relaxing getaway or for a family vacation. The friendly staff will make you feel right at home and take care of your every need. Whether you decide to relax on the beach or by the pool, join in the fun activity program, try your hand at water sports, visit the world-famous Sea Aquarium right next door to the resort or explore the island, you are sure to enjoy yourselves.The resort has 30 fully furnished Caribbean Ocean View Two Bedroom Master Suites (sleeping six) which can be divided into 30 Ocean View One Bedroom Suites (sleeping four) and 30 Ocean View Junior Suites (sleeping two). We will do everything we can to help you and your family get the most out of your stay on Curacao and we hope that you find the resort information and sightseeing ideas featured here useful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sea Aquarium Hotel
Royal Sea Aquarium Curaçao
Sea Aquarium Resort Curacao
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing