We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wel worth it!!!”

Ocean Encounters Diving
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.98*
and up
Snorkel with Stingrays and Feed the Sharks at Curacao Sea Aquarium
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Your One Stop Shop to SCUBA dive and SNORKEL Curaçao. Boat dive trips, snorkel boat trips, East and West side diving, we have it all. Ocean Encounters Diving is Curaçao's Premier SSI & PADI Dive Center. ONE LIFE...DIVE IT! Let us take you on a wonderful ADVENTURE on one of our beautiful and well maintained CUSTOM DIVE BOATS. Snorkel, SCUBA dive, swim, sail, with Ocean Encounters. Ocean Encounters has all the quality equipment and supplies you need to help you get the most out of your CURACAO vacation. Visit our WELL-STOCKED Shops. Take a SSI/PADI SCUBA diving course at one of our Dive Schools. We are one of the few dive schools who teach you to use DIVE COMPUTERS during your SCUBA course. Our RENTAL EQUIPMENT is high quality, replaced every 18 months. Come and Dive with us at OCEAN ENCOUNTERS DIVING CURACAO!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wel worth it!!!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I took a snorkeling trip to the sunken tug boat. There is plenty of fish and small corals to see. You will go along with the divers, of course they will go deaper. But the tug boat is only about 3 meters down, so perfect for snorkeling. My wife is no a swimmer and they allowed her to use either a noodle or life vest. The equipment was all provided. If you are more confortable with your own I suggest you use them instead.

The staff and snorkel masters were very nice, felt secure and gave us plenty of time to explore the area. The boat leaves from near the Sea Aquarium and then stops at another two resorts before arriving at the tug boat.

Have fun!!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fabian2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    140
    42
    16
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“An awesome day trip”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

While staying at the Santa Barbara Resort in Curacao, I took a snorkeling excursion with Ocean Encounters, booked through the resort.
I must say that I had an amazing time. The cost was $83 USD, and worth every penny to me.
We left the resort at approximately 10 am, and we took a nice boat ride around in the cove, and then to 2 different snorkeling sites.
The trip was over at about 2:30 pm.
We had a BBQ lunch, and open bar on the boat.
The crew was very friendly and welcoming, and I highly recommend this excursion.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pitfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best to dive in Curaçao!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I gotta say I love the staff at OE. They have been as helpful as they could be. From the moment we booked our trip and scheduled our dives via email it was easy! Once there the check in was smooth and then the day of our dives getting equipment was easy and everyone there wants to make sure you have a great time. They have even won the PADI excellence in diving award, no small feet. The boats are top notch. The staff is great! The location couldn't be better! Looking to dive? These are the people to do it with!

Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, AB, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT DIVE OPERATOR!!!!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Recently got back from a trip to Sunscapes Curacao, and dove with Ocean Encounters for 5 days and a shore night dive... I honestly can say that the staff here are all about giving you a phenomenal experience... Yes, the boat can be a little full at times, but they honestly work to make it as easy as possible... Each dive came with a full briefing, never had any gear issues, and they worked to make your experience enjoyable and safe... I would certainly recommend them to anyone looking to dive the beautiful sites of Curacao!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temperance, Michigan
1 review
“Outstanding Dive Operation!!!!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This Dive shop is outstanding! Definitely better than a 5 Star rating in our book ...

My wife and I just returned from a week long dive trip on the island of Curaçao with a group of 22 divers from our local dive shop in Ohio. Our experience level of divers ranged from the first time in the ocean, to over 35 years of dive experience. We dove with Ocean Encounters Curaçao, at Lions Dive Resort for the week. 5 two tank boat dives and unlimited shore diving.

Ocean Encounters is a very well organized, safety oriented dive shop.
Their boats easily accommodated our group of 22, along with two dive masters. We didn't feel crowded at all. There was plenty of room to get up and move around while getting ready and in between dives.

Our dive masters for the week were Maus, Juan, and Ingrid. They were incredible. Very knowledgable, helpful, courteous and friendly. They were able to find so many small critters on the reef. If you dive with this shop request any of these DM's. You won't be disappointed. Kudos to each of you for taking care of all of us.

We were amazed at how smoothly everything went for the week. Especially having to deal with 22 divers at one time. The dives were well planned, organized, and ran like a swiss watch. The reefs we dove we're all better than expected, pristine and full of sea life. The reefs are such that you can dive them at any experience level. All 22 of us plus two DM's
Did our dives together as a group. Never an issue. Our dive masters did a great job keeping an eye on all of us. You never would have known there were 24 divers in the water together at one time.

All of our dives were at least 50 minutes long. The dive masters and boat captains helped us on and off the boat, in and out of the water,and provided us with plenty of water, tang and oranges between our dives. All of the sites we dove we're only about a 20 minute boat ride from the shop.

Their photographer from Turtle and Ray Productions captured some great pictures of our group at a reasonable price, and was also very friendly and accommodating. Great job Arne! You can check out his photos on Ocean Encounters Facebook page, or Turtle and Rays Facebook or website.

They provide you with lockers for the week, so you don't have to lug your gear back and forth, fresh water rinse tanks, showers and clean restrooms. They make arrangements for you if you need tanks after hours for night dives etc..

The staff in the store is exceptional, and there are plenty of items on hand in case you forget something. They also have high quality, well serviced rental gear should you need any.

Their dolphin dive that they offer was pretty awesome. We did this one with dive master Jerimiah. another top notch Ocean Enounter DM. This dive had an additional fee, but my wife and I highly recccomend doing it. You won't be disappointed. A 50 minute dive with about 40 minutes interacting with dolphins on your dive. You can find out more info on Ocean Encounters website.

We can't say enough about Ocean Encounters and their staff. They spoiled us for the entire week. When we are diving on the island of Curaçao, it's Ocean Encounters all the way.

Great job guys...
Bill and Sonya
Michigan, USA

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Encounters Diving also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
Sabana Westpunt, Curacao
 

Been to Ocean Encounters Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing