We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Praise for the Cook”
Review of De Ruyter Cafe

De Ruyter Cafe
Ranked #75 of 283 Restaurants in Willemstad
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
alkmaar
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Praise for the Cook”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had lunch there. And being familiar with Surinam Food, I was looking forward to this restaurant and was not disappointed. I was assured by the friendly waitress that the cook makes everything himself. Including the Roti's, which is a hell of a job. We had Rotis and Moksi Meti and everything tasted authentic. The food is made with an ingredient that foodies know as "Vitamin "L". Love!!!
Good price and a nice place. Go there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ooievaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    46
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I picked this place because it looked cute, inexpensive, and my dutch family loves indonesian food. The owner and his wife are so nice. My sister and I are vegan and so we simply ordered the roti dish without meat - delicious vegan meal! Everyone else was impressed with the nasi : ) We had a great night here!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good Surinam food for a fair price”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a nice Surinam dinner for decent price at De Ruyter Cafe in the center of Willemstad. As long as you don't expect a fancy uptown restaurant we recommend you try it. The menu shows Indonesian food as well. We shall certainly visit a second time before we leave Curacao.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohanReiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Suriname food with a smile”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We ate here twice in a week, it's a basic looking restaurant but the food is great! If you like Suriname or Indonesian food they know their stuff here. We've had the roti, nasi, sate and lobo lobo. All cooked and prepared by the friendly owner himself. His wife does the waiting with a smile and gives good advice on what to take.

You can't go wrong!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterdamVin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you feel adventurous - otherwise skip this one”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

If you are adventurous and have about 2 1/2 hours to spend at dinner;if atmosphere doesn't mean much to you....then this is the place for you. The food was fresh, and very interesting. Be sure to ask - if you have peanut allergies....DON'T GO HERE. It's hard find the place...and not cheap.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Ruyter Cafe also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to De Ruyter Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing