We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Marco Hotel and Casino
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Lusby, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The hotel has a wonderful homemade continental breakfast. It is in the heart of the city and is in a good central location with restaurants in close proximity to the hotel. It is good for a short stay.

Room Tip: Do not go for the cheapest room it is worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfconley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    59
    64
    24
    25
See reviews for
42
79
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We booked this hotel for one night. We rented a villa for family and friends to celebrate our anniversary but arrived in Curacao a day early. We wanted a hotel in town, not to far from the airport, and clean.

The location from the airport was further than we anticipated (across the bridge), but that is no fault of the hotel. The location to town is perfect! We were able to walk to the Iguana Cafe, shops, and other restaurants. The cleanliness of the hotel was not as much a problem as the run down nature of hotel. The bathroom was in shabby condition and the room had a very old feel to it.

The free breakfast buffet that came with our booking through www.expedia.com had fried eggs, biscuits, toast, juice, and coffee. While we did not eat, we can appreciate the offering of a continental breakfast.

The service was mediocre. The front desk staff never smiled. They were not rude, but they certainly were not friendly.

The wireless internet in the rooms was very slow; the lobby was a better location for fast access.

The hotel felt like a hostel or extended stay. We later learned that residence of Curacao had to pay an additional fee - a clue that this hotel is probably used more by locals (for purposes unknown) than the average traveler.

We are very easy to please and yet, we felt uncomfortable, because the first impression you get is a hotel in need of major refurbishing.

I would not stay here again. Great location but not very nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLesanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The location is fantastic, breakfast had tons of types of breads, eggs, a different kind of meat each day, and juices/coffee. The front desk barely spoke English and some sketchy people hung out around the hotel. The restaurants nearby are great--Wilhelmina and the one next to it. It was a good introduction to the city and island, but after two days I was ready for the beaches/swimming pool resorts. I would stay here again but only for 1-2 consecutive nights. Tv is small and has less than 10 channels, and I think only 2-3 in English. There was a frigde in our room. It wasn't bad by European standards but for Americans, it would be considered small/cramped.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebone28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonaire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We only stayed 1 night in this hotel (we live on Bonaire). We booked this hotel because of the great price 70$ +breakfast! Well if you call old bread with some cheese breakfast! The room was very dirty and everything was broken. You get what you pay. We will never stay in this hotel again and rather pay a bit more. That said: it is cheap and the location is in the centre of Punda.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2010

I found this hotel on trip advisor, and I must stay the room was clean, and I felt quite safe here. The staff was very pleasant. They offer breakfast in the morning, not much to choose from but enough to get you started.
Great for travellers on a budget and in the heart of everything.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinkleBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2010

i went back to curacao after so many years. i stayed at the san marco Hotel.
was amazing how friendly and respecfull the people are. I took my mother who is sick
and they made her feel very special. They provided all what we needed it to make her
feel comfortable. Highly recomended it. Great location, near everything.
Your feel free to leave your belongings, it is very safe. Breakfast is all inclusive it.
enjoy your trip. the rooms are clean and confortable.
adriana

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrysolorz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2006

Apart from the fact that they only have about 5 channels on the tele, i think the hotel is haunted. y? At nights you could hear as though workmen were working, at 3am, there was a lot of banging, windows shaking, pipes were turning on by themselves and it gets extremely cold at nights. oh yeah, you dont even get a pitcher or bottle of water in the fridge. bottom line it nuh nice.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Slymazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.3 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Plaza Hotel Curacao
#28 of 32 in Willemstad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
0.4 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#19 of 32 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
E M City Hotel
E M City Hotel
#31 of 32 in Willemstad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marco Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marco Hotel and Casino

Property: San Marco Hotel and Casino
Address: Columbusstraat 7, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Marco Hotel and Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Marco Hotel has been recently renovated to satisfy our guests that come to experience the beautiful island of Curacao, especially the ones who come to shop or admire the stunning historical buildings located near our hotel in the middle of the city. Our hotel consists of 80 rooms all with private bath, central air-conditioning, cable T.V. with more than 40 channels and FREE wireless Internet in every area of the Hotel.Downtown casino located of the ground floor of the San Marco building has also been remodeled and has more than 200 machines, roulette, poker and black jack tables and with happy hours and prizes given each week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your San Marco Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel Willemstad
San Marco Hotel And Casino Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing