We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not pay even 50$ for this old and dirty hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Marco Hotel and Casino
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Please do not believe this photo on tripadvisor=this is why I have chosen this hotel.
First of all
I was so surprised that I was charged more than normal price because I have booked through Booking.com.
It as only 4.4$ but ( I wonder is this what they pay for booking.com aha aha and this hotel do not want to lose 2.2$ ) I was surprised.
I asked why I need to pay more than normal?
The answer was '' Because you used booking.com''

Internet was slow and not always going in my room...I asked why and the answer was
'' Problem!" no sorry nor no excuse... and they did not tell me when I can use it.and even in the robby for half day there was no internet.
Waitress and reception lady was one of the rudest workers I have ever seen in hotel business.

Very very old dirty building ...My room was rather clean but the fridge was not clean.
With this price ( says 85$ for single on sign board but I payed 174.4 for 2 nights thanks to Booking.com== actually I like booking.com and I always use it..I know this problem was not because of booking.com. The same problem happened in Punta cana (Dominican) too.

I would say this is Caribbean mentality problem.
They pay little money for Booking.com and they charge it on us guests without hiding the price cards. I have been using booking.com for about 50times all over the world and this has happened only in Caribbean countries and in Romania.
Absolutely no service and bad attitude . except for cleaning ladies = they were rather nice.

Room Tip: Never use booking company...but before that please do not choose this hotel. If you have to stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maguder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

I went to Willemstad for 10 days and i had a great time staying at San Marco. The staff is friendly and the location of the hotel is superb. The hotel is in budget. The room is good and i enjoyed my time there. If you want to visit Curacao and staying in the city, punda of course, please take the San Marco. Vanisha.

Room Tip: Take a room at the fifth floor. Room 503
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank haidy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This hotel is ideal for people doing business in the city. If you are going for a vacation or a special occasion forget it! Its a place to rest and thats all. The breakfast sucks. You only get cheese, ham and bread. When I requested eggs, I was told that I will have to pay extra for them. $1.50 each. But the location is in the heart of thd shopping area. I got a room with 2 single beds. The view from that room was a dirty alley. I went to the front desk and requested a king bed instead and was given a much better room on the 3rd floor with a little view. I will stay here again if I go to Curacao.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KimleeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed here with work with 3 other colleagues. It would appear the higher the floor the better the room as my colleagues room on the floor below was average to say the least and the other colleague on the floor below that was terrible. My room was acceptable and didn't have too many complaints but the other rooms were bad. Breakfast was terrible and after two days we skipped it completely. Location is good but the alleyway along the hotel is very unkept. Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

So we stayed at this hotel for the location. And is in the middle of the tourist town. We spent two nights. The rooms smelled and were dirty. The safe in two of the three rooms we booked were broken and were not fixed even after we said something. Did I say my room smelled...gross. Staff was pleasant.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Jecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This was the third and last time am staying in San Marco thinking it would improve but they just keep getting worst. Same cheap breakfast every morning, cheese, sausage, only 2 stale slice bread and dry leftover sweetbread made a week ago and when I ask for another slice of bread i was embarrassed by one of the cooks saying they cant give more,and imagine I payed for that .The room has a funny scent when u enter an even after the grumpy maids halfway clean. The ceiling has brown water marks all over, the shower has cracks, the bed sheets has stains. u could barely fit in the toilet. The two fat front desk assistants are very grumpy and unfriendly. I hope the manager or owner can read this and do some research. All the Trinidadians i met said they are never staying there again.

Room Tip: If you have to stay on business or vacation choose another hotel than San marco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rishi365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

You have fabulous food, particularly your breakfast food but what this hotel is serving is disappointing, the room is ok, the service ok the location pretty good except that at the time of my stay they are digging up all the paving around the hotel. There is a seedy casino on the ground floor, but the price is right if you want to explore Willemstad for a day and watch the cruise ship passengers float in their bowl, did I mention - one day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spindoctor_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.3 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
215 reviews
5.5 mi away
Curacao Airport Hotel
Curacao Airport Hotel
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#23 of 32 in Willemstad
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#17 of 32 in Willemstad
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
E M City Hotel
E M City Hotel
#31 of 32 in Willemstad
148 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bayside Boutique Hotel
Bayside Boutique Hotel
#20 of 32 in Willemstad
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marco Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marco Hotel and Casino

Address: Columbusstraat 7, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: £45 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Marco Hotel and Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Marco Hotel has been recently renovated to satisfy our guests that come to experience the beautiful island of Curacao, especially the ones who come to shop or admire the stunning historical buildings located near our hotel in the middle of the city. Our hotel consists of 80 rooms all with private bath, central air-conditioning, cable T.V. with more than 40 channels and FREE wireless Internet in every area of the Hotel.Downtown casino located of the ground floor of the San Marco building has also been remodeled and has more than 200 machines, roulette, poker and black jack tables and with happy hours and prizes given each week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your San Marco Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel Willemstad
San Marco Hotel And Casino Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing