We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical local restaurant”
Review of Bigeye Scad

Bigeye Scad
Ranked #122 of 341 Restaurants in Willemstad
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

The place is busy so get there early. The decor is nothing to write home about as is the service. Some of our fish was overcooked. You get lots of food at a decent price. What bothered us is that everything is served in single use plastic and styrofoam and the utensils are plastic as well. Being situated at the waterfront I really don’t want to know how much of this ends up in the water. It comes down to “been there, done that” and there is no need to go back.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank duncanscampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2017

We went to their location near the Beach House (a resort) and workers were doing a remodeling job. They said it was closed. Another customer, a local, came to eat as we were leaving. He spoke the language, so we asked about any other information he had learned about the restaurant. We were offered a ride to the temporary location, possibly 1-2 miles northwest (up the coast) from its location. It is on Martin Luther King Blvd. at the SportparkBolas Criollas. (See photo) Look for the red, white, and blue posts supporting the wire fence. There is a red, white, and blue building close to the water. That is where they have tables set up and where you will be served. It is right next to a blue building with 60A marked on the wall around it. The meal was huge! We had fish (2 large pieces), salad that had avocados in it, fries, plantain, and fried polenta. White rice was an option instead of fries. This truly was a meal that could be shared! I ended up bringing half of mine home. Their Facebook page stated on February 5, 2017 that they will be open "this Friday, Saturday, and Sunday". I don't know if they are only open those days, but those might be the safest days to visit. They do not take charge cards. Our fish meals with lemonade was $15 US dollars. They hope to be back in the original location (by the Beach House) by May 2017.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank Stanley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Nice people, good location, but fish not particularly exciting. The conch was pretty tasty, the fried snapper a little overcooked, but the tuna fried was tough. And, despite the informal layout, the prices were somewhat high we thought. They don't, for example, offer tap water which, on Curacao, is famously potable. You have to buy small bottles of water.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank doctoryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

The best fish on the island ! Hands down. The presentation will scare you away. I ordered a slice fried fish it was so yummmmy ! Def would come back here.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank LaBelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

This was the only restaurant I had outside of my all inclusive resort and it was probably the best meal I had during my entire trip

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank kmtravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bigeye Scad also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Bigeye Scad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing