We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was our worst experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Was our worst experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

we are local people here on curacao and we stay 1 night there , they don't work with reservation , they obligate me o give them my i.d for warranty ( i don't know for what is the first hotel that do that) and the front desk service was useless they dont have a smile and they dont help you for me they need to upgrade their old system that they r working with :(

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guillermo o, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
good afternoon Mr. Brandico

Thanks for your comment, and so we can continue improving our services. respond to your request our staff always request the id when a check in the copy appended to the file room.
thank you for choosing clarion hotel & suites curacao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    25
    16
    25
See reviews for
25
24
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

What one can imagine bad about hotel can be found in this hotel: dirty bed sheets, mold in the bathroom, leaking air conditioners with water dripping just on to the floor in the middle of the night. And the most disgusting was the smell. The smell mold was unbearable. Shower water is cold, internet is horrible. The only good was hotel restaurant’s food.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarionSurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

The hotel is fair. I stayed for one night before a reservation at another hotel started, and it worked fine for me, but I would not have been happy for the extended trip if I stayed there. It is a typical Clarion type budget hotel.

There is a nice courtyard and pool with bars and restaurants that are pretty nice, and an included breakfast that wasn't bad.

I will say though, the staff was quite nice. After there was an issue with my reservation, the staff went out of their way to make it work, and upgraded me to a suite for it.

The suite was quite large and nice overall. It would work out nice for a business trip or something of that matter as it is adjacent to the convention center.

There really is not a beach, something that confused me.. as the website mentioned one. True it is right across the street from the shore, but it is full of garbage and huge rocks with nowhere to sit or swim, so if you want a beach you either have to sneak into the Marriott's next door, or drive to one.

If you are on a budget and want to get to Curacao and don't care about your room much, give it a try, but if you want a relaxing trip, keep looking.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank castergalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Whilst the accommodation was reasonable it did not warrant the $260 a night price hike over the Holiday period. Albeit that the rooms had a dark dampness to them. The Service was the worst I have experienced! The toilet paper was running low for a few days, when it finally ran out I called the desk only to be told that room service is gone for the night and they will bring some in the morning. I went to the bar to get tissues. Next day when we came back from sightseeing at 2pm. No toilet paper. Called the frontdesk, later they just put one near the sink.
One morning we were refused a cup for the orange juice by the chef at 10:30 cause breakfast ended at 10. I went to the coffee station to get a cup and he ran out to remove the Orange juice tumbler. I went berserk.

This hotel is not owned by Clarion but operated under license. I will be writing to Clarion.

If you are going to Curacao over the Holidays book your hotel at least two months in advance or else all the good ones will be taken.

On the plus side, the unassuming public beach across the road afforded one of the best corals for snorkeling.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derbeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk,MA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

My family and I stayed here for one night after our flight got cancelled and this is the hotel American Airlines set us up with. There isn't much to the hotel, the lobby is just a check-in desk. Our room was on the first floor which was like a dungeon. The room was very new and clean, but the smell of must was unbearable and we had no view. Also the beds were as hard as a rock and damp because of the must and moisture of the room which lead to an unpleasant sleep, not to mention the sheet of the bed only went 3/4 the way down the bed, so your feet stick out. Also, the bathroom was nice, but poorly designed as when the water from the shower hits the back of the shower the bathroom floods, which caught us by surprise. We ate the the restaurant in the hotel that night which was surprisingly good, but it took us 45 minutes to get our bill, and at that point we decided to go up and get it ourself because no one would bring it to us. Overall, the Clarion Curacao is an O.K hotel for a one night stay, but not a good hotel for a week long vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redsox3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
157 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

I was unexpectedly stuck in Curacao overnight and this was the only hotel which had any vacancies. When I arrived they immediately notified me that I had left my wallet at the airport Hertz counter (in fact someone found it on a counter near the Hertz desk and turned it in to the lady there.........who had very graciously helped me find my hotel while renting me a car).

I then returned to the hotel and checked in. Check-in is like anywhere in the Netherland Antilles......... excruciatingly slow but the receptionists were quite friendly. The wireless internet was completely useless, however they had complimentary computers to use on the third floor which was great. They also will give you an ethernet cord but it did not work either. Bring your adapters as all the outlets are European and they only have a limited number of adapters to lend out.

I was quite exhausted and just wanted room service. So they sent me to the bar/ restaurant and I placed an order which the waitress then delivered to my room. It should also be noted that the restaurant was closing, yet they still took my order........... and the food was great.

I would not choose this hotel for a long stay, however I certainly would not bad mouth it either. There was a small pool which I only saw at night. The hotel is right across the street from the beach (which I only saw at night from my car). I know the Hilton right up the street offers scuba diving excursions and I am sure they will pick you up if you are too lazy to walk. I also noticed some signs for shuttle bus pick-ups to downtown.

I would recommend this hotel for a layover but I am not sure if I would recommend it for any length of time. That is just my opinion and may not be completely fair since I would usually look for a hotel with more amenities..........and this one really saved me in a crunch.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed at the Clarion hotel during our 7 night stay in Curacao. The beaches on the island are some of the best in the world. If you are staying at this hotel a rent a car is a must to get to the beaches. They try very hard to please at the hotel but they have a very small selection of dining choice. The free breakfast was very good. The bed are not queen size they are full size and hard as a rock. There is a great walking path next to the hotel that runs along the ocean.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
2.0 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#10 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.2 mi away
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Plaza Hotel Curacao
#29 of 33 in Willemstad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#23 of 33 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.3 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#24 of 33 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bayside Boutique Hotel
Bayside Boutique Hotel
#20 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao

Property: Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao
Address: World Trade Center Piscadera Bay z/n, Willemstad 6199, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLARION HOTEL & SUITES CURACAO is located at the world trade center curacao complex in the beach area, equiped with 17 meeting rooms, ballrooms, auditorium and exhibition hall, everything your need for vacation or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Suites Curacao
Willemstad Clarion
Clarion Hotel Curacao
Clarion Willemstad
Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing