We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warung Jawa Restaurant Review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warung Jawa Smulboetiek

Warung Jawa Smulboetiek
Ranked #83 of 269 Restaurants in Willemstad
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lodi, WI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Warung Jawa Restaurant Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Trip advisor members recommended Warung Jawa Restaurant and we listened. Owner Raymond (cross between actors Ben Kingsley for appearance and Morgan Freeman for voice) was a very hospitable host. Nothing fancy about Warung Jawa (restaurant Jawa in Suramannese) but the food more than makes up. Outdoor eating under canopy with table service. We started with Loempia (deep-fried spring roll kind of appetizer) with a delicious side sauce that we mixed chopped peppers in. For the main course I had the Beef Black Bean Sjauw and my wife had the Gado-Gado. Good-sized portions (we took half back to enjoy later). and lots of custom spices. For dessert, Tiramisu. Delicious! Warung Jawa is located not far from the Curacao liquor Factory at 163 Salinja. Take the tour and then stop for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fresh...delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Best lompia. Delicious curry dishes. Outdoor patio or take away. Service is nice, go with time to spare because it may btake awhile to be served, worth the wait.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Among Curaçao's finest and where the locals eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Warung Jawa is one of the great weekend eateries and always on our short list when off-island friends are visiting. Our favorite dishes include the Heri Heri, White Chicken with Ginger and Scallions, the Beef with Black Bean Sauce, and the finest Gado Gado this side of Suriname. At least five languages are spoken so you'll find it easy to chat with the delightful staff and be sure to ask what special juices they have in store.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessTraveler5931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
“"We love that place!!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We love to eat at Warung Jawa every time we visit Curacao. The food is uniquely delicious and the service is laid back and friendly. Warung Jawa is as close to "home away from home" as one can get. Every dish - whether it be Chinese, Javanese, or Surinamese, has a distinct flavor accentuated by a rich combination of spices that never disappoint the palate.Too bad we have to travel to Suriname or Curacao to enjoy such authentic Surinamese culinary experience. Don't expect a fancy place; dress down, get hungry, and enjoy amazing food. It's so worth it!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oswaldo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Must taste!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Very good restaurant. Value for your money. The food is unique. I highly recommend it. Im surely going back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warung Jawa Smulboetiek also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Warung Jawa Smulboetiek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing