We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Carib village - the original inhabitants of the Caribbean”

The Carib Territory
Ranked #20 of 108 things to do in Dominica
Certificate of Excellence
Type:
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The descendants of the Caribs, the first inhabitants of Dominica, or Waitukubuli, as they called it, live in eight villages in this reservation.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Carib village - the original inhabitants of the Caribbean”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This heritage village is close to the airport, but the other side of the island to the cruise ship berth.
However, it is well worth a visit. Not only will you see the beautiful interior of Domincia, but also the way in which people live on this unspoilt island. From Roseau a stop at the Emerald Falls is beautiful, and breaks up the journey. The village shows how the Caribs lived and worked. A young Carib man showed us around, preceded by a talk and display of the history of the Carib people. Carib crafts, mainly baskets hand made in the traditional way, are available for sale by their makers. The cost is 10USD. A traditional dancing display is available at extra cost, but is more suited to large groups. To get there from Roseau I recommend Jenna Robinson as an excellent and very knowledgeable guide, plus a safe and careful driver. Contact by e-mail - jenna23dm@yahoo.com. Allow around 5 hours for the trip from Roseau. I would recommend leaving at 9 am to avoid the tour bus crowds.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    35
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Vanishing People - Highlighted”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our visit to the Carib Territory cultural site was interesting, educational, and showed off the rugged beauty of the east side of the island of DM.
Their welcome centre has a fantastic display on the destruction of the indigenous peoples after Columbus.
We were shown the whole site on a private tour.
Afterwards were bought a lot of hand-woven baskets from the weaving ladies. Local baskets are beautiful, tightly-woven, and very cheap.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlon, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

First of all, it is not a real village, it is a reconstitution of 3-4 houses showing the way the Carib people lived, so it is really small, the tour is very short, you do not see real locals and real traditions. Our driver said it is free, but once we were there they asked for 10 dollars per person, really not worth the price, but you can negotiate, we got it down to 5, but we were still disappointed by the tour. I personally would not recommended it, it is far, the roads are really bad, you are better off to the beach.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank CristinaH414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sk. Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A quick historical overview”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The "tour" starts with a few minutes explaining some of the posters in the main building. Historical and interesting. Then you go on a walk and see the various parts of the "village" and how day to day life goes on. About 1/2 hour altogether. The guide was a young woman who was proud of her heritage and knew how to explain it all very well. At the end you have an option to eat and to buy crafted items. We had a meal and a chat with the cook. Food was good and price was good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"A Great Place To Stay"”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Carib territory in my orientation seemed like it was in the middle of the island and well placed in terms of seeing all that Dominica has to offer. There is much to see in Carib Territory and much to learn as well!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carib Territory also viewed

Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
 
Dominica, Caribbean
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
 

Been to The Carib Territory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing